We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nerua

Nerua
Avda. Abandoibarra 2, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
0034 944 000430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 663 restaurants in Bilbao
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The perfect dining experience for us. On entering we were shown the kitchen and got a little taste and explanation of the kitchen. When seated The sparsely decorated dining room is different. But it didn't bother us too much, the focus is on the food.

We were both surprised by the subtle taste of the starter, the eggplant it was just delicious and a good indication of what was yet to come.
From then on all the dishes remained superb, subtle but full of flavor. Not often do you experience such quality. The deserts were to die for, I had the chocolate which great but the citrus was amazing. The food was excellent from the amuse to the friandise.

Also the staff was friendly and very knowledgable. The wine arrangement was excellent. All in all we look back on a perfect dinner and we would love to come back here on a next visit. This restaurant comes highly recommended (if you don't expect extravagant dishes and decor).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    58
    14
    13
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Lacking in atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Started with a drink in the kitchen area whilst we watched the food preparations. Given an overview of the kitchen and how it all works. The restaurant is very bland; no music; no atmosphere. Starters were disappointing (mine especially £30 for a minute piece of lobster). Mains were tasty enough. Nice experience but the michelin star restaurants don't seem to be as nice outside of the uk.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We cant belive our luck at stumbling into this restaurant which turned out to be the highlight of our trip to Spain and one of our all time greatest food and wine experiences. I'm a chef and my partner a winemaker, have had more than our share of tedious wine and food experiences so to absorb the detail, intelligence and aesthetic of Nerue was a treat.
We'd never heard of it and hadnt planned a major culinary outing, literally lucked up the stairs in need of lunch. Felt like we'd fallen throught the looking glass into a Lewis Carol story.

Bit freaky finding ourselves in the kitchen via the front door but realizing what we'd inadvertantly stumbled upon quickly began to soak it up. On being presented the menu in that awesomly minimal dining room couldnt believe the value for money - the six course degustation with four wines was less than we would pay for similar in Sydneys top restaurants.

Warmed napkins and ergonomic cutlery - nice touch. Style plus.
As a restaurateur I loved being challenged, educated and entertained at this level.

We havent stopped talking about it, everyone who gets detail, style and care should go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Michelin star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

as you get in you feel like home , you get into the kitchen and all the employee will spoke with you , than as you seat you can have a worldwide choice of wine .... The food is really a research on taste and excellent combination ..... tale a break and enjoy the food as unique piece of art you don't only see but you also enjoy the taste

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This restaurant is located in the Guggenheim Museum (separate entrance) and is an extraordinary treat if you are visiting the museum. Spend a couple of hours in the galleries and then enjoy the superb tasting menu with wine pairing at Nerua. Food and service are simply outstanding and the room is sublime. A welcome respite from the sensory abundance that is the Guggenheim. Spend several more hours in the galleries and you've had a perfect day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nerua also viewed

Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
 
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
 

Been to Nerua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nerua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.