We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but only 4 out of 5 stars for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao to your Saves list
Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda de Mazarredo 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good but only 4 out of 5 stars for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went on a deal so the inside facing room was very nice with a huge bed, well actually 2 queen size beds pushed together(not very romantic as separate bedding) The shower would suddenly go very hot and then cold and then back to normal so we resorted to baths with a large array of lovely goodies including toothbrushes & razor! We had wonderful breakfasts overlooking the Guggnheim Museum but the evening meal in the same restaurant was over-pretentious and not to our taste. Our big disappointment was having a relaxing cup of tea or coffee during the day or the evening. You could have room service or in their formal cafe but not in the comfort of the bar or any other relaxing place. No lounge to relax in unless you had a cocktail style drink (they would not serve tea or coffee! No good for us Brits sorry.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the outside then pay extra it is worth it. There were some parties but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate the good score you gave us on Trip Advisor although we are also concerned about what you mentioned on the afternoon tea. We regret that you found our cafeteria too formal and preferred the design of our cocktail bar instead (where coffees are not served), as well as that the minimalist menu in our restaurant, headed by a chef who just won his 7th Michelin star last week, were not of your taste.

We only would like to clarify that the room you had was not a double but a twin, as we have both types. In case someone has a room he is not at ease with, we encourage our guests to ask our Front Desk department for a room change and they will kindly offer them a solution that fits their expectations.

Apart from this, from your high score we can deduce that you enjoyed your stay with us. For this reason, we would like to invite you to contact us directly in the future if you come back to Bilbao, so that we can ensure the maximum confort for you by taking your remarks into consideration.

Kindest regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    325
    94
    39
    15
See reviews for
121
545
43
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a one night stay here in the Guggenheim Studio Suite and was more than satisfied.

Room was on the 6th floor with lovely views of the museum and surrounding city from the balcony.

I loved the free standing bath tub and 2.4m wide bed. Room was very spacious. Free wi-fi was included which is always great.

Only thing is they don't supply any complimentary bottled water so we had to take it from the mini-bar. However, upon check out the lady at reception was kind enough not to charge us so I can't complain.

Staff was helpful in showing me how to get to the old town and the city center for shopping.

Also had lunch at the hotel restaurant which was reasonably priced and tasty.

Would love I stay longer next time and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know that our Guggenheim Studio did match with your expectations, and even more, that our staff gave you the first-class service that boosts our daily work.

We are also looking forward to a longer stay from your part so that you can fully enjoy our facilities and all the attractions the city can offer. It would be an honour for us to service you again.

Kindest regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Choose this hotel from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Not cheap but we had a room with views of the Guggenheim. The staff were very friendly and the room was large and comfortable. Good location for the modern side of town and a easy walk to the old city or just catch a tram. We didn't bother with breakfast upstairs at the cost seemed too high but had a had a quick breakfast in the cafe downstairs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lines, they are a fresh breeze in our daily work and it helps our staff to keep doing their work with a renovated power. Our aim is to make our customers feel home and comfortable and we understand that was your case.

Please, do not hesitate to visit us in the future as it is a pleasure for us to service people like you in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The terrace with the view of the Gugghenheim museum, where they serve an excellent breakfast (the best I ever had in Spain), is definitely worth 5stars. The internal design of the hotel is also very nice. The rooms without the museum view are a bit dark and not as good as one could expect in a 5 star hole, but they allow you to get a significant discount. Overall I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to see you consider our breakfast the best of your journey around Spain and this will make us keep focused on our first quality products and service.

For the next time, please feel free to contact us directly and we will help you to book a superior room with a view of the Guggenheim. In any case, we really appreciate your comments and the time you took to congratulate our team.

Yours sincerely,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were disappointed at this hotel, being a 5 star hotel, the rooms left much to be desired...

First of all, the AC was very loud, there is no central AC!! only individual units per room.

So every time the AC activated itself it woke us up!

Secondly, there were mosquitoes or fleas as we all ended bit up all night, leading to a terrible sleepless night.

Next morning when i mentioned this, the only response was "we'll look into it", showing no interest in trying to appease their customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We are really sorry to read that you had problems with the air conditioned and want to clarify that our Maintenance Team fixed it as soon as you notified our reception. However, we would have appreciated that you had told us before your departure in order to offer you a solution and compliment while you were staying with us.

On behalf of our Management, we want to apologize sincerely and give you the chance to come back to our hotel so that we can gusrantee this time the máximum confort that all of our guests should enjoy.

Yours faithfully,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Super location in front of Guggenheim, although this is not the most lively part of town for evenings and nights out.
No double glazing means you have a lot of traffic & street noise
I spent 3 nights in the hotel, 2 of which the top-floor terrace was closed for private events so best to check in advance in order not to be disappointed.
Beware with prepaid rates for a rather unpleasant surprise at checkout: the so called included breakfast was not included and costed 26.5 euro pp. It is absolutely great breakfast buffet for people who like to take extended breakfast. I am not the breakfast type so then it is a ripoff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback as your review will make us work even harder to keep our high standard.

We regret that the terrace was fully booked for two days when you were staying with us, it is actually very demanded in summer times. Hopefully it will be available on your next visit to Bilbao so you will be able to enjoy a dinner with our wonderful view.

As far as the breakfast is concerned, we do actually offer a full buffet at a rate of 26€ which is served in our top-floor-terrace, but also there is a second choice in the cafetería, located on the groud floor but also facing the Guggenheim, just in front of it. In this area, there is no fixed price so you pay exactly for what you eat. This is a good option for those who want a quick breakfast and they do not have it included on the rate they booked.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly if you come back to our city in the future, so that we can make you aware of your reservation conditions and ensure the best service for your group.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

LOCATION: Very good since it is across from the Guggenheim.

ROOM: Spacious, but did not offer the best quality since the hotel rooms seems a bit outdated.

CITY: Bilbao was a great experience. The Guggenheim Bilbao was an awesome museum, so a must see. Bilbao may be an under appreciated city in Spain. It may have a reputation as an industrial city, but this city is awesome. The old town and thriving night life are unique and has charm. The entire city is walkable. May the half-day trip to Portugalete to see the Vizcaya bridge.

NOTE: All our reviews are not evaluated on the exclusively mutual experience at the respective hotel. Our ratings and standards are benchmarked with other hotels that we have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We will take your comments on the room as a boost to improve our service even more and keep focused on the best customer service. In any case, our guests opinions are always welcome at the Front Desk and if they are not completely happy with the room, our colleagues will try their best to find the perfect one for them.

We are glad you enjoyed our outstanding location and we agree with you that the city must be better promoted in order to make everyone aware of the multiple attractions it has, apart from the Guggenheim.

If you came back to Bilbao in the future, we would like to offer you another stay with us that could make a better impression on you by guaranteeing the highest service from our part.

Best regards,

Cristina Repáraz
Departamento de Comunicación / Communications Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.