We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sercotel Coliseo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sercotel Coliseo to your Saves list
Sercotel Coliseo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda De Urquijo 33, 48008 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
County Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good for overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here one night on the way back to Bilboa airport after tour of N Spain. Smart, modern city centre hotel that is 10 nminute walk to the airport shuttle bus stop. (Bus takes 15 minutes if motorways clear). Didn't use facilities - good restaurants nearby - recommend Cafeteria Gaico round the corner opposite theatre. Will use again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    268
    58
    12
    2
See reviews for
67
297
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having overcome the challenge of getting our car into the hotel's carpark, we checked in and explored our room. Whilst the room was modern and the bathroom was quite large, the room we received was fairly tight once we opened our two suitcase. Never the less, we coped well and were very happy with our two nights in the hotel. Most of the must see sights in Bilbao are within easy walking distance of the hotel, as was a fabulous patisserie (Don Manuel) where we had breakfasts and a tapas restaurant we found on Trip Adviser.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank god for Sat-Nav. This part of Bilbao is one way hell. Once you get to the hotel, you need to go back into the one way system to get to the car park, down a pedestrian precinct. The hotel itself is clean and modern, we only stayed one night and didn't make breakfast so I can't comment on the food. It's quiet and good for an overnight before the ferry. You need your room key to operate the lifts and reception is on the 2nd floor. It's a bit confusing for a weary traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The reception is on the second floor, so from the main entrance you have to take the elevator to check in. The hotel is very accessible and the location is great. From the airport, just take the 3247 bus which costs 1.40 euro.

We arrived at the same time as another couple, and so we had to wait around 10 minutes to check in. However it was a quick and easy process as our room was prepaid. We were given a room that had three steps leading up to the bathroom. Other reviewers have mentioned this, but we did not find it a problem. We actually liked having the bathroom divided from the sleeping area.

Room service was available but we did not get to try this. We were surprised that the cost of a bottle of wine was so reasonable, around 12 euros, and they also had sandwiches available.

On our first night, we had a little trouble with our TV, and the receptionist came right away to sort it out. She didn't know how to fix it but she offered to send a maintenance man early the next morning and also offered to change our room.

Bad points:
- I wished we were told more about the facilities, for example the gym and the free computers for guest use. The computers were tucked away in a corner of the business room so we did not find them until we went exploring ourselves.
- Some rooms facing the main street can be very noisy. For example we were on the second floor in room 229 and could hear music from the cocktail bar that was directly across the room, every night. It was not loud enough to disturb me as I bring earplugs everywhere when I travel.

The music was particularly loud on our last evening which happened to be Friday. In addition, there was a lot of lively chatter as the bar also had an outside seating area. This continued until around midnight, so I would recommend that you request a room facing the courtyard or in the higher floors.

- The room lacks a kettle and free tea and coffee. This was surprising for a 4* hotel.

Good points
- The receptionist was very friendly and her English was excellent. Service is professional throughout, and there was help whenever we needed it. They kindly provided an adapter and a map on request. Also gave us directions to the airport bus stop.
- The hotel is in a great location. It is a 10 minute walk to the old town and just down the street from a large supermarket, el corte ingles, which is on the 6th floor of a large department store.
The bathrooms are large, very clean and functional. Plenty of hot water and shower pressure was great. There is a shelf underneath the sink for toiletries storage.
- The in room safe was large enough for valuables, and there were a few hangers in the closet that was useful.
- Housekeepers very polite and we were never disturbed in the morning, despite leaving the hotel for sightseeing quite late (around 10-ish).
- Wi-fi was fast despite the signal being poor at times.

Other points:
+ They provide a single, long pillow which I found very comfortable although a little strange at first.
+ TV had loads of channels but only a few in English (Bloomberg, cctv, bbc, national geographic, Russia today). It would have been useful for a TV channel guide to be placed in the room.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel despite the noise, and request for a quieter room next time. The location is great, as BIlbao is a small town and you can practically walk everywhere. The Guggenheim is very straight forward to get to, as you just follow one long road along the river to get here, around 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: - request for a room away from the street, facing the courtyard. There is a cocktail bar directly ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long week-end, which was enjoyable and interesting though very wet. The hotel staff were welcoming - once we found them, not at the entrance but on the first floor. (They speak English too!) The room looked quite attractive, very clean and the bathroom
was first class (always the room we look at first). I was glad it did not involve steps up to it, as I had read some rooms did. However, we soon found drawbacks: the window wouldn't open, and in any case it looked out on to a patio area which was covered in; the air conditioning was not working, as it was not hot outside, but it was too warm in our room; there were no drawers or shelves anywhere - just a wardrobe - so we had nowhere to put our belongings and had to live out of the suitcase. Maybe they expect people only to stay one or two nights. Then the bathroom had glazed panels, which meant we could not put the light on at night without waking our partner. We did manage to get our room changed, so that we could open the window to fresh air. The staff were always obliging and helped us find our way around the city, which is well worth a visit, particularly the Guggenheim.

Room Tip: Try to avoid those without a window opening to fresh air, or with steps up to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed a week for business in mid May. Clean modern Hotel with wifi & breakfast inclusive in hotel rate. My 4th floor room faced the road however sound proofing was excellent. Very comfy bed. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, Reception staff courteous. Central location surrounded by shopping & casino next door. An abundance of Spanish channels to watch on tele, Only 2 or 3 English news channels. No swimming pool

I would stay here again. Listed are a few points that stopped me rating this hotel 5 out of 5

-Air conditioning was turned off. Confirmed this with the travelling partner who also had this problem in the room next door. Why?

-Shower water temperature kept varying from the set temperature to too hot & then back again. How can this happen in a new modern hotel?

-The sound proofing was great from the street however not from the room next door. Their television volume had me sleeping with ear plugs several times

-The room service meals need improving. I tried the chicken confit. It came with the chicken and potato chips. Potato chips? That's just dreadful especially in a world class gastronomic province. The chicken was poor as well. I didn't order room service again

-No iron or ironing board in room. I got an iron from reception but they had run out of ironing boards

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Really great location for visiting Bilbao. A short walk to the OldTown, for great tapas bars and restaurants. Near the main shopping area. Quite close to the bus to the airport (no 3247). A pleasant walk (15 mins) to both the Guggenheim and the Fine Art Gallery.

We asked for a quiet room, and had probably the best nights sleep ever in a city centre hotel. The room is businesslike, rather dark for my tastes. The mirrors are in inconvenient places, but this is just me being picky!

Breakfast was great. Lots of fresh local produce, excellent range of pastries and cereals.

Staff were very friendly, encouraging our holiday Spanish, but resorting to excellentEnglish when required.

Is definitely recommend this hotel for great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sercotel Coliseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Coliseo

Address: Alameda De Urquijo 33, 48008 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Coliseo 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sercotel Coliseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sercotel Coliseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.