We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sercotel Gran Bilbao

Save Saved
You added Sercotel Gran Bilbao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sercotel Gran Bilbao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Indalecio Prieto, 1, 48004 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 hotels in Bilbao
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After 10 hours on the road, this hotel was a very welcome surprise. At just €60 for a large triple room and another €12 for secure underground parking, we felt this was good value for a vibrant city. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and did their best to accommodate our requests. The hotel is generally very stylish and had a warm, welcoming feel.

The room was spacious, with comfortable beds and clean, modern decor. Free Wifi was a nice bonus. As others have mentioned, the bus to the town goes from right outside the hotel (numbers 40 and 77) for just €1.25, or approx 15-20 minute walk. Guggenheim museum is approx 30-35 min walk, or a approx €10 taxi ride.

Although the hotel's restaurant has been described as a "works canteen" (which I wouldn't disagree on), this didn't really bother us. However, we were disappointed that our main meal arrived 10 minutes apart (for just two people) and the one that arrived last was not quite what had been ordered. So this was a bit on the sloppy side and didn't make for a relaxing meal.

We'd be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the main road, which means a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    142
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
125
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice, high-quality environment, quiet with a friendly service. Room cleaning could be a bit better. Especially I liked the reception area, which was in keeping with Bilbao's modernist aspirations. My room was a bit hot but this was easily resolved by keeping the window open. Breakfast was abundant but typically Spanish: not really many healthy options. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Gran BIlbao finds itself on the outskirts of Bilbao. Some 15 minutes walk to the centre of the old town, but the good thing is, it has a busstop in front of the Hotel which crosses Bilbao and makes it possible to visit nearly all the sites for only 1,22 euro p/p.
Free wifi , but not ideal for the internet hungry. Poor connection quality in the room, but excellent in the lobby. Clean room and friendly people at the reception. All in all i can recommend this hotel which charged us 115 euro for 2 nights /room only.

Room Tip: If you want aquiet night ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed here previously and re-booked remembering the experience. If anything it was better this time. We had a lovely room on the 8th floor and it lacked nothing. We had the Buffet in the evening which was good value for money but a bit of a 'bun' fight as there were coach trips staying over. The service was good, the standard was excellent and it was good value for money.Secure parking is always a bonus. Will stop over yet again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice, clean, sharply run hotel. Excellent, large room. Poor access (as ever, in Spain) by ramp to U/g car-park, which cost an extra EUR12. Charge for carparking is excesive. However, there's very little street parking available locally. Bilbao is a very 'hilly' city and this hotel, although pretty close to the shopping centre is a steep clim back! Overall, a good hotel and worth a re-visit. Bilbao as a city is well worth a visit for a couple of days. Charming shops, streets and people abound!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had booked this hotel after reading a number of positive reviews, plus it suited my travel plans following an overnight ferry crossing from the UK that was scheduled to arrive in the evening.

Whilst the room was reasonably comfortable (bedwise), it was very sparse. The bathroom was large but unventilated and frankly a little depressing.

Tried dinner in the restaurant, but after 2 attempts by the cook (I think the term 'chef' would be an inaccurate description) to prepare a medium steak, I gave up. Restaurant staff were unhelpful and arrogant. Restaurant atmosphere was too noisy, with the adjouning buffet area making the whole area like a works canteen. Left restaurant having eaten less than 2 mouthfuls of a very unpleasant steak. No offer of a refund or reduction when I complained.

Very noisy hotel with doors continually banging and some road noise. After a sleepless night, my early start the following morning (0700) meant no breakfast (which didn't start until 0800 in the works canteen).

All in all, the 86 euro's for the stay, plus the poor excuse of a meal in the 'restaurant' (at 24 euro's) worked out at a very disappointing and expensive experience. In this respect, I was glad my return ferry crossing was cancelled and I had to drive up through France to get home. This meant I was able to cancel my return leg stay in this excuse for a hotel.

On the plus side, the secure parking for my car was as promised, but charged at 12 euro's. Whilst I appreciate I was only using the hotel as a stop off as part of my journey, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. If that is a 4 star hotel, I'd rather stop in a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here in July overnight while touring around Spain. Hotel was very clean and modern. We had a massive bedroom separated into two parts for us and the kids. Beds were extremely comfortable memory foam mattresses. Bathtroom very modern and clean. Parking underground at hotel reasonable price for city. Walked into town centre approx 10 minutes. would recomend this hotel good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the river, quieter than those facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sercotel Gran Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Gran Bilbao

Address: Avenida Indalecio Prieto, 1, 48004 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#9 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Gran Bilbao 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sercotel Gran Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Gran Bilbao Hotel Bilbao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sercotel Gran Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.