We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy slow food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larruzz Bilbao

Larruzz Bilbao
Uribitarte, 24, Bilbao, Spain
944230820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 663 restaurants in Bilbao
Price range: $18 - $58
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mediterranean Cuisine. Specialized in Paellas. Next to Guggenheim Museum.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“enjoy slow food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

good quality, Spanish and Euskadi cuisine, enjoy dining with multiple courses. good location between Guggenheim and city centre

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLarruzz, Camarero at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad you enjoyed the meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    22
    38
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Paella, great service, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Larruzz is located a few blocks from the Guggenheim and the Miro hotel. We had a wonderful dinner with great service, moderately priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Poor service and food without any savor. Pass your way!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We never experienced such a terrible service; we had to ask 2 times to get our white wine served in a cooler (most expensive bottle they have on the list), never received the red wine - as ordered from the beginning - with the main course, etc...
This was certainly not related to the fact that the restaurant was - on this Wednesday evening - not frequented by more than 20 persons!
We choose this restaurant because of what we read in Lonely Planet guide... and unfortunately didn't experienced any nice paella.
Pass your way... and please - people from Lonely Planet - check carefully if this restaurant gives the needed quality all over the year... otherwise don't recommand it anymore!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLarruzz, Gerente at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We greatly appreciate your impressions which certainly help us to improve our service.
We regret that day you did not have a good experience in our restaurant. We didn't expected so much people, becaus it was Wendsday and we had only two people reserved. Finally more than forty people came for dinner that night almost and the same time (19:45-20:15 ) so our staff was not prepared and we want to apologize for it.
Comunicating in different languages is difficult and sometimes can lead mistakes, but our staff is working to improve its engish to offer a better service in the future.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had lunch at Larruzz and had no problem getting a table. The staff were very helpful and had menus in a variety of languages. We had arroz negro that was obviously cooked to order (not the much loathed pre-cooked paella) and this was a fantastic dish. The Larruzz has an extensive choice of paellas from traditional to game, seafood .... Also has several good salads and a nice variety of entrees. While we did not have desserts, we could not help but notice a couple who must have ordered a shared platter who were taken aback by the size and variety (and much to the delight of the waitress). Despite their initial misgivings we noticed that they had polished off the plate by the time that we left - I think that this is an indirect vote of confidence in their desserts. Larruzz is worth a visit if you are after something more substantial than pinxtos. Mid range price (our meal with wine was 70 euros)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“staff dis interested”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

i didnt try the paella as you cant order it for 1 person which most people seem to be having
nice atmosphere!wouldnt rave about the food,i had calamari an cod,was nice!not fantastic
i would go again and try the paella
staff not friendly,we are in their way i felt!but otherwise nice location

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestauranteLarruzz, Gerente at Larruzz Bilbao, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We greatly appreciate your impressions, which certainly help us to improve our service.

We regret that this day you could not taste our famous and excellent paellas. We prepare single serving paellas if the number of clients we have at that time in the restaurant permits it. The explanation for this limitation is that all our rices are cooked in the oven and the capacity of our ovens is limited. We hope next time you visit us you can try them because we are sure you will love them.
If our staff did not seem friendly and helpful to you, and we want to apologize for it. Communicating in a language different from ours is a difficulty that in some cases can lead to errors. We have English speaking staff and in our training plans for next year english is a priority, so we hope we can offer a better service in the future.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larruzz Bilbao also viewed

Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
 
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
Bilbao, Vizcaya Province
 

Been to Larruzz Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larruzz Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.