We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for the value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro to your Saves list
Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obispo Orueta 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great quality for the value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We just came back from Bilbao where we stayed in this hotel. Was a very pleasant surprise. 5 star hotel for the great value. Room was very clean, fabulous marmor bathroom, toiletries (small shampoos, soaps, toothbrushes, etc) of the highest quality. Extra drinks in the bar - free of charge. All these small things contribute to good impression and overall quality. Very good location - central, but totally quiet. Linen of highest quality, only pillows could have been softer.
Staff was helpful with recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    75
    48
    22
    10
See reviews for
27
93
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We booked this hotel via the internet after high recommendations from friends who stayed there a few years ago. Some travel books indicated the Lopez as the best hotel in town and that was encouraging.

The reality was a rather confusing. The small room looked well organized,however not well maintained. The carpets looked old and and the curtains were torn. The queen size bed was old and not pampering. The view from the window was of a gray ugly building. It was too basic for Bilbao's best hotel. The bathroom was very good; however handling the hot water shower was very complicated . After the shower, enjoying the well quality towels we found out that the bathrobe was torn.

Regardless, we decided to give the hotel another chance. A week later we returned and were accommodated in an identical room in a higher floor. The impressions were the same.

Do mind - Internet in the room was way too expensive (it was the only hotel in the Basque country that charged for in room internet). However service at the front desk was very warm and pleasant. We felt that the staff, especially nice charming Anna, cared a lot for the welfare of the guests.

We expected more from the Lopez, but it was a good value for money. A wooden floor in the guestrooms would upgrade this old lady to another era.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at Lopez de Haro in Bilbao. We were only in town for one night, but the hotel provided everything we needed. Not too expensive, comparitively speaking, and a very convenient location for accessing the EuskoTren. Guggenheim is within walking distance and the old town is a short tram ride away, across the river. The room itself was very comfortable, spacious, and clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Like most of the other reviews, I agree. We stayed here just one night, and it was fine. The hotel itself is nice, but the rooms are small, and overall it's a bit 'old'. We had one of the newer rooms, with the black and white wallpaper. Nice room and the bathroom as well done, but it was a bit small.

The staff was great, and really helped us with several travel needs we had. The breakfast was also great, with everything you could want, and more. The location is great, too, in a quiet part of town, and certainly walkable to everything, including the Guggenheim.

They don't have free wifi, which I thought was a bit odd, considering most hotels today do, but they do have a 'house computer' in the lobby, which you can use any time, for free.

I just wished it had been a little more modern in it's renovation, but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is listed a 5 star hotel in Bilbao. It is not. The Pros: the location is amazing, walking distance to old town and a block from the Eskatram. The staff was great and the hotel is nice. It was listed as the "traditional luxury hotel." Just like the older luxury hotel in NY or throughout Europe, what this means is small. The bed just about filled the room with just enough room for a chair and to walk around the bed. The bathroom was decent size. If you get a good price, I would recommend staying here but if one of the other newer luxery places is the same price, I would recommend there. Also, not sure why but our room faced the street and on Thursday around 4 am there was lots of different people yelling. There are really no clubs around there so I'm not sure why this was the case but it was obviously people coming home from the bars. We were on the highest floor and it still woke us up. Ask for a room off the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Elegant old hotel, well maintained, with very good service. Staff were extremely helpful, whenever we had a question. The room was big and clean and the bed was comfortable. The lobby and bar were furnished with oddly modern furniture for such a classy old hotel. Location was very good--just a few blocks to Guggenheim, Bellas Artes, old quarter, tram. Bilbao is noisy until 4am, so we had to shut the windows, but that did the trick.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Just a one night stay before exploring Rioja area, but it was a Saturday night and the old city was a short walk away and full of bars that were full of people enjoying an evening out. The Guggenheim was just around the corner and a fabulous place to visit. No food was available on the Saturday evening when we arrived and we had to find a barman to serve us but with the street scene just around the corner we soon found our way. The room was very small (the bathroom was almost as big) but well provided for with "free" soft drinks and chocolate in the mini bar. The room was dramatically decorated in blacks and reds and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was lovely with everything you could want cooked or continental and the coffee was great. For a short stay it was perfectly good

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro

Address: Obispo Orueta 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ercilla Lopez De Haro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ercilla Lopez de Haro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.