We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Brewood, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Faultless accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Centrally located , very convenient for the Guggenheim museum and shops all within easy walking distance.Room was lovely, large, well decorated, and very comfortable. As we visited in November, the restaurant was very quiet and in a small, over-bright room and the food was not brilliant. There was a lovely large lounge area, the staff very obliging
A tip - Ask the concierge to park the car .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    160
    62
    16
    7
See reviews for
49
195
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a girlfriend on a weekend break. We chose it because it looked more traditional than the Melia, and I'm glad we did. It felt very old fashioned but expensive (we only paid £100 a night). Our room was huge, well decorated and had two large single beds. The bathroom was also big with a bath/shower, separate toilet and 2 sinks. They provided bathrobes when I asked. The reception staff we're helpful and very polite. Breakfast was a bit pricey at €20 but you could have anything you wanted. They made me a great omelette. The only think missing for me was a bit of atmosphere and a god bar. The bar was soulless. It's in a great location for the Guggenheim, the old twn Casco Vieja and the modern shops. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was a great hotel in a great location with friendly staff. When we arrived the front desk staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and well kept. We had everything we needed. I found the room wasn't heated very well and was cold at night. My friend's room didn't have the same problem so it may have just been my room. The hotel is very quaint and worked well for our stay. I would recommend this hotels to my friends. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but wasn't bad either. It could be a bit softer and have more blankets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed one night, staff supplied maps and gave advice on the surrounding areas. Rooms and facilities were great. Car parking is expensive, I used a local car park and saved 28%.
Great location, easy walk to the Guggenheim Museum.

Room Tip: Rooms are Super
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel has a great location but unfortunately this is its only positive attribute. Most staff were unprofessional - it began with the concierge looking through the front door with no attempt to help with luggage. Our room was not ready on arrival so following a brief walk around a very beautiful city we sat in the inner lounge to wait; positioning ourselves in full view of reception. There was no attempt to communicate with us that the room was ready. I had to approach the desk to check yet there were reception and concierge staff standing around have a chat for much of our waiting time. The restaurant was very quiet and I can understand why considering the rather poor quality and EXTREMELY SALTY food and two staff who battled to provide the basic of service. Our room was large BUT EXTREMELY NOISY - We could tell what the next room guests were doing when they went to the bathroom and toilet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Got a very special rate on their website and so cannot complain about the price. However, should we have paid full price I would have been disappointed with the room and certainly was diappointed with some of the staff members came in contact with. The reception area is very impressive, lovely relaxing colours, lots of space and furniture and decor. The location is right bang in the middle of Bilbao, right beside the metro station and bus to Bilbao airport. I was struck by how clinical the female receptionist was when we checked in. It was almost as if she knew we had got a cheap deal and didnt warrant any special attention. The usual information given when checking in to hotels was not given (breakfast times, place etc). Without prompting she did ask if we needed the wifi code but that was it. The bedroom on 4th floor was very large and the airconditioning system good (needed as it was 30degrees yesterday 5th October). Bathroom very disappointing, old well used bath and underpowered shower. Flooring looked worse for wear, although the towels were very good quality as were the toiletries. Even though we overlooked a very busy street there was no evidence of noise during the night. There was a lack of atmosphere in the common areas downstairs. We used the American bar for the express breakfast, good value at 4euro each. We were the only people there and the waiter was not very friendly even though he had nothing else to do for the hour that we sat there. (Looked out the window).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Centre
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here unfortunately only for one night recently. the hotel is beautiful, was really pleased we chose it. The rooms were very large, ours overlooked another building facing nearby, didn't unfortunately come with a balcony like some. Rates were excellent, have never stayed in a 5* with such competitive rates. Staff were all lovely and very helpful too. Our only regret was we didn't have longer here. Old town is just under a ten minute walk from the hotel, but plenty of high street fashion shops nearby. We stayed here on a Sat night and it was a little loud outside with revellers etc. but no fault of the hotel's. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1926, the Hotel Carlton is one of the landmark buildings and the most majestic hotel in Bilbao. Declared an Architectural, Artistic, Historical and Cultural Monument, over its history the building has witnessed important social and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.