We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro to your Saves list
Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Orueta 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“an excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the moment we arrived to departure we where treated very well,the hotel is situated in the part of town where there are restaurants and drinking establishments.The Guggenheim Museum is within walking distance about 5-10 minutes.The only downside to the Hotel is the bar which has been painted a very garish pink.Never the less, we had a wonderful time and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    48
    21
    10
See reviews for
27
88
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

An older property, probably refurbished several years ago. Clean, nice staff but not too accommodating. Small rooms, with very limited television access to channels. Only one with English content. A/C not too strong in the room I stayed in. Good location for walking around and observing views. I give it 3 stars, and would probably seek out another hotel to stay at if ever in this area again. Good wifi though...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

On arrival, this hotel seems fantastic. Car parked for us, extremely friendly porters, receptionists, & the lobby is beautifully decorated- we were thrilled! That evaporated as soon as we saw the room...it would be what you would expect of a 2 star, maybe a 3 star hotel. I appreciate that this is an older hotel, and I have no problem with hotels with character, but the carpet was shabby & torn in parts, the bed had two flat pillows, generally depressing decor! I rang reception and asked for another room ( I have NEVER done that in my life, but this was our honeymoon and we'd booked what we thought was a 5 * hotel!) -and we were moved to another room down the hall which was....identical to the first one. It was so small that my husband had no bedside locker on his side of the bed as there was no space for one, and there was no sign of the bathrobes promised on the website.I don't mean to sound petty- I would have no problem with a small, shabby room if a) it wasn't our honeymoon and b) if we'd booked a 2* hotel...but this was very, very disappointing. All staff, cleaners, bar staff, receptionists & porters were extremely friendly & helpful. Management need to sort this out- I would hate anyone else to be as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Travelling through Spain with a group of friends, we made a booking here at the last minute and It was a great surprise from the moment we walked into the elegant foyer.
While the rooms are average size, they are fitted with quality bedding and stylish decor.
Our floor also had a central sitting area that was a useful 'lounge room' for us all.
My room overlooked an interior courtyard and other buildings but there are rooms on the street side that have an interesting view of the quiet street that has minimal traffic noise.
The bar and restaurant area downstairs is beautifully appointed and we enjoyed all meals here.
It's a centrally located, boutique style hotel and is walking distance to the Guggenheim, nearby river, (great) shopping and attractions.
All service was courteous and efficient.
If you want to escape the generic hotel experience, this is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our group of 7 checked in separately and the front desk was very friendly. Nice bar area and comfortable beds. Rooms are decorated with a very fun very Spanish flair. Ours was black and white with red furniture! Great location walking distance or public tram everywhere. We definitely would recommend this to friends and family

Room Tip: All rooms we had (3) were scattered on al floors. All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Superb location walk to everything of interest. Good quality, but small room with no coffee maker which could reasonably be expected at this grade. Mini bar/fridge dirty and contents overpriced, window fixed closed, but other than that no problems. Rack rates high, Expedia rate was good value. Great staff, very helpful.

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade if space is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed three days last week. Perfect location. All major attractions are a pleasant 10-15 walk along river. Lovely hotel with genuinely friendly staff. All requests made were met with a smile and great service. Decor on the zingy side of things but who wants a dull space.
Cafe Iruna is a couple of mins away which is a traditional cafe with great food (check out the grilled meats in bar area).
The Guggenheim is amazing (Hockney on at moment). Don't miss taster lunch menu in the restaurant-rather special.

Room Tip: Check to see if the mini suite is free-good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro

Address: Obispo Orueta 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ercilla Lopez De Haro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.