We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise ship visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours

Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours
Bilbao, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and join us for an unforgettable visit to Bilbao!Welcome to Eusko Greeters, a non-profit organization founded in 2011 that offers visitors a new form of alternative tourism and, in particular, a new welcoming policy based on voluntary participation. The main objective of this service is the cultural exchange, for the visitors and Greeters (locals). Eusko Greeters has already launched the Bilbao Greeters Program to provide the service, free of charge, in Bilbao and the surroundings. Donostia and Gasteiz programs will follow soon. Please register, via email, at least two weeks in advance of your arrival in Bilbao.
bournemouth, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cruise ship visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Visiting Bilbao on a cruise ship left very little time for us to apprecIate the city. We discovered the service through Trip Advisor and it was exactly the ideal way to absorb the history of the city, its recent transformation from industrial to service provider.and enjoy the old sector.
The guide spoke perfect english and had a passionate pride in her city and region; We insisted in resting in a tearoom/bar and benefited from now understanding the purpose of the delicacies that covered the counter!!
Highly recommended

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ONT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“fantastic service by volunteers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I would like to thank this organization and Susi for providing this service to Bilbao visitors. We were met in our hotel by Susi and given very informative tour of main attractions in central Bilbao. We toured right after checking into the hotel and later visited the same attractions on our own.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We also discovered this service through tripadvisor and loved it. Our guide Miren was lovely and spoke very good english. She showed us around the old town and we had a blast. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful insights into this wonderful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Thanks to previous postings, we discovered bilbaogreeters.com, an organisation that provides, free of charge, an English-speaking guide to Bilbao.  The Guggenheim may be the initial draw for tourists, but there is much more to this fascinating city.  
My top tip?  meet up with a guide as early as possible in your stay.  Ours told us: where to eat outstanding seafood; how best to use the excellent public transport system; and what is worth seeing, apart from the "Guggy".

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best way to see Bilbao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Bilbao Greeters is a terrific organisation. Run by volunteers, they try to match visitors with Greeters so they have interests in common. Our guide, Marivi, went to a lot of trouble to find out what aspects of the city would most appeal to us and then took us to some fascinating places including the food market and a good bar where we learned all about the different pintxos and local wine. She was full of information about the city, its people, its history and the Basque culture and gave us lots of tips about other things to see on our own as well.
It was like having a personal friend in Bilbao! The Greeters don't charge - but you can make a donation afterwards - you'll want to, after you've been with them.
One thing to note - be sure to give the Greeters at least 2 weeks notice of your visit so they can find someone suitable to show you around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilbao Greeters Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.