We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casual Gurea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casual Gurea to your Saves list
Casual Gurea
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bidebarrieta 14 30 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain (Bilbo Zaharra)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 23 Bilbao B&B and Inns
oldham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our one night in Bilbao.

Friendly, helpful lad on reception. Great location for the old town.

Nice room. Beds, bathroom etc all comfortable and clean.

Will definitely stay again next time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I arrived for a week at the end of February. The hotel is a short walk from the Moyua Plaza bus stop (direct from the airport).
At reception was greeted by a friendly member of staff who gave me a map of the town and pointed out places of interest.

The room was clean with wooden flooring , TV, hair dryer and free to use safe. There is a portable radiator for the colder months but did I not need to use it. The WIFI in the room was excellent with no drop out and a fast speed.

The hotel also had a coffee room with a drink/food vending machine, kettle and microwave. There is a P.c with internet connection.

The location of the hotel could not be better, as soon as you step out of the hotel you are in the old town with all the shops, bars and restaurants. There are plenty of cafes and coffee shops for breakfast. The train, tram and bus stops are easily walked too.

The Guggenheim & fine art museums can be reached by tram or a very pleasant walk along the river. The main centre is not very big and can be walked in 45 minutes.

The only down side I would say about the hotel is the 3 flights of stairs to reception which could be a problem for less able persons. I was out most of the days so did not find it too much of a problem.
A hint before travelling, check the location on google maps as your can easy miss the door to the hotel.

I would like to say a special thank you to the young lady on reception whose friendly conversations made my stay here a nicer experience.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Gerente at Casual Gurea, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Thanks Nick F for your review. Seems you enjoyed your stay at Gurea and we are proud of it. We will continue this way and hope to see you back soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The staff were exceptionally helpful. A young man working at the desk helped us print our boarding passes for our flight the next day and a young woman explained a bit of Basque culture to us. The hotel promply answered a question I had by email. It's a clean room very close to cathedral and grocery store. Free wifi and nice bed with hot water, if not an endless supply. There was a radiator, but still a bit cold in February. The hotel is about 15 minutes by tram from the bus station, and you can walk to the airport bus stop in about ten minutes.
The hotel has a computer and microwave you can use. At € 40.50 for a double, this was an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando A, Gerente at Casual Gurea, responded to this review, February 10, 2015
Thanks PicnicAtTheCathedral for your review, we are happy you felt comfortable at our Gurea. We hope to see you back soon. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We spent a night at this hostel In Bilbao. The hostel is very central for the town centre, which had its drawbacks of being very noisy for most of the night, and not compatible for a light sleeper. Whilst the rooms were clean and adequate, the major problem was the access. The hostel is situated on the third floor with no lift. A problem when you have luggage to handle. Toiletries could have been more generous in the bathroom. The staff were very helpful and couldn't be faulted. The hostel is, I feel ideal as a stopover or for the younger more fitter.

Room Tip: Possibly the rooms on the back may have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion_Gurea, Owner at Casual Gurea, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank yuou very much for your review. Fortunately lift is Schedule in a few months. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Staff made us feel welcome, room was minimalistic but clean and comfortable. We chose to stay in the casco viejo so we expected the noise factor sleeping with our window open due to unseasonably warm temperatures in October! We were already inured to the all-night noise from late night diners/drinkers out on the streets, 4 a.m. street cleaning machines, etc., thanks to having just come from four nights in Valencia in a similar situation--basically the only quiet hours seem to be around 5 to 6 a.m.! We felt the hotel was a fine value and met our expectations well.

Room Tip: If you are looking for silent nights, you might check whether there are any interior rooms or else l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion_Gurea, Propietario at Casual Gurea, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario. Diariamente no hay ruido en las calles salvo el fin de semana que si hay un poco más pero no suele suponer problema. Por lo demás nos agrada hayan estado a gusto. Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

My stay at the Gurea Hostal was amazing, I couldn't have made a better choice. First of all, I loved the position. It's located in the last floor of an old building in the historical centre of Bilbao, just few steps from the Cathedral, with a view on a lovely narrow street full of restaurants and shops. The typical Spanish happy life goes on there, people have fun until late at night. Not the best if you're looking for some quiet, but just amazing in my opinion. My room had a good size, new simple furniture in light colours, a wooden balcony and a very good lighting, tv and safe box for free, which I surely appreciated. Big bathroom, everything was clean. Very good wifi connection. I had everything I needed! The man who welcomed me at the reception was super-nice and helpful, people like him makes you feel at home. And the price... really cheap, I would love to get such a great deal any time I book a room. The quality of a hotel with the price of a hostel. If I'd go back to Bilbao, that's my place for sure. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion_Gurea, Gerente at Casual Gurea, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review us. We apreciate your comment, it is really nice to see your clients feel like at home and we will follow in this way. thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We stayed at "hostelname" for 2 nights right before we started our camping trip in bilbao region. Because we couldnt speak the language, the staff called different campgrounds to make reservations and helped us finding out about the right public transport. We were even allowed to store our luggage in the hostel one week later before going to the airport. The hostel is located right in the historic city centre of Bilbao. Restaurants, bars, shops and museums are within walking distance. Our room was spacious, bright and equipped with a safe. Unfortunately breakfast wasn´t included, although it was adertised at "hostelworld.com" Nevertheless, we would definately come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion_Gurea, Gerente at Casual Gurea, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thanks Christine for your review. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casual Gurea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casual Gurea

Address: Bidebarrieta 14 30 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casual Gurea 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Town, next to the Cathedral, in the heart of the city and close to all major touristic attractions. Totally refurbished in 2014 Gurea offers new modern and themed rooms with private bathroom, free hi speed wifi (120mb), Flat TV, safe box, duvet covers and views. We also offer children playground room, lounge with vending services and microwave, free children seat and cycles rent, luggage storage and t free cibercorner. Next to Casual Gurea there are plenty of restaurants, tapas bar, shops and tram & underground stops. Located in the city centre in the Old Town next to Cathedral, 200m to Plaza Nueva and Arenal and 400m to Ribera Market. With bus, underground and tram stops next to us that will carry you to the Guggenheim and Fine Arts Museums in 10 minutes. How to arrive: • Car: Miribilla exit - roundabout turn left Atxuri direction - At Arenal Parking is besides San Nicolas church. • Underground: Casco Viejo stop - Plaza Unamuno exit • Bus: Casco Viejo-Arenal stops • Tram: Arriaga stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Casual Gurea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurea Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casual Gurea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.