We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Miro to your Saves list
Hotel Miro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
-5% + Guggenheim + BKFST
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is in a great location minutes from the Guggenheim. The reception staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. Our room had a view of the Guggenheim and was well appointed. The breakfasts were very good and the complimentary bar area in the lobby was excellent with interesting coffee table books. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Kaype,

Thanks for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, our location and our services.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future, so you can continue discovering our surprising cuty.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    249
    55
    14
    4
See reviews for
79
345
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend. We went for a room with a view of the Guggenheim which was well worth the extra. The rooms are a little small but perfectly equipped and the beds are very comfortable. We loved the complimentary bar area and all the quirky artworks and books available. We found the reception staff extremely helpful. A fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear JCW351,

Thanks for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor.

We are very glad you enjoyed our location, services such as the courtesy bar, and our art collection.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep you updated on news and special offers.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Hotel Miro took us in gladly when the Melia Bilbao treated us so appallingly at check in by accusing us of cancelling our reservation for which they did not even provide evidence. Hotel Miro showed us some upgraded rooms and allowed us to make our choice with no hard sell. We opted for a lovely room facing the Gugenheim. The room was clean, modern and well equipped. We particularly loved the free bar in the lobby. The location was good and we walked everywhere from there. The staff were all friendly and polite. The hotel proved to be a real "Lifesaver" as we spent about an hour on the phone prior searching for suitable accomodation due to the terrible customer service we received from the Hotel Melia. Infact the boutique, homely vibe of the Hotel Miro was just lovely after the unwelcoming, unfeeling greeting we received from the Melia Bilbao. Thank you Hotel Miro for being real "lifesavers".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear hiyaraj,

Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your experience at Hotel Miró!!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the service. We just wish to please our clients and help them enjoy their time in our city...

Hope to welcome you back again, so you can continue discovering our surprising city.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This small high-rise hotel has a sense of fun about it. From the trendy decor to room numbers embedded in the floor to the friendly staff, the Miro says, Relax, enjoy, don't be so serious. Our room had sets of white canvas curtains which made various interior configurations possible. The Miro's central location, across from the Guggenheim and close to a large underground parking garage, couldn't be bettered (you'll be glad for the garage if you have a car, as it will spare your having to negotiate the automated parking permit vendors on the street).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Gerald K,

Thanks for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our relaxed, elegant atmosphere. We are happy to do things in a fun way, while always providing top notch service.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive info and special offers.

We look forward to welcome you back again, so you can continue discovering the city.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night and had booked one of the penthouse rooms. We arrived at the hotel and there was no one to great us. We parked in front of the hotel while we go in to see what to do. The receptionist was on the phone for about 10 mins. Finally we were attended and I asked for help with our luggage. They pointed to a luggage cart and we had to load it ourselves once we first brought it down some stairs. I was unimpressed. They did manage to bring it up the elevator for us but we had done all of the work. Parking is in a public lot which you supposedly get a special rate from the hotel. Overall, I found the service at the hotel very lacking - it is a basically a self- serve hotel. The facilities are nice - and newly renovated.the penthouse room was somewhat spacious but the bathroom was tiny. However, it was clean. For the price it was a good deal but I would tone down any expectation of a 4 star hotel. Our room rate we had received had noted a special welcome gift but we never received anything. Location was good, right across for the Guggenheim.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear MillerCorona,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is very valuable to us and most definitely helps us improve our service.

Let us apologize for the attention at your arrival. We are a small boutique hotel, and we certainly strive to provide the highest quality of service. I have forwarded your comments to our manager, so she can prevent this from happening again.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Contact me directly at press@mirohotelbilbao.com if you plan to visit the city again.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive info and offers about the hotel and the city.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would choose the Miro again. Main criticism was that the rooms have thin walls, so it can be noisy. The rooms are also a little tired, but all in good order. Good breakfast included in rate, free wifi and free drinks in bar fridge in lobby all add to an overall positive experience. Very convenient and reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Michelle,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor, it helps us improve our service.
I invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive info and offers about the hotel and the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future,
Best regards,
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel situated next to the Guggenheim museum. We stayed for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis, and paid 121 euros (inc. taxes) for a twin room per night.

Check-in was straightforward and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were decent-sized, immaculate and had a DVD-player, flat screen TV and iPod docking station.

Bathrooms were clean and modern, with luxury toiletries.

Breakfast was excellent: fresh orange juice, lovely coffee, fresh fruits, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, croissants... There was also a free bar open until 10pm where you could obtain coffee, soft drinks and beers.

There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel (including in rooms located on the top floor).

It is also near the first stop on the 3247 bus from the airport, which only costs 1.35 euro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Frogflo,

Thanks so much for your kind review regarding your stay with us and sharing it with others:).

It makes us very happy to hear to enjoyed your stay, our services, and amenities.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive offers and information about the hotel and the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Bilbao,

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao´s Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miró is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miró the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.