We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be the best view in Bilbao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao to your Saves list
Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda de Mazarredo 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must be the best view in Bilbao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A really excellent hotel. Extremely modern and stylish, although not too sure on the décor of the cocktail bar! It's a bit like something from Star Trek! However, that aside, the hotel is immaculate and the rooms spacious, and the beds really comfortable. The service is as good as you can get, without being stuffy. All the staff were friendly and very helpful.

The breakfast is served up on the roof, with the best view of the Guggenheim from the breakfast room or the terrace. It's quite amazing. Breakfast itself was probably the best I have ever eaten, with a huge choice of fare.

There was only one thing not up to standard, and that was the incredibly noisy air conditioning. The hotel was very warm and stuffy, so even in March we felt we needed it, but gave up due to the noise and opened a window. However, we were on the central atrium and it was quite noisy at night, so maybe book a room on the outer sides. Also, children would, I am sure, be fine at this hotel as there were quite a few at breakfast, and the hotel isn't so smart as to be precious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the central atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

For Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao it is a real pleasure to hear from you. We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home. We would like to thank you for your great review about your stay at our property; Guests like you, who send us many nice words after their holiday, motivate our staff every day and give us the energy to keep up our hard work. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience with the noise of the A/C. Rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention. we hope to greet you again in your next visit to Bilbao.

Best regards,

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest & Community Manager / Responsable de Comunicación
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    327
    94
    39
    15
See reviews for
122
545
43
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed two nights, We booked a standard room so knew we would not be getting a view of the Guggenheim, the hotel has a very impressive sculpture in the atrium with lots of natural light flooding from the glass roof. The room was spacious and the bathroom was fully kitted out with everything you could need to enjoy your stay. The staff were all amazingly helpful, friendly and really gave the hotel a heart. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh and the view of the Guggenheim from the rooftop restaurant just makes this hotel a must if your on a design break exploring all that Bilbao has to offer.

Room Tip: Pay more for a view of the guggenheim, or pay less and enjoy the view at breakfast from the rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments regarding your recent vacation at our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations during you stay and that you enjoyed the facilities. We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Estitxu Etxebarria Garcia
Guest & Community Manager / Responsable de Comunicación
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night only. We arrived very late and were starving after a long day of travelling but the staff found us a restaurant down the street that was still open.
We checked in to our rooms later and found both 307 and 507 to be perfectly comfortable, although neither room had windows with outside views, only towards some narrow shaft. I guess that is why they were relatively inexpensive, but we would have insisted on rooms with a view if we were to have stayed for longer.
The next day we had our very expensive breakfasts ( Eur 26 pp. ) on the 7th floor. The menu was extensive, the staff friendly and the views amazing, with the Guggenheim just across the street.
Check out went smoothly, they kept our luggage for a few hours and called a taxi when we needed one.
Nicely designed hotel with very friendly staff in a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standards of the hotel. We are delighted that our fliendly personnel have left you with a good impression. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service. We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to Bilbao.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this very pleasing and wonderfully located hotel for 3 nights in late January 2013. Our goal was to visit the Guggenheim Museum, which is just across the street, but it turns out that we enjoyed the city of Bilbao so much that we plan to return.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with a clean, well-lit bathroom. We liked the modern minimalist decor, especially the winding staircase and the slightly cheeky decor in the public areas. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The 7th floor breakfast room offered spectacular views of the Guggenheim, the La Salve Bridge and the green hillside on the opposite side of the river, as well as a vast selection of food. We ate a couple of times in the ground floor cafe and had an excellent dinner on the 7th floor, transformed at night into an elegant and pricey restaurant.
The airport bus, a real bargain at 1.35euros, dropped us off at the Plaza Moyua, a short walk to the hotel. In hindsight, we could have gotten off at the first stop after the bridge for an even shorter walk.
In spite of the rainy weather we walked to the Old Town in 20-30 minutes and took the handy streetcar a couple of times. The Museum of Fine Arts has a wonderful small collection and the Guggenheim demands return visits. We plan to come back to this hotel in order to further explore the restaurants and sights of this unexpectedly enjoyable small city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao! We would like to thank you for trusting in us and for choosing us to spend your holidays. We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback.
It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast in the rooftop of the Doma Terrace, our Café Metropol and our friendly staff.
We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao!
Warm regads!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, the room was on the inside with the window opening onto inside only,
which made the room very stuffy at night, the room itself was fine, the bathroom was in a very tired state with loose fittings (towel and toilet roll holder) also black mould around the bath. We don't expect that in a 5 star hotel. The lounge area is just four chairs in the middle where the stone thing is! I tried to sit in the bar area one morning to read (strangely called "Crash and Burn" or something like that) and was ordered out by the cleaner in no uncertain terms. The front of house staff were helpful and friendly.but we have stayed in much better 3 and 4 star hotels. There are plenty of good hotels in Bilbao.

Room Tip: try to avoid an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao in your travel plans during your stay in Bilbao.
We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations. The room provided by the hotel was of the category you had booked. Nevertheless not every room within the hotel is the same.. categories, views, rates etc. Our hotel offers the chance to upgrade (surcharge) to a different room upon arrival. We apologize the inconvenience caused by the loose fittings in the bathroom. We have 24 hour room assistance to assure our guest´s comfort during their stay. The rest area in the lobby is not our only relax space in the hotel. We have a business center and relax lounge in the first floor of the hotel. This lounge has views to the Guggenheim Museum and comfortable lounge chairs for you to enjoy and relax, read a book or magazine or access internet. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the service and friendliness of our staff.
I will not attempt to excuse the occurrences that happened during your stay, but I do sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to reaffirm your faith in the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice hotel in front of the Guggenheim Museum, very modern and trendy, and quite expensive. The decor is a bit over the top, specially the giant phalic in the atrium, as someone else metioned, the bedrooms and bathrooms are also very modern but not very practical, the bathroom has a glass wall in to the bedroom, fortunately you can close the blinds if you want some privacy, and if you can figure out how to close them. The restaurants are very expensive.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the museum are the best but very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao to spend your holidays in Bilbao.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the modern and trendy design of our hotel. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment with the Cypres in the atrium. This is a masterpiece designed by Javier Mariscal. As you know, our hotel is modern and unique, therefore, we appreciate modern art very much, but we also respect other´s thoughts and likes. I apologize that your stay was not as you expected. Once again thank you for your time and comments. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the hotel which is directly acrossthe Street from the Guggenheim. The rooms are sleek and modern. The public areas arre upscale, vibrant and interesting. the service was teriffic but the best were the restaurants. We had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the museum, the luncheonroom was very nice but the formal restaurant was teriffic. Great service, very elegant but surprisingly empty. Why because only Americans eat at 9. By the time we left at 11 the place was beginning to really heat up. Definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Museum.Isn't that why you are here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments regarding your recent vacation at our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations during you stay and that you enjoyed the Doma restaurant, the excellent service, the location and the hotel facilities.
We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.Best regads!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.