We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming refuge...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iturrienea Ostatua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Iturrienea Ostatua to your Saves list
Iturrienea Ostatua
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Calle Santa Maria 14, 1ero | Calle Santa Maria 14, 48005 Bilbao, Spain (Bilbo Zaharra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Bilbao B&B and Inns
Cornwall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A charming refuge...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This place is perfectly sited - in the Casco Viejo, close to all the best bars and restaurants (and 15-min walk from the Guggenheim), yet well insulated from the night-time madness in the street outside. If you arrive by car as we did, you can stash it in the underground car park on the Calle Viuda de Eplaza, a 10-minute level walk away - 20-odd Euros for 3 days, which seemed reasonable. The hotel itself was a lot of fun, as other reviewers have described - full of strange antiques, old furniture and bits and pieces, very stylish. Room, bed and bathroom were comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful, with varying degrees of English. Breakfast was basic, but I don't see any point in moaning about it - you don't have to pay for it if you don't like it, and there are plenty of alternatives outside. There's free wi-fi, but it's pretty patchy and it would be unwise to depend on it. There's excellent free public wi-fi on Plaza Nueva 5 mins away - and you can fill your boots on tapas at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erfurt, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The b&b is in a perfect location, you can easily reach almost all the services, tram, metro, shops. Very clean rooms and comfortable, our room had a balcony overlooking the pedestrian area, so we had chance to enjoy the absence of cars! Very friendly staff and helpful, if you need to find anything they will help you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I have never written a poor review before and am normally delighted with the accomodation that we have chosen. Our night in this hotel in the old town of Bilbao proved however to be very disappointing.

Pluses: The location of the Iturrienea Ostatua is excellent and we found it very quiet - perhaps not surprising for a Sunday night in October. We did enjoy a good night's sleep and the beds were comfortable.

Minuses: We were perhaps unlucky in that the heating system failed to work on the night we were there. The weather was cold and damp and so the whole place was cheerless as a result. We were told that this was a temporary state of affairs but it did not help. Quite apart from this however, our stay proved to be disappointing.

The breakfast was very limited - one piece of bread not very fresh - and some prewrapped cake with very indifferent coffee. No juice or any of the delights mentioned in earlier reviews.
The decor was charmingly quirky and maybe was delightful a couple of years ago. It is now however somewhat tired and the light in our bedroom (No 8) was dingy and hard to read by. More importantly, our bathroom was not very clean. It had a bath rather than a shower. We are not fussy which we have. When my husband tried to have a bath however, he could not find a plug. He was told that this was because baths took up too much water and therefore were not allowed! Both bath and basin and floor were characterised by the presence of long thick black hairs which, as both of us are fair, was rather a turn off.

So... disappointing and limited breakfast.
tired decor with non functional bathroom festooned with thick black hairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

You''ll fine much better in Bilbao - stay away from this place.

Couldn't get through as the phone was engaged for several hours. Eventually turned up - the place was a mess.

Very small room, old beds, worn out bed clothes, leaking shower, fan broken in bathroom, dirty & mouldy tile, dirty walls. The place looked like it needed a coat of paint and a good clean.

We didn't like the room but paid E3.50 for breakfast so were looking forward to a nice start to the day. Breakfast was ... a drink and bread - nothing more.


You can pay less money to get far better accomadation.

Find a nice hotel with good service and a decent breakfast - don't waste your money at this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Nice place with some unusual interior decoration (perhaps best described as fantasy folklore style ). We only stayed for one night, arrived late and left early but our overall impression was very positive. Helpful staff and nice clean room with a private bathroom. Breakfast was included in the moderate price. We were looking for a nice, moderately priced hostel in a good location. The Iturrienea Ostatua fit that bill perfectly! Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The B&B is in a great location, easily accessible from the metro or tram and has many bars, shops and restaurants on the doorstep. The staff were friendly, our room was very large with a beautiful old window and shutters, and a lovely balcony overlooking the street. It was not noisy at nighttime. The bed was large and very comfortable and the bathroom very clean and spacious. It is not full of mod cons but if you like somewhere old fashioned and charming that is clean and comfortable it's great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerth, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This B&B is very good value right in the centre of Bilbao. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the service very friendly. Breakfast was typically Spanish and very tasty (good coffee and bread, sponge cakes and jam). The hotel is in the pedestrian area right in the centre of the old town (thence only 4 stars for sleep quality). If you don't want to go to bed after midnight then it's a bit loud because of all the bars nearby. We had lovely warm weather while we were there and our landlady offered us towels to take to the beach. The Guggenheim is well within pleasant walking distance along the river bank.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iturrienea Ostatua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iturrienea Ostatua

Address: Calle Santa Maria 14, 1ero | Calle Santa Maria 14, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iturrienea Ostatua 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmful, every room is decorated with items, fabrics and handmade crafts that go along with the original and peculiar style of this place, obtaining a warm an cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Iturrienea Ostatua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iturrienea Ostatua Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iturrienea Ostatua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.