We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a girlfriend on a weekend break. We chose it because it looked more traditional than the Melia, and I'm glad we did. It felt very old fashioned but expensive (we only paid £100 a night). Our room was huge, well decorated and had two large single beds. The bathroom was also big with a bath/shower, separate toilet and 2 sinks. They provided bathrobes when I asked. The reception staff we're helpful and very polite. Breakfast was a bit pricey at €20 but you could have anything you wanted. They made me a great omelette. The only think missing for me was a bit of atmosphere and a god bar. The bar was soulless. It's in a great location for the Guggenheim, the old twn Casco Vieja and the modern shops. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    141
    59
    15
    7
See reviews for
47
180
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was a great hotel in a great location with friendly staff. When we arrived the front desk staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and well kept. We had everything we needed. I found the room wasn't heated very well and was cold at night. My friend's room didn't have the same problem so it may have just been my room. The hotel is very quaint and worked well for our stay. I would recommend this hotels to my friends. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but wasn't bad either. It could be a bit softer and have more blankets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed one night, staff supplied maps and gave advice on the surrounding areas. Rooms and facilities were great. Car parking is expensive, I used a local car park and saved 28%.
Great location, easy walk to the Guggenheim Museum.

Room Tip: Rooms are Super
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel has a great location but unfortunately this is its only positive attribute. Most staff were unprofessional - it began with the concierge looking through the front door with no attempt to help with luggage. Our room was not ready on arrival so following a brief walk around a very beautiful city we sat in the inner lounge to wait; positioning ourselves in full view of reception. There was no attempt to communicate with us that the room was ready. I had to approach the desk to check yet there were reception and concierge staff standing around have a chat for much of our waiting time. The restaurant was very quiet and I can understand why considering the rather poor quality and EXTREMELY SALTY food and two staff who battled to provide the basic of service. Our room was large BUT EXTREMELY NOISY - We could tell what the next room guests were doing when they went to the bathroom and toilet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Got a very special rate on their website and so cannot complain about the price. However, should we have paid full price I would have been disappointed with the room and certainly was diappointed with some of the staff members came in contact with. The reception area is very impressive, lovely relaxing colours, lots of space and furniture and decor. The location is right bang in the middle of Bilbao, right beside the metro station and bus to Bilbao airport. I was struck by how clinical the female receptionist was when we checked in. It was almost as if she knew we had got a cheap deal and didnt warrant any special attention. The usual information given when checking in to hotels was not given (breakfast times, place etc). Without prompting she did ask if we needed the wifi code but that was it. The bedroom on 4th floor was very large and the airconditioning system good (needed as it was 30degrees yesterday 5th October). Bathroom very disappointing, old well used bath and underpowered shower. Flooring looked worse for wear, although the towels were very good quality as were the toiletries. Even though we overlooked a very busy street there was no evidence of noise during the night. There was a lack of atmosphere in the common areas downstairs. We used the American bar for the express breakfast, good value at 4euro each. We were the only people there and the waiter was not very friendly even though he had nothing else to do for the hour that we sat there. (Looked out the window).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Centre
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here unfortunately only for one night recently. the hotel is beautiful, was really pleased we chose it. The rooms were very large, ours overlooked another building facing nearby, didn't unfortunately come with a balcony like some. Rates were excellent, have never stayed in a 5* with such competitive rates. Staff were all lovely and very helpful too. Our only regret was we didn't have longer here. Old town is just under a ten minute walk from the hotel, but plenty of high street fashion shops nearby. We stayed here on a Sat night and it was a little loud outside with revellers etc. but no fault of the hotel's. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel Carlton is located perfectly. Right off the Gran via , so very close to shops and all major attractions. I would stay there again for the location alone however with a few conditions. I would ask for a room in a higher floor than the 2nd floor. I found that at about 3:00 in the morning every night we stayed there i was awoken by noise of revellers coming back from pubs and clubs. So if you like your sleep i'd ask for a higher up floor.
Also i think it would be useful to ask if there was a wedding or any other event scehduled for the time you were there. We didn't and were shocked to find the hotel overrun by a wedding when we came home on the saturday afternoon. We could hardly get into the hotel as the outside of it was packed with revellers smoking and talking. Music blared and you could hear the speaches from the wedding all over the hotel , it was as if they were having the party in the room next door.Not very 5 Stars ! The noise died down in the late afternon but when we came back from dinner that night , at around 11:00 it had kicked off again and was in full swing. It was like staying over a nightclub. We complained but were told it would stop soon , it didnt stop until around 2:00 in the morning. We asked for another room but were told the hotel was full and they only had single rooms available ! The hotel staff on reception were not very helpful or apologetic.

The hotel rooms themselves are large and spacious , and very clean .The bed was a little lumpy and uncomfortable. But everything else was fine. The gym was small but a nice addition to the hotel , however i woud never class this hotel as a 5 Star Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: Plaza de Federico Moyua 2, 48009 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1926, the Hotel Carlton is one of the landmark buildings and the most majestic hotel in Bilbao. Declared an Architectural, Artistic, Historical and Cultural Monument, over its history the building has witnessed important social and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.