We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute, design hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basque Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Basque Boutique to your Saves list
Basque Boutique
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   C/ La Torre, 2 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain (Bilbo Zaharra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Moscow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very cute, design hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

located just is in the heart of old quarter, strongly recommended. There is no sigh of hotel, so it is really difficult to find it. Only absence of breakfast is a minus. this hotel is trully justified its ranking

Room Tip: any room has own character and sharm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

That which is noisy and sparse for one traveler is apparently charming and cool to another! We loved the location, the noisy neighborhood, and the hip, sleek appearance. The modern-ness of the inn includes not just the design but also the no-nonsense automated reservation and check-in. One needs to be pretty self-sufficient and yes, there was at least one occasion when I would have liked to have had a person available to ask a question. The woman who appeared the next morning was very helpful, very articulate in English, and thoughtful. The plumbing is a bit of a problem - not a big one, but not perfect, and we had to wait for the shower to drain before my husband took his shower. I always wear earplugs when I travel as noise is very often an issue in the interesting old neighborhoods. The old Basque neighborhoods are definitely loud every night of the week, with locals and visitors alike. We are in our 60's and not night-owls but do love being in a walkable, central location. Highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great Location!!! Nice, creativ unique rooms in the old city center of Bilbao. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly, helpfull and speaks english good. Restaurants, bars are just a few steps away and the other sights of the city also can be reached by a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently stayed ghere for three nights with my wife. Location within the old part of town was fantastic although I recommend a good map to show the taxi driver where it is (ours didnt know and at 6 am created a minor hassle). The lovely young lady on reception speak english very well and is very helpful. The whole place is well decked out our only concern was that our room was a bit too small for the two of us plus luggage

Room Tip: Request the larger rooms and be prepared with a good map to locate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just back from a really enjoyable trip to Bilbao during which I stayed in Basque Boutique. The location is wonderful in terms of being so central do all the old town (Casco Viejo) sights, restaurants, bars and transport links.

The rooms are bright and airy and the general decor of the Basque Boutique is really different in a quirky sort of way. The girl on reception was really friendly and helpful with any questions I had. Would definitely recommend it and would also stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A brilliantly unique hotel in the heart of Bilbao old town...had great fun trying to locate it, wandering up and down Calle la Torre in the middle of the night, however, that aside, the rooms are fabulous...all individually designed/styled. We had the Euskera room, dedicated to the Basque language and culture, perfect for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A boutique hotel in true sense of the word. Beautiful, individually decorated. rooms. Great quality bed linen. Perfect location. Very helpful staff. Would certainly recommend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basque Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basque Boutique

Address: C/ La Torre, 2 - 1, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Basque Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Basque Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basque Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.