We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miro to your Saves list
Hotel Miro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
-5% off+Breakfast+Museum
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This small high-rise hotel has a sense of fun about it. From the trendy decor to room numbers embedded in the floor to the friendly staff, the Miro says, Relax, enjoy, don't be so serious. Our room had sets of white canvas curtains which made various interior configurations possible. The Miro's central location, across from the Guggenheim and close to a large underground parking garage, couldn't be bettered (you'll be glad for the garage if you have a car, as it will spare your having to negotiate the automated parking permit vendors on the street).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Gerald K,

Thanks for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our relaxed, elegant atmosphere. We are happy to do things in a fun way, while always providing top notch service.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive info and special offers.

We look forward to welcome you back again, so you can continue discovering the city.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    328
    67
    15
    6
See reviews for
97
454
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night and had booked one of the penthouse rooms. We arrived at the hotel and there was no one to great us. We parked in front of the hotel while we go in to see what to do. The receptionist was on the phone for about 10 mins. Finally we were attended and I asked for help with our luggage. They pointed to a luggage cart and we had to load it ourselves once we first brought it down some stairs. I was unimpressed. They did manage to bring it up the elevator for us but we had done all of the work. Parking is in a public lot which you supposedly get a special rate from the hotel. Overall, I found the service at the hotel very lacking - it is a basically a self- serve hotel. The facilities are nice - and newly renovated.the penthouse room was somewhat spacious but the bathroom was tiny. However, it was clean. For the price it was a good deal but I would tone down any expectation of a 4 star hotel. Our room rate we had received had noted a special welcome gift but we never received anything. Location was good, right across for the Guggenheim.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear MillerCorona,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is very valuable to us and most definitely helps us improve our service.

Let us apologize for the attention at your arrival. We are a small boutique hotel, and we certainly strive to provide the highest quality of service. I have forwarded your comments to our manager, so she can prevent this from happening again.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Contact me directly at press@mirohotelbilbao.com if you plan to visit the city again.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive info and offers about the hotel and the city.

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
276 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would choose the Miro again. Main criticism was that the rooms have thin walls, so it can be noisy. The rooms are also a little tired, but all in good order. Good breakfast included in rate, free wifi and free drinks in bar fridge in lobby all add to an overall positive experience. Very convenient and reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Michelle,
Thanks for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor, it helps us improve our service.
I invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive info and offers about the hotel and the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future,
Best regards,
Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel situated next to the Guggenheim museum. We stayed for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis, and paid 121 euros (inc. taxes) for a twin room per night.

Check-in was straightforward and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were decent-sized, immaculate and had a DVD-player, flat screen TV and iPod docking station.

Bathrooms were clean and modern, with luxury toiletries.

Breakfast was excellent: fresh orange juice, lovely coffee, fresh fruits, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, croissants... There was also a free bar open until 10pm where you could obtain coffee, soft drinks and beers.

There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel (including in rooms located on the top floor).

It is also near the first stop on the 3247 bus from the airport, which only costs 1.35 euro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Frogflo,

Thanks so much for your kind review regarding your stay with us and sharing it with others:).

It makes us very happy to hear to enjoyed your stay, our services, and amenities.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive offers and information about the hotel and the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Bilbao,

Sincerely,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A beautifully designed hotel, placed in the perfect location across the road from Guggenheim.
Also, only a short walk from the amazing Porrue restaurant, which is a must visit if you are in Bilbao and like your food.
I can only think of one small fault and that is out room was very hot, I had to open the window in the night but this meant my sleep was disturbed by street noises.
But other than that the hotel was faultless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear dansmudge,

Thanks so much for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor, it certainly helps us improve.

We are very glad you enjoyed our location, service, and our restaurant recommendations. Regarding the heat, since we are in a fall/winter we have the heaters on in the rooms to guarantee comfort when the guest arrives. After that, the guest can control it from the room, and turn it off if too hot.
However, we will check on it nonetheless.

We invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to receive specials and news about the hotel and the city.

We look forward to welcome you again so you can continue discovering our fantastic gastronomy:).

Sincerely,

Hotel Miro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Unfortunately, I hadn't been feeling very well before our trip to Bilbao and it just became worse after our arrival. However, the rooms are so spacious and comfy, that it wasn't that bad having to stay in for the first day. The bathroom is wonderful too and has enough room to put away all of a woman's necessities. Although I couldn't eat that much, breakfast looked very fresh and nice. They even had great Cava ! The breakfast space is a bit crowded though and if there are too many guests at once, it can become quite cramped.
Staff is great, they brought lots of hot milk up to my room :-)
The decor of the hotel is very stylish. But what else would you expect if the Guggenheim is just on the other side of the road?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear CruellaBarbie,

First of all, we all hope you are feeling better, it is a pity you did not feel good during your visit to Bilbao.

We are glad you enjoyed our service and location and surely hope to welcome you back so you can discover our city´s gastronomy feeling a 100%.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter so you can receive info and deals about the hotel.

Cordially,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days and then again one night after we toured around a bit. We had the top room facing the Guggenheim and it was just great!! The museum changes at different times of the day and it was wonderful to see that from our room. The location is great. Strange, but we loved their coffee machine that we felt made wonderful coffee as we sast in the lobby, conversing with others and having snacks. The staff was very helpful, maybe not as warm as could be but did a fine job.

Room Tip: Go for the top, so worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMiro, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Miro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear DeDeDo,

Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed our location, rooms and special services like our coffee machine...

Hope to welcome you back in the future so you can continue discovering our wonderful city.

Please follow us on Twitter or Facebook to receive info and deals:)

Best regards,

Hotel Miró
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Abando
Silken Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
#6 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Bilbao
#4 of 41 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Hesperia Bilbao
#7 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Carlton Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miro

Address: Alameda Mazarredo 77, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Business Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miro 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bilbao's Golden Mile between the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museum, Hotel Miro is the best way to discover Bilbao. An elegant and contemporary decoration as well as the cosmopolitan atmosphere perceived in its 50 rooms and a complete service offering (free WiFi, Courtesy Bar, 24 hr. Room Service, Wellbeing Area, Fitness Center, Meeting Rooms) make Hotel Miro the best option to dive into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Miro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miro Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.