We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a picturesque city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao to your Saves list
Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Peoria IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location in a picturesque city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights here & got a special 'deal' that included 2 tickets to the Guggenheim Museum. Wonderful location - we walked from the first stop of the airport shuttle bus, across the Zubizuri Bridge to the hotel. Reasonably priced, close to tram stop & funicular. Walking on both sides of the river was a real highlight. Breakfast buffet was adequate; front desk staff helpful & business-like. Only complaint was the bartender who 'blew us off' after the front desk person had
told us we could get a sandwich before 3PM. So we walked to the Guggenheim & had a tasty sandwich outside, overlooking that impressive building.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. Our side room overlooked a square; by looking toward the hills, we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear traveler,

Great description "picturesque city", love it. Bilbao is pedestrian city, you can walk anywhere and find great architecture old an new, and also good public transport as you mentioned such a Tram, buses or Funicular. Sorry for cafeteria experience, we have just changed the opening ours and is not an excuse is just a situation that should never had happened, sorry for that.
We are glad you enjoyed our special pack with Guggenheim museum ticket is one of the most wanted at this hotel, with exterior view to Bilbao´s river
Thanks for sharing your experience, and hope to see you back soon,
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    110
    45
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
97
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for three days recently as we travelled along the north coast of Spain. The hotel is very clean, tidy, quiet and half the price that we paid in San Sebastian and Santander. The staff were excellent - helpful, chatty, happy people.

We loved the walk along the river opposite the hotel towards the old town where we found some excellent pinchox/tapas bars and restaurants.

We also found some very good tapas bars around the back of the hotel that semed to only be used by locals - but we like getting away from the tourists!

Also behind the hotel is the funicular train to the park at the top of the hill. Great views over Bilbao and beyond.

Highly recommend this hotel.

A little tip on getting to this hotel from the airport - tell the driver to use the toll road. Its £10 cheaper using that route but our driver, and a few others that we heard about, take the long route to earn more.

Room Tip: We booked an outer facing room. I gather that the inner facing rooms do not have oping windows and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rayleigh,

What can we say from your great comments about Bilbao city and the hotel, Thank you so much.
Our staff always try to offer best options to our guests proyects on the city, and your tour up to Artxanda mountain to have best view of Bilbao, and then Pintxo in old town. You have mentioned that you found some local people at tapas bar, but we don´t have a tourist area, all the city is a place where local people enjoy and is where our guest enjoy too, we don´t make diferences, thanks for noticed it, is one of the most important things for us, have a Touristic city wher you can feel the original, as it is. Great tip for foreign arriving at the airport. Here at the hotel we can inform about the average of 25 euros airpot to hotel.
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is its location, just across zubi zuri bridge-calatrava bridge and walking distance from guggenheim. Nice rooms and clean interiors. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. But lot of restaurants around the place. Staff was good, attentive and helped in suggesting places of visit. Would recommend this place as it worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,

"worth every penny" what a great compliment, Thank you!
Our location is excelent for pedestrian tourism around Bilbao city, don´t need a car that´s absolutly correct. Near by there is plenty of Pintxos bar to add to the tender offer in our restaurant, and we love to have people experiencing our local food.
Thank you and hope to see you soon,
Kind regards

Iñaki Armada - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September. Was slightly sceptical having read some of the reviews but have to say that the rooms were very good, as was the bathroom; I think they may have been recently refurbished. Breakfast was nothing special but was adequate. The location was excellent, within walking distance of all the local attractions. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely use again if returning to Bilbao.

Room Tip: Ensure you book an outside room as negative reviews seem to relate to interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for choosing us upon some reviews but as you have had experienced here we are a very good option to enjoy Bilbao.
The hotel is on a great location as all our guests recomend and we take care of our rooms and bathrooms making updates as frequent as they need. We are looking for a refreshing style on our breakfast, hope next time you are able to tell us something about it.

Thank you see you soon,

IAA - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice hotel, near Guggenheim Museum (20 minutes walking), and near Down town (20 minutes walking also).
They have big rooms with excellent accommodations.
Only the bathroom was a little bite old fashion.

Few tv channels available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Ricardo C,
Thanks a lot for you comments we appreciate your short and clear descriptions.
About our location we agree that each one has its walking "speed" and if you come to enjoy on vacations ther is no rush. We normaly set 15 minutes to down town (no taking pictures o snack on the way) and if you go directly to the guggenheim should be less than 10 minutes walk. But, there is a little "trick" that we recommend to do when you tell us how to go to the Guggenheim, and we tell you to visit the museum from very differnts points of view, normally unknown and from here is the best way to do it (only outside the building).
We love you like our accomodation, and we can tell you that we are modifying (& improving) our rooms every year (1 or 2 full floors/year) as well as bathrooms; this is a small private hotel and we do invest on ourself as much as we are able to, always looking for clients best experience.
Hope you come to visit us soon,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel's principal asset is its location - within walking distance of the Guggenheim and of the heart of the city. The Calatrava 'white bridge' is across the street and the walk along the riverbank on either side is worth doing.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and adequate. Breakfast involved a good range of hot and cold foods with a good selection of hot drinks and juices - though the one person taking care of restocking the food was overworked, so it was a tad slow. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth asking for room with exterior view - though it is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Tom,
We appreciate all details of your experience with us, and specially your kind words to our staff. Thanks for your point of view of out locations, honestly, is great to walk any where from here. Love you like our breakfast, we always look to get better and improving what we have, specially when we are so busy with the festival.
Thank you again, and hope to see you soon with us,
Kind regards

IAA - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For walking to the Guggenheim and all other attractions and places of interest, this is fantastic. Getting there from the airport using the city bus is inexpensive, but necessitates quite a walk to the hotel, which is at the end of the Calatrava foot bridge. A cab, though, is ludicrously expensive for the relatively short ride. The rooms were smallish, (we were with 2 friends) and our room had space for 2 suitcase. The other room required putting one suitcase on the closet shelf, removing hanging space. The rooms were quiet, windows shut out all outside sounds and we had a small balcony. The interior rooms are VERY interior, with a window into a light shaft. If you Google map the hotel, it looks like the exterior rooms face the river, but they do not. The hotel is actually behind the apartments which face the river. The breakfast was very nice, granola in particular was excellent and the wait staff efficient and cheerful, as was the front desk. We had a 2 museum package with breakfast included. The hotel's passes to the Guggenheim did not include the audio guide, which was an extra 2 Euros per person. Since the regular entry fee does include the guide and only was 5 Euros, you might do a little math to see whether the 2 night package is worth it. For us at this time of year, it was.

Room Tip: 7th floor was quiet, but they may all have been quiet. 701 has a bit more space, 702 had nicer appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We appretiate your comments about your point of view of your experience with us. Is nice to have all points of view, the only thing I could mention is to please double check your reservation with the oficial web site, our is just like this hotelcondeduque . com and here we have all details about room descriptions, packages offers etc, where we are and how to get here and many more things about us and about how to enjoy Bilbao city.

Kind regards

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Address: Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bilbao
Best Western Conde Duque
Bilbao Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.