We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miro to your Saves list
Hotel Miro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
-10% + Museum tix + BKFST
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

stayed here for one night on arrival in the Basque country we found it quite easily by car from airport and loved our room with free chocolates etc on arrival. Room was bright and airy and quiet at night with bathrobes and slippers for the spa. There's a courtesy bar with beer wine and snacks and soft drinks so we had a quick drink there before heading out into Bilbao. We also booked the spa for 22 euros for 30 minutes it was a jacuzzi bath and steam so felt nice and clean after our flight. The car park is just opposite and onyl a few minutes walk to the Guggenheim. The old town is more of a walk but we njoyed wandering along the river and then stepping into the delights of the Old town. The staff at Hotel Miro are attentive and helpful without being in your face. Good Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    272
    56
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
374
29
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We hadn't intended to stay in Bilbao but Eyjafjallajokull volcano had other ideas and at the last minute we booked into Hotel Miro. It appealed because of it's proximity to the Guggenheim as well as it's facilities and we thought it was a reasonably priced.
The reception/lobby area is very comfortable and much to our surprise and delight the hotel has a courtesy bar area open in the afternoon and evening where guests can help themselves to tea, coffee, snacks, softdrinks, beer & wine. It was a great place to sit/meet and decide where to head out to all the while sipping on some lovely red wine.
The Guggenheim was a short walk across the road the efficient and frequent tram service runs from the Guggenheim into the old town. A single journey was €1.25 .
If it's a sunny day I would recommend walking into the old town, but cross over to the other side of the river for great views of the Guggenheim - the building is a work of art in itself.
The hotel had a small gym and did offer jacuzzi etc. but these were at a charge, the gym is free. The first floor had a laptop available for guests to use free of charge which was a great help to us after our change in travel plans.
Our rate did not include breakfast and we opted to eat outside of the hotel as we thought €17 was quite high compared to what is avaiable in the numerous restaurant/bars very close by.
It rained pretty much the whole time we were there but it didn't matter as the hotel had a good supply of umbrellas at reception.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed two nights at this stylish modern hotel. The staff was very helpful, spoke english well. They were able to make dinner reservations at Zortzakis which was another great experience. The price was reasonable, theroom was well appointed and there waqs a discount on parking in the spacious underground lot just across the street

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at the Miro for two nights. We arrived very early (8 a.m.) and they let us check in without any hassle. The hotel is in a great location...half a block to the Guggenheim, half a block to the other big museum in Bilbao (name escapes me) and blocks to many many delicious pinxtos (tapas) bars and restaurants. It is a bit of a hike to the old town (maybe 10-15 minutes) but it is a pleasant walk along the river. If you aren't up for the walk, there is also a tram that takes you right there.
The rooms were clean, minimalist and functional. The only odd thing was that there was no wall between the bathroom and the bedroom, just a curtain. This did not pose a huge problem, but if someone is trying to quietly get ready while the other person sleeps, I could see it being an issue.
The included breakfast was great (jamon, cheese, pastries, cereal, fruit and a couple of hot dishes). I am not sure how much they charge if you have to pay for it, but it was perfect for our needs.
We really appreciated both the free wifi and two free computers that guests could use. Of the four hotels we stayed at in Spain, this was the only one that offered free wifi.
If you are looking for 5-star luxury, this may not be the place for you. But, if you are looking for a modern, clean, comfortable place to stay, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Drove to Bilbao from San Sebastian for the obvious reason. Booked a standard room and we were amazed when we opened the curtains of our third floor room and there it was! You go to Bilbao to see the Guggenheim, and I don't think you can get any closer. Rooms were fine. Modern, clean, adequate AC, adequate service. This place seems to get described as "trendy" a lot, which is a word that puts me on high alert, but we did not detect a lot of attitude, and the room was comfortable for us 50-somethings. Price probably a bit high for what you get but the LOCATION. Other than the Guggenheim not much else in Bilbao, altho the stroll along the river to the old part of town is very pleasant. Breakfast at the hotel was pricey but absolutely great. More than we usually eat in the AM but it stayed with us as we drove to Toledo via Burgos the next day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We staied 1 day in this woonderful place in Bilbao. Very good hotel, in front of Guggenheim Museum, modern style, with few amenities. We reccomend this hotel to visit the museum.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Staff at the Miro, where attentive and cheerful. The room was clean and they were able to accommodate our four and ten year old in a double with a cot. Location was outstanding, quite and just two blocks from the Guggenheim. We got the family rate which offered the best value in town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao´s Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miró is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miró the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.