We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melina, Bilbao Spain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Bilbao to your Saves list
Melia Bilbao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Spore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Melina, Bilbao Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that is conveniently located near the river and a lovely 10 mins walk by the river to the Guggenheim museum. There are a couple of restaurants within 5 mins walk of the hotel an several convenience stores a little further away.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good English. The breakfast buffet has an excellent spread, in a comfortable environment comprising 3 large sections where you can look out onto the garden grounds.

The room is large with all the creature comforts you might expect, including a large LCD TV, writing desk for work, large closet and a comfortable bed. My only grouse is the poor wifi coverage. There is also a gym and smallish pool in the hotel. There is also an fairly large bar that serves a great selection of drinks.

The hotel is on the slightly more expensive side, but I reckon it is quite worth it.

Room Tip: The gym is on the 6th floor and apparently the floor below the gym may suffer from the noise of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    421
    146
    27
    13
See reviews for
210
592
35
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My partner and I reserved a room at Melia Bilbao. Upon check in we were told our reservation had been cancelled. Therefore we would have to pay a regular room rate as opposed to the special room rate we reserved. We disputed this and were not even provided with a record of the email confirming the cancellation. My partner is Basque and therfore speaks fluent Basque and all conversations were conducted in local language. We had just spent the weekend in Deba which is a small costal village nearby and were looking forward to our stay in Bilbao. The check in assistant was adamant we had cancelled the reservation inspite of our disagreement. She was unsympathetic that any mix up could have occurred and was infact quite cold and rude. We suspect the hotel had overbooked and cancelled our reservation as a result. We left the hotel completely appalled and booked into Hotel Miro and had a brilliant stay there. They even upgraded our room when we explained the ordeal we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

this is a nice and comfortable hotel. Service is good and rooms are nice. The q4 restaurant is somewhat disappointing (interior and quality of food) but the staff is friendly. Location is excellent close to the Gugenheim museum. Eveything is in walking distance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights at start of our trip and our final night before heading home. Hotel is in a nice location, we loved being along the river. A short walk to museums, adjacent to a nice park. Staff was very nice and accomodating. We had 3 in our room and the extra bed they brought in was the nicest "roll-away" i have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on. (It was on a dolly rather than being folded in half so the mattress was intact). Wireless internet in the room was spotty in one of our rooms. Workout facility and pool very nice. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We really liked the 6th floor, there was a sitting area next to the pool and we used it for our even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed one night at the hotel. Lovely -- at least from the inside -- with nice, large, clean rooms. Very modern decor, almost stark. Located along the water, close to the Guggenheim museum. Very quiet and nice view from the window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our "premium" room, number 808 (one notch up from the basic), included a balcony overlooking a park that was the evening favorite for dogs and their owners and faced the river and hills around Bilbao. If you walk along the river, pretty much any time of the day, you'll see an assortment of like-minded locals and tourists. The wide walks never seem crowded. You also get a bunch of mind-blowing views of the Guggenheim Museum. Bilbao really wants you to know they're more than the Guggenheim. Extend your stroll into the old part of town, or take the tram that stops near the museum, to find tapas and fun local shops. While snacking on tapas, we discovered the proper Basque way to order a small beer -- a "zurito" (sounds like "thirito.")

Our only bad thing: Hotel parking was 24 euros per night, but no worse than anywhere else in Bilbao. Unfortunately, we needed the car for other travel.

I am biased because I really love the Melia chain. This location does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Upgrade from basic and get a park view with balcony. Join the Melia club for good deals on room rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just got back from two nights stay in Melia, it was the most comfortable, stylish, tip top hotel I have ever had the,pleasure to stay in. High quality bed linen , towels, fantastically comfy beds, enormous bathroom, extensive breakfast menu, easy peaty to get to the old town and Guggenheim.
Just book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#1 of 41 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Abando
Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
#5 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Hesperia Bilbao
#7 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.