We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artetxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Artetxe to your Saves list
Artetxe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera BI-3741 Enekuri-Artxanda Km 7 | Berrizbidea 112, 48014 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean and nice staff. Great for overnight before catching ferry.
Restaurant pretty utilitarian but did the job for breakfast- particularly as we were ripped off for evening meal at a restaurant by the cable car!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
88
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend for 7 nights. It was an excellent decision. The owners made us feel like we were home, we didn't want to stay in a hotel belonging to a big chain: we wanted a warm and friendly hotel with character, and that is exactly what we got.

The price of the room is quite cheap compared with other hotels, and the location is very convenient. It is just outside Bilbao, with public transport (bus to the old Bilbao centre and funicular to Guggenheim museum), and free car park next to it.

The food in the hotel is excellent: they cook it in front of you, and the service is very efficient and friendly. I would definitely recommend eating in the hotel restaurant. But please, do not eat in "asador artetche", which is a restaurant at the other side of the car park (with a terrace overlooking Bilbao): this one is extremely overpriced, and the quality is not good (I also reviewed it in Trip Advisor, and gave it 1 star). The restaurant of the hotel is the one with glass windows, which is an extension of the old "caserio" which is the hotel itself: this one is very good and reasonably priced, and, by the way, you should try a glass of txakoli! (typical Euskera wine).

As I mentioned before, the hotel service is excellent: the guy in the reception gave us lots of information about Bilbao and Euskadi in general, with lots of activities and things to visit.

The only reason I give the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because we didn't have air conditioner in the room, and also we had 2 single beds instead of a double (but we didn't mention this in our booking, so it's normal they have a limited number of beds). If they fix this, this hotel is definitely worth 5 stars.

To wrap up, we think this hotel was an excellent choice for our holidays, and if I have to go back to Bilbao at some point I will go to Artetxe hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sestriere
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of those places you wouldn't consider if you just drove by. Located 5 minutes drive out of Bilbao on the hillside. Nice garden to enjoy an afternoon drink. Taxi to centre of Bilbao is 5 minutes and €6-8. Super friendly guy at the front desk told us everything we needed to know about Bilbao, where to go, what to see and do. Even arranged taxi for us and briefed the driver where to drop us of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this hotel, which is well located on a hill overlooking the city. A couple of minutes from the hotel, it is possible to see the Guggenheim museum.

The hotel itself is a standard motel style. We had a room above the restaurant, which meant that we had to listen to 'Best of the 80ies' until past midnight. The restaurant itself is ridiculously overpriced, even if it has a nice view of the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We wanted to book somewhere close to Bilbao ready to catch the ferry home but wanted something quiet with easy access to the town. This was perfect. The hotel is situated up on the hillside looking down on the town. It is a shortish walk into town or there is a funicular railway to take you down. The staff at the hotel were really friendly and the dining experience was something very different to other places we had stayed. The dining area is small and the food is prepared in a little kitchen area in front of you. It's a wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and cosy. In hot weather air conditioning is needed though so check if it is available. Would recommend this hotel to any travellers whether solo or couples, groups or families.

Room Tip: Just check if air conditioning in the hot weather or if fan available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We reserved their Top Superior Room direct with the hotel, but on arrival this had been allocated to someone stopping longer than our one night. We were given a smaller room on the floor below with an inferior view of the city, yet still charged the €70 top floor rate despite my intervention.
Although the room being clean and well presented, we felt that the room was not value for money, especially compared to other hotels we encountered during our visit to the region.
Breakfast was very nice at €7 each and the two members of staff we met both spoke good English.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was good e clean, with this beautiful view on Bilbao. If you don't have any car, you'll have some problems to get here; but if u got it this hotel is perfect: it takes just 10 minutes to get to the city center. It's possible to have a good breakfast (7euros) until 10.30.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artetxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artetxe

Address: Carretera BI-3741 Enekuri-Artxanda Km 7 | Berrizbidea 112, 48014 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Artetxe 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurnished countryhouse basque style outside Bilbao downtown, located at the top of Artxanda hill offers panoramic views of the whole city, special spot to enjoy nature and relax.Good combinations with Loiu Interantion Airport, highways and coastal roads and Artxanda´s funicular public transportation down to Guggenheim Museum area.Rooms equipped with bathroom, telephone, central heating, Led TV, visco elastic pillows. Bookcrossing area, parking lot under surveillance, free WIFI, We lend Netbook to check email, Coffee bar, Breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Artetxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artetxe Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artetxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.