We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao to your Saves list
Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda de Mazarredo 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Went to the Gran Hotel early in December for a pre-xmas city break.

The hotel was central only being a short walk to most sightseeing hot spots. The tram is close by if walking is not your thing.

Hotel was to a high spec and very comfortable.

Booked as a package with Easyjet.

Located a short bus journey from the airport with a regular bus service.

Room Tip: Excellent quality hotel in a central location. Room was in the centre of the hotel and did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback! It is s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the "handy" location of our hotel and that we meet your expectations!
We hope to host you again soon in the near future! Regards from Bilbao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    327
    94
    39
    15
See reviews for
122
545
43
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were with friends for a long wekend and had our doubts about being so far away from the old town but it really wasn't a problem as the tram system is very close and efficient. Close by are all the shops on the Gran Via and little bars and restaurants although most of the good ones are in the Casco Viejo (see review for Deliciosa) We also ate at the Guggenheim Bistro booked in advance for a table with view, 25 set menu was very good including wine, fabulous veiws and then a stroll along the river to walk it off,it couldn't be closer to the hotel. Big rooms with baths and showers welcome after a day walking around staff very efficient and friendly particularly the bar staff although it is expensive to drink here it is a great place too meet up.
Breakfast was superb great choice of fruits and hot cooked breakfast as well as smoked salmon and asparagus, pity about the coffee but that's what you get at hotels.

Room Tip: Asked for a window in room and we were given one that had a small window but it did open although we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad to receive such remarkable comments about our service and facilities. We are very pleased to know that your stay with us was superb! We hope to host you again soon in the near future! Kindest regads!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Our 3rd time at this hotel, just a flying visit so we opted for a standard room. No complaints! Thought I'd miss the luxury of a Guggenheim view and fancy bathroom, but not really. Our room was spacious and had all usual items we're accustomed to. Staff are courteous and efficient and the bar serves one of the best mojitos we've had. Everything is within walking distance and perfect for pinxos-hopping. We'll be back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home.Thank you for making our Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao your second home! It is always a pleasure to welcome you on your visits to Bilbao. Your warm words definitely inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. Awaitng to your next visit in Bilbao!
Regards from the entire Domine staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having read other the other commentaries I must say that many objections have been addressed by the administrative. Let's start with the front desk. They do speak English as well as other languages. Cordial, polite and reserved. A few more genuine smiles would be optimum, but with that said they accommodate their guests. They will gladly hail a cab, lend you an umbrella, and recommend area restaurants taking into consideration your likes.

The restaurants are fantastic. A gourmet chef myself, the food was fresh and well presented. After arriving from the airport only 15 minutes from this location I was seated at 9:30pm and greeted with a pleasant disposition. I was not rushed and the waiter was attentive. The breakfast was included and the buffet had everything you could imagine. A omelette bar, eggs any which way you like them, crepes, American fare, lunch meats, cheese, fresh fruits, juices....like I said everything! The view is spectacular and there is plenty of outdoor seating. The staff kept up with cleaning the tables and refilling the beverages as we investigated a new fare to taste. Breakfast s served as early as 6 am for business travelers.

The rooms are modern, get a room on the outside. Mine was 615, equipped with a patio that was a perfect spot to read and sip a hot tea in the evening breeze. It didn't face the Guggenheim, but it had an extra perk. That was a bathtub! Yes... An old fashioned four footed tub, on a cherry slat floor, with a view of the terrace. It was like bathing in the outdoors. Private and luxurious. My only complaint here was that of all the toiletries the only thing missing was bubble bath. Otherwise you can leave your toothbrush behind because that's available everyday. Men's items are more prevalent, most likely due to business conventions. His and Her's robes, slippers are standard.

Room amenities included Cd's for every musical taste with a stereo system comparable to a Bose system. Room service available 24 hours. In-bar fridge is well stocked with champagne and special items. Turn down with chocolate bonbons and the latest magazine. Truly a five star experience.

Room Tip: Go for any outside room with a patio/balcony. 6th floor as a walk up to the rooftop restaurant. En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest
On behalf of the entire Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your warm words regarding your recent vacation at our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations during you stay and that you enjoyed the Doma restaurant , the excellent service, the hotel and room facilities. Regarding the bubble bath, we have 24 hour room assistance for any additional service you may require during your stay. We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location of the GHDB is hard to beat--directly across the street from the Guggenheim Bilbao and within a short walk along the River Nervion of the old town. It is also a short 15-minute taxi ride (Euro 25) from the airport. The hotel staff is VERY friendly, accommodating and helpful.

The rooms were clean, modern and well equipped, including large bathroom, CD player with nice CD collection, comfy bed and safe.

The lobby bar, "Splash and Crash", has a nice vibe for a hotel bar -- including a good DJ playing great music. The lobby cafe, "The Metropolitan", was reasonably priced and had some nice selections -- surprisingly good for a morning espresso and torta (especially the one with ham and cheese!) or the "broken eggs with jamon over potatoes--simple, but delicious. The 7th floor restaurant and roof bar have a fantastic view of the museum and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get a room facing the Guggenheim Bilbao, it's well worth it. The interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standards of the hotel. We are delighted that our personnel have left you with a good impression. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service. We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to Bilbao.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Obviously perfectly located for Guggenheim visits, this hotel is also on the tram line which will take you to the train and bus stations. We had an internal room, hence no natural light. It was still a lovely room though, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom had a heated towel rack, which I personally always appreciate. Our room rate included breakfast. There was plenty on offer, and staff were friendly and efficient. If our travels ever lead us back to Bilbao, we would happily stay at the GHDB again (the Bistro at the Guggenheim is highly recommended too).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from the Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao! We would like to thank you for trusting in us and for choosing us to spend your holidays. We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback.
It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the location, food and beverage service and the service of our staff. We hope to see you soon in your next visit to Bilbao.
Warm regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived in the early evening as a group of around 20 people. The check in was smooth and quick to my surprise. Often this is a problem when a big group arrives. The rooms were nice and big, the bed was comfortable with a lot of pillows. We had a private dinner the first evening in one of their rooms on the 1th floor. The food was tasty and the service was great. Breakfast on the top floor was also nice. Food was good, everything was clean, the service was great. The view of the top of the Guggenheim-museum is also amazing. We used some of their conference-rooms for meetings, they vere of good size and otherwise ok. We had lunch in the cafeteria one of the days we stayed there. Food and service was great. I really only have one negative thing to say about the hotell and the staff, and that is that many of them do not understand of speak a word of English. The few that do will be asked by the others to come and help, but it is a bit frustrating that a hotell of this size do not teach their employes to speak English. I would at least expect the ones in the bar or in the reception to be able to understand easy questions.
But still, all in all it was a great stay and I would reccomend the hotel to anyone going to Bilbao!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstitxuE, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations during you stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast at the Doma Terrace, the excellent service, the quick check-in, the cleanliness of the room. We have taken note of your comment in relation to the staff language-training. Your feedback is very welcome and valued. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in your next visit to Bilbao.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao

Address: Alameda de Mazarredo 61, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.