We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not quiet at the moment !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sirimiri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sirimiri to your Saves list
Hotel Sirimiri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Encarnacion, 3, 48006 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“It's not quiet at the moment !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2005

This is, as other reviews have said, a clean, comfortable and well-located hotel. But if you are visiting there in the immediate future, think twice, as there is a large building being renovated nearby and our stay there in early September was characterised by huge amounts of noise from the building site until about 8 each evening. So if quiet is important to you, maybe look elsewhere. Other than that, it's a pretty good place.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
46
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

Booked a room in the Sirimiri for 2 nights after reading a favourable review in a travel guidebook. In the end I stayed a week, using the hotel as my base for enjoying the Old Town (which is 5 minutes walk away), the Guggenheim (about 20 mins walk) and the rest of the Basque region. Also very close to the Tram/Metro. Hotel staff were all great, very helpful and informative: on my first day they gave me a map and described the main areas of interest - and also a dodgy area across the river (its always best to know !). Staff all spoke English, which was a relief ! Hotel room great, very spacious, nice bathroom. They have parking at the back. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

for the price! this was a great hotel, the room was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. told me where NOT To go the first day, actually i think his words were "if you want to live , dont go here"! anyways the only complaint was if you are driving into bilbao, this is IMPOSSIBLE to find, the map is a little out of scale, and the road is a road but looks like an alley. (which actually most streets do in bilbao) and if you get off the main road like we did its impossible to know how to get back to it!! but all is good!!

the room did get very hot one night and there was no air control, but i opened up the french doors , there wasd constuction out my windows but it really didnt bother me, b/c i was gone most of the day

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2005

If you want to be close to the old town without all of the noise and distractions, Hotel Sirimiri is the place to be. The staff were extremely helpful (without being completely overbearing) and the hotel had everything we were after - comfortable beds, large room, good shower and toilet and, as was commented on by a previous reviewer, superb towels. A breakfast was available but we didn't use this at all. The tram stop for a great trip to various stops in Bilbao was just across the road, and a brilliant fresh food market was perhaps a minute's walk across and along the road. We stayed for three nights and had no complaints at all. And all at a very reasonable price, the huge bonus being that you're on the doorstep to the super old town area and an easy walk to almost anything in Bilbao (including the Guggenheim...perhaps 25 minutes leisurely stroll). I'd definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2005

We decided against the Hotel Ripa because of the TripAdvisor reviews and unimpresssive performance when tryinmg to book a room on the phone (my non-existent Spanish was better than their English).

We were very pleased with the Sirimiri. It was quiet, unlike hotels in the Casco Viejo, but it was only five minutes walk from the lively bars and restaurants in Casco Viejo. Our room was big and newly decorated in a rather delicious orange colour. The bathroom was large, light and fresh. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

At 70 euros a night we thought it very good value.

Breakfast wasn't much good, but it's much better to go to a bar, where the coffee is always delicious and the tostados are also good.

The best restaurant we ate at was the Arriaga, in the Casco Viejo.

I wouldn't advise Bilbao in Februar: it rained almost non-stop, except when it snowed. This made the comfortable Sirimiri rooms even more welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2004

We chose Hotel Sirimiri after reading the comments of various Bilbao hotels on the Trip Advisor website. Although it is not bang in the centre of the city its location is good and it is less than a 10 minute stroll along the river (looking at the shops and the Ribera market) to the Teatro Arriaga. If you don't fancy the walk then the Atxuri tram stop is literally round the corner and the 3€ day pass will take you all over the city.

Our triple room was simply but adequately furnished and the bathroom clean. Lots of large towels! The hotel is in a quiet street just off the main road and the Museum of Sacred Art and an attractive church are next door (worth a visit). The hotel staff were polite, very friendly and spoke good English. We did not have breakfast there although it looked OK. We went instead to a small cafe opposite where the three of us had coffee and tortillas for a grand total of 6€! Friendly cafe owner who also spoke good English.

We visited all the sites and it is worth taking the funicular (in Plaza Funicular off Calle Castanos on the other side of the Zubizuri bridge) up Mt Artxanda from where there are wonderful views of the city, the river and the surroundings hills and, of course, the Guggenheim.

There seem to be quite a few reasonably priced hotels in Bilbao but we chose Sirimiri as it is slightly away from the main hustle and bustle because our guide book (Flying Visits to Spain) warned of the late night revellers in the main squares. Our visit coincided with a national holiday and the old town was certainly animated, but everyone was good humoured and the Bilbaoans are very friendly and helpful.

Hotel Sirimiri was fairly quiet, apart from a loose manhole cover which clonked every time a vehicle went over it! We pointed this out to Julian at the reception who promised he would contact someone to get it fixed!

All in all we would recommend using Hotel Sirimiri if you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean, no frills hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2003

The Sirimiri has a most pleasant and helpful atmosphere. The staff speak English which also helps. The hotel is also situated right at the heart of the action in Bilbao.It would be hard to get a better hotel for the price.

Tom from Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sirimiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirimiri

Address: Plaza de la Encarnacion, 3, 48006 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sirimiri 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sirimiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirimiri Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sirimiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.