We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Bilbao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Bilbao to your Saves list
Melia Bilbao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Bilbao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Came to Bilbao to watch athletic play sociadad and stayed at the melia.couldnt fault it and only about 10 mins walk to stadium.the old town is about 25 mins walk away along the river.the pubs and restaurants in the old town thriving at night time and the locals very friendly towards you .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    345
    122
    21
    11
See reviews for
174
502
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BIlbao
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed with my wheel chair bound mother for a week. The staff were brilliant. The rooms smart, clean and comfortable. The room we had was accessibility adapted, and was very well done.

My sleep walking mother was returned at 4am by a kind member of staff. It is a plush hotel, with two restaurants. We ate most of the menu in the loung before we moved on to the "Posh" restaurant which offered true 5 star service. Amazingly the 'posh' restaurant was competitively priced compared to the Lounge / Bar, and the dining experience was bang on.

That said the loung bar / restaurant has a more informal feel with jolly chatty staff and of course one can get the lap top out without feeling like a slob.

The house wifi was appreciated but a bit slow, the TV in the rooms did not allow you to change the language, which is a useful feature on channels which broadcast mainly US and UK TV. One should be able to chose the orginal sound track.

The minibar needed topping up more regularly that it actually was, and the automatic billing system did not work, and I was obliged to test my integrity and confess to what I had drunk when I was paying my bill... which was a hard and slightly embarassing task.

All in all a splendid experience, I have been back and will always be my stop off point when required in Bilbao. It is very business orientated, I have only visited on pleasure trips, so one can feel a bit out of place in jeans, Dr Martens and a hoody, but the staff don't discriminate, and certainly remember what we liked to drink.

Oh, they all speak English... tried Euskara didn't get much of a reaction, which makes me doubt a previous reviewer who claimed that his Basque other half had a heated conversation with the receptionist. My Basque other half was of the opinion that very few of the staf were fluent in Basque.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Plateruena,

We really appreciate these positive comments and we thank you for being your hotel choice during your stay in Bilbao.
Your opinions are very important for us and they will be considered to promote the continuous improvement of our services.

Our customers are the most important thing in Meliá Bilbao so we do best we can to satisfy them in any situation during their stay.
We would be delighted of receiving you again.

Kind regards,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife & I have just spent three days at the Melia in Bilbao.

The hotel is in a great position near the Guggenheim. The interior is stunning. The Reception staff are excellent. That is the good news.

The bad news is that the hotel is classed as 5 star but does not show any of the class or luxury of a five star rated establishment. We booked a premium room with high expectations. In reality, there was little that was luxury with everything quite basic. Our first night we had no bath and a shower that did not work properly. We complained twice and something was done but no-one came to check with us that we were now ok...not 5 star customer service.

Two other basic points. Firstly, the food in the hotel is expensive. Secondly, any room that faces the park has the problem of persistent dog parking throughout the day and evening !

Mixed feelings about this hotel....we should have been looked after better for the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Paulselfridge,

Mainly, I would really like to thank you for your time taking on making your review about our hotel. All the feedback from our customers it is very important for us because it help us in our daily improvement.

We regret for the inconveniences in your room and we do really apologize for not reaching your expectations. That is why we would be delighted of having a new opportunity of demonstrate our best service staying with us in a new occasion.

Best regards,

Ainhoa Cantos,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Massive beds, awesome rooms, Ok breakfast (could have smiles a bit more!) seemed more orientated for the business clientele and airline staff but very pleasant stay. Recommend for a nice trip away. Pinxos in town awesome. Please go for the calamares fritas in the old square. Yummy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Bellalugosi,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time taken on making these comments about your stay with us.

It is an pleasure for us to know that you have had a pleasant stay in Bilbao and we would be delighted of receiving you again and providing the services and attention you deserve.

At your disposal,

Ainhoa Cantos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in February. The weather was mixed and we were pleased to have a very comfortable room to return to in the rain. We had chosen a premium room as it had a balcony and we enjoyed the freedom to sit outside and watch the goings on in the park below. The public spaces in Bilbao are very well used and the park was well-lit and safe at night , very well -used by dog walkers so if you want a quiet room and like to have the window open you may be better on the other side of the hotel
The bed was huge, fantastic pillows and good quality bed linen. There was a Nespresso machine in the room but the coffee cups and pods were not replaced and refilled every day. Bathroom was fine and had reasonable qualitiy potions.
We had room service once and it was fast, tasty and as described. The buffet breakfast was excellent and ranged from smoked salmon to pastries, plenty of healthy options including ripe, flavoursome fruit.
We ate at Q4 (for pintxos and drinks )which was good and we had a superb dinner at Aizian restaurant also within the hotel (see separate review). The staff was helpful and professional and we would definitely return to stay at The Melia on our next trip to this captivating city

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acapulco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Bilbao in two separate dates and enjoyed the hotel. I would highly recommend it. It has a superb location in the new Bilbao and the old Bilbao is within walking distance. The Guggenheim is a 10 minute walk and the Museum of Fine Arts a mere 400m away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good hotel, close to the park and river. 5mins walk to Guggenheim. Hotel is very modern, the atrium reaches all the way to the roof and the lift is all glass. Staff at reception, in the restaurant at breakfast and bar staff very pleasant and helpful.
Room spacious and from 8th floor had view over river and towards the conference centre. Bed very comfortable, bathroom also very spacious with bath and separate walk in shower. Stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We also had a meal in the lounge bar which was very good.
Used the bus to and from the airport, very cheap, 1.35eur. journey around 15mins and under 5mins walk across the park from the stop at the end of Via Don Diego. The return bus stops almost opposite, but there is no actual bus stop nor sign!
There is a riverside entrance to the Guggenheim up a slight slope nearest to the hotel, its not signed. The main entrance on the opposite side of the Gallery is down a long flight of stairs.
The old town, with many bars and restaurants is about 20/25mins walk, but the tram runs regularly from right outside the hotel.
Across the river is a funicular, which takes you up the hill where there are great views over the City and the Airport! Several bars and restaurants up there. Also took a very pleasant boat trip down the river, where you can see some of the remaining 'run down' dock area
Had a very good meal at La Chuleta not far from the glass bridge on the river past the Guggenheim

Room Tip: Higher floors better views, ask for park or river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.