We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Villa de Bilbao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Villa de Bilbao to your Saves list
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via, 87, 48011 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently spent two nights here. We were offered an upgrade to a superior room for EUR 15 per night and it was well worth it! The room was huge as was the very comfortable bed and there was even an extra single bed. The decor is very contemporary and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and even parked our car for us in the underground garage. A tram stop is located about 5 minutes walk away . Three stops away is the Guggenheim Museum and the tram continues all the way to the old town. We also took a lovely walk back from the old town along the wide promenade beside the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    276
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
92
270
25
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here on business recently. hotel rooms are a good size and breakfast was a very well presented buffet. close to the centre of the city and the guggenheim. Would recommend, particularly if visiting for a couple of days and if you are planning not to spend too much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altea
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends. We upgraded to the better rooms which we were very pleased with. Very spacious and clean. The hotel location was very good. Very central.

Unfortunatly, we booked a table in the dinning room. The food was very poor indeed. My husband and myseld ordered the duck. It was quite slimey and only just luke warm To be fair my friend had ordered the fish which she said was quite acceptable.

Next morning the breakfast came with very undercooked eggs. Not edible in fact.

I might stay again if I was in Bilbao, but on a room only basis.

Room Tip: If you visit the hotel, avoid the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really like Nh hotels, having stayed at one in Barcelona. This hotel is very modern and in a great location. I took the airport bus, but I missed the stop and had to walk about a mile back from the main bus/train station.

My room was really big, even by American standards, and it was gorgeous... Super nice bed and bed linens, really great decor. The bathroom was nice, with a tub and nice toiletries, including toothbrush and bath sponge. The minibar prices are very reasonable. I didn't have the breakfast, but I ordered room service, which was fine.

The only real complaint I can say about the place is that because the floors are laminate wood floors, it can be a bit noisy if people next to you or above are wearing loud shoes. The hotel in Barca was the same, so if you're a light sleeper, i recommend ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ask if there is free wifi in your room before you pay. I made the mistake of purchasing it only to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a very nice, modern hotel, with ample, comfortable rooms that are quiet and pleasant. Very nicely designed and conveniently located. We had an interior room, which was very quiet. No doubt about it, we would stay here again next time!

Room Tip: We felt that breakfast was a little bit too expensive. There are great coffee shops and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus juan A, General Manager at NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to receive your comments, we appreciate that you enjoyed your staying among us and that Nh Villa de Bilbao could meet your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

+ This is a very modern and clean hotel. Our room was extremely spacious with huge comfortable beds. Friendly reception. Good breakfast and we had a very nice evening buffet at a decent price. Parking garage under the hotel (charges apply). Excellent location near Guggenheim and football stadium.
- City hotels come at a price, and so does this one. Our room was over the street so it was a bit noisy. Finally, we had a very large room, but still only place for one suitcase. The second one needs to go on the floor. It seems hotels never consider the possibility of 2 suitcases in a twin room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

On arrival (9.00 pm on a Saturday), there was only one receptionist and no manager to be seen. The hotel was busy and all clients complained about the wait. In a four star hotel there should always be at least two members of staff on the desk at any given time. The hotel was renovated a few years back using white plastic materials. As a result there is a very strong smell of PVC, we had to ask for another less smelly room. Breakfast was adequate but tortilla was cold and bacon burnt. Please ensure you go early as they don't replenish food and cooked breakfast is only available on demand. Location is convenient for the Museums and town center. Not a family orientated hotel but an impersonal business hotel. Lastly during the renovation works they forgot to refurbish the bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Villa de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Villa de Bilbao

Address: Gran Via, 87, 48011 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando , Indautxu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#1 Green Hotel in Bilbao
#2 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#3 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Villa de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao is a four-star hotel conveniently located in downtown Bilbao, recently renovated and ready to fulfill your highest expectations in terms of comfort and quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, NHHotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your NH Collection Villa de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bilbao
Nh Hotel De Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Villa de Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.