We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore city from” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Save Saved
You added Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Bilbao
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good base to explore city from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel's principal asset is its location - within walking distance of the Guggenheim and of the heart of the city. The Calatrava 'white bridge' is across the street and the walk along the riverbank on either side is worth doing.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and adequate. Breakfast involved a good range of hot and cold foods with a good selection of hot drinks and juices - though the one person taking care of restocking the food was overworked, so it was a tad slow. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth asking for room with exterior view - though it is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Tom,
We appreciate all details of your experience with us, and specially your kind words to our staff. Thanks for your point of view of out locations, honestly, is great to walk any where from here. Love you like our breakfast, we always look to get better and improving what we have, specially when we are so busy with the festival.
Thank you again, and hope to see you soon with us,
Kind regards

IAA - Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    95
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
76
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For walking to the Guggenheim and all other attractions and places of interest, this is fantastic. Getting there from the airport using the city bus is inexpensive, but necessitates quite a walk to the hotel, which is at the end of the Calatrava foot bridge. A cab, though, is ludicrously expensive for the relatively short ride. The rooms were smallish, (we were with 2 friends) and our room had space for 2 suitcase. The other room required putting one suitcase on the closet shelf, removing hanging space. The rooms were quiet, windows shut out all outside sounds and we had a small balcony. The interior rooms are VERY interior, with a window into a light shaft. If you Google map the hotel, it looks like the exterior rooms face the river, but they do not. The hotel is actually behind the apartments which face the river. The breakfast was very nice, granola in particular was excellent and the wait staff efficient and cheerful, as was the front desk. We had a 2 museum package with breakfast included. The hotel's passes to the Guggenheim did not include the audio guide, which was an extra 2 Euros per person. Since the regular entry fee does include the guide and only was 5 Euros, you might do a little math to see whether the 2 night package is worth it. For us at this time of year, it was.

Room Tip: 7th floor was quiet, but they may all have been quiet. 701 has a bit more space, 702 had nicer appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We appretiate your comments about your point of view of your experience with us. Is nice to have all points of view, the only thing I could mention is to please double check your reservation with the oficial web site, our is just like this hotelcondeduque . com and here we have all details about room descriptions, packages offers etc, where we are and how to get here and many more things about us and about how to enjoy Bilbao city.

Kind regards

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is right in front of the Zubizuri bridge and a short pleasant walk from the Guggenheim museum. I picked the hotel based on the location and was disappointed at everything else. I was on the 2nd floor facing an inner courtyard. You would think that you would get a lot of light but no, all the windows are frosted and inoperable (burglary?) The result? Cigarette smelling dark room you don't want to sleep in. The bathroom needs an update. If it wasn't for the friendly staff, I would have been very unhappy.

Room Tip: Maybe upper floors are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

As guest relationship manager I will like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and location. We take you words about the room seriously and we are sorry about your experience at that point. All our rooms have natural light and the reason of not been able to open more than a little bit, is due to a World wide safety rules any hotel must have (no burglary at all on this hotel so far); and frosted window is because all our inside rooms, as we explain on our official web site, they face a inner courtyard, and we took that decision for your privacy. Our smoking rooms are on the upper levels, only th 20% allowed in spain, so you should not have that smell, since is a non smoking room, very sorry for that. We do have external rooms with a little balcony facing a calm pedestrian street with a view to the river side and the Zubizuri bridge mentioned before, but those are bit more expensive.
Hope you give us a other oportunity next time you visit Bilbao, please contact us directly,
Kind regards,

IAA - CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We come here with two children and we have got the rooms on the first floor with a terrible smell. we cannot open the window because it face to an old patio which is now used as a depot with a lot of old tables and chairs... the windows even painted, not to look outside. It's like a prison!

Room Tip: never stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all we are very sorry you had such experience, please receive our appologies.
After reading your comments and asking the staff about any reference with this, we´ve been told that you had one reservation instead of two the the 4 members of your familly, inside view, and we resolved the way we could, since the hotel was almost full. The information about our rooms is clear on our oficial web site, we mention that interior rooms (the type you booked) look into a neighbour patio, we never hide it, but that description is not our hotel, that is a neighbourg houses in front; very sorry for having not been able to get on your expectations. Our rooms floor, walls and windows are new and natural light, we will never offer such a description as a room. We do have external view rooms, bit more expensive but the day of your booking not external rooms were available to do that upgrade to your familly, as we explained you at front desk. All comments are taken in consideration to try to improve, thanks.
Kind regards,
IAA - CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a driving holiday and maybe I have been spoilt with the standard of the other hotels I had stayed in as part of the tour but I was a bit disappointed with this one. The location is great being right on the river and close to the old town and the galleries & museums and the staff were friendly however the room we stayed in was dark and pretty beaten up. I did notice that you can pay an extra 8 euros for a view so not being particularly bothered by a view elected to not spend the extra 8 euros. What the hotel should say is that rooms without a view also have no natural light since the windows are covered by a plastic film and in reality face onto a decrepit building so its like being in a pit, you have little idea of whether its sunny outside, dark or raining. The room too was very Spartan, no minibar, not enough pillows for the bed and the shower was a dribble that fluctuated from hot to cold. They charge 16 Euros to use the underground car park which is nearby the hotel, this is a shared car park and the hotel has a number of spaces allocated at the lowest level, I would say make sure you have a small car since the spaces are very tight and because of the supports there is hardly any room to manoeuvre. If I were returning to Bilbao I would probably look for another hotel but if you were to stay here it might be better to spend the extra 8 euros for some daylight.

Room Tip: Maybe pay the extra money and get some daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

We appreciate your time on writing and sharing your experience with us, and we are bit sad you did not enjoy us as most of our guests do. I´ll like you to take a look of our official web site www.hotelcondeduque.com where you can find all the information about us, pictures and discriptions, since it seems that some of the data you provide is correct and with your point of view. We will like to say that we do have external rooms with great views (bit more expensive than the room you choosed) and most of our rooms are fully refursnished with new wall paper, closset, floors windows etc ..., and even on the first floor interior room, we do have on all rooms big windows with natural light, but no views outside on the street, that´s why the price, and that´s why we do give the options upon availability, as we did. We don´t have mini-bar in rooms for many years now, as most of 3*** hotels on the city (99%) since is not mandatory and when we had them, it was not really a big demand on that service; if you deserve any drink or food we have vending machine on the corridors (even floors, information at elevator and in the room), and a bar with room-service 7:00 to 22:00. Sorry for the shower, we do have a mantenance staff to resolve that kind of situations if you could have told us on time. About our parking place, hope you understand that back in 1966 when this hotel was opened there was not parking places down town, since car was not as common to use as it is now, so few years ago we had the oportunity to provide those spaces for parking, next block, less than 2 min walk on pedestrian stree, easy access by elevation and big wide easy ramps for cars and bikes; The issue with the Size of the parking place, we inform our guests about hight and if we know that the only place available is a small one, we offer different options near by, but, I can confirm you that we had big "mercedes benz" and "Renault Space" (bigest cars in Europe) parked on our parking space.
You liked our location and staff, why don´t you give us an other oportunity? Please contact us directly and we will try to give you a better experience, most of our guests are happy and very frequent customers.
Thank you
Kind regards,

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June as a base to explore the city and see a band that were playing there. Its very easy to find from the airport as its so close to the Guggenheim. The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with finding the music venue, and letting us know about a local cheese festival that was going on. It was well located for the Old Town and Guggenheim. The staff were kind enough to give us a late check out after the concert! I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your experience on our hotel, we are very happy been able to add some extra value to our location and to your original plans. The cheese festival or any other activity on the city or nearby is a good support for us to show a bit more about our city and our culture, we always do, and we you know you appreciated, so our staff will keep on doing it.
Many thanks for your kind words & recomendation, hope to see you backv soon!

Best regards

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location opposite the pedestrian bridge half-way between the Guggenheim and the old town will always be the winning feature of this hotel. It´s easy to walk everywhere from here + the tram stop is at the other side of this bridge which is great if arriving by train. The stop for the airport is close by too, with lifts between the street levels which really help when you have a suitcase.

Book a superior room to get a little terrace with a view over a side street. The decor is a bit brown and dated, but very comfortable, well-maintained and clean which is more important. Felt safe with 24hour reception and being in a pleasant area of town. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful - especially when not all guests were not 100% reasonable (if you have booked an inland-facing room, why complain to them that it doesn´t have a view of the Guggenheim!). Without a recommendation from the helpful reception staff, we would never have found the hanging bridge at Portulagete (and the festival there on 1 July which was great fun) or the great beaches at Getxo - only 20 minutes on the Metro to Areeta for 1.35 euro - which were highlights of our week here.

Food was fine - appreciated having ´proper´ bread to make toast with, as I really don´t like the white sliced stuff, and the selection of fresh fruit every day. The dining room/outdoor seating is more suited to breakfast and lunch - not much atmosphere in the evening, which was a shame as the food was good.

Pleased to find two PCs in the lobby as prefer that to wifi/Tablet in the hotel room - worked very well and handy to have. The drinks and snacks machines were also a nice touch.

Room Tip: Be reasonable - don´t book an inland-facing room without a terrace and still expect to see the Gugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONDEDUQUEBIO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you time on writing so many details about your experience with us in Bilbao.
Very glad you enjoyed our hotel the location and our indications.
One of our goals, upon decoration colours, is to look for high standarts on cleaning and mantenance issues (also let you know that we have just changed already 2 floors with new Vescom high cuality interior wall paper, hope next time you can profit this advantage on your room). Exterior room are bit better on views, but same on size and amenities.
Happy to have your review on terms of food service, our bar/restaurant tries to offer as much as our clients need. thanks
It is very important for us that our guest are perfectly well conected, that´s why we have set more Wi-Fi spots and if you don´t have your device we offer 2 computers, and we also can print your flight tickets for free.
Let me transmit these comments to our team, and on behalf of all staff want to thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you back,
Kind regards,

IAA - C.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao

Address: Paseo Campo de Volantin 22, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bilbao
Best Western Conde Duque
Bilbao Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Conde Duque Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.