We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bar Bilbao

Cafe Bar Bilbao
Plaza Nueva 6, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
+34(0)944 151671 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 739 Restaurants in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Atmospheric location and friendly staff in a beautiful plaza. Very tasty pinxtoes (Basque tapas) and excellent draft beer. This is a very traditional looking bar where we sat but there is also terrace service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    117
    32
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were a little apprehensive as our journeys to France and Spain had been hit or miss on finding English speaker servers and its always a great feeling to find someone behind the counter who is friendly and who speaks English. The bar looks old and authentic and we were quickly waited on and served. The food selection was good where cod was a predominant menu item as well as shrimp, prosciutto, olvies, etc. People came and went as they popped in for a glass of wine a few Pintxos. I enjoyed the Cafe Bar Bilbao and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quick snack and beer or glass of wine while in Plaza Nueva, If your looking for a sit down diner for a family you might look elsewhere as it is not that large and tables are small and tight. Great atmosphere with friendly locals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pintxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This bar was recommended and after doing some research into best PIntxos bars in Bilbao we put it on our list to try. We were not disappointed. A must try in my opinion. Lovely smooth Rioja was also cheap as chips! Will go again for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem. Fantastic pinxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We heard about this cafe from a Lets go book so thought we would check it out. We went on a Saturday night and the place was bustling. The pinxos were fresh and fantastic. The staff kindly tolerated our poor Spanish. We went back to this cafe again a week later. It really is a must go to in the Plaza Nueva.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Accepted our prize vouchers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely tasty Tapas (Pintxos) Great location, pity it was raining!!
Lovely tiled interior. Friendly staff

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar Bilbao also viewed

Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
 
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
 

Been to Cafe Bar Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bar Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.