We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, new, very good condition, nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castro Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castro Real to your Saves list
Hotel Castro Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bermudez de Castro, 82, 33011 Oviedo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Oviedo
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, new, very good condition, nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The rooms are in an excellent condition, everything's new and very clean. The beds are very comfortable and the atmosphere is silent so the quality of your resting is going to be great.
It's bit far from the city centre but still you can get there walking easily (30 minutes max.).
The price is reasonable for the quality they offer.
It's a very nice hotel and among all the ones I know in the city is probably my favourite for that money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Hotel was modern and clean, and did an good breakfast. We'd lost the map of how to get there, so navigated via signposts to the St Julian de los Prados church, which is supposed to be a few meters away. The 16 year old & I got out of the car to find the hotel - that took about half an hour, as people understood our Spanish question, but we didn't really understand the answers. When we did find the hotel, it took us a fast 15 minute jog to get back St Julian - hardly "a few meters". The hotel is on a road that was socially very mixed - not many tourists there, though you could see Oviedo Catherdral in the distance. Walking into town wouldn't have been great as I think it would have involved a dual carriageway - though there may be a better walking route - we got a taxi at only 5 euros. The receptionist was very helpful and printed out a map of our next destination for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

It’s a rather modern hotel. The room is well decorated and clean. The bathroom is especially spacious and clean. Good shower.
The location: the hotel is not in the centre – takes us about 15-20 minutes to walk from the hotel to the Cathedral in the centre. The advantage of this hotel for us is it offers an onsite parking place at Euro 7/day. They’ll give you a card to enter an underground garage which is connected to the hotel lobby. Parking is such a headache in the town centre, even with parking lots.
There’s a supermarket 5-min walk away, and there are quite a few places to eat and drink nearby. Quite convenient.
The staff is quite helpful in terms of providing info of sightseeing etc.
We stayed for one night here and it was a nice experience.

  • Liked — Modern and clean. In a quiet area.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

My husband and my parents stayed at the Hotel Castro Real for 2 nights, and really enjoyed our stay. It exemplified the hospitality we saw everywhere in Oviedo. We drove into town from Madrid, and immediately became lost (rainy day, bad map, lousy navigation, etc). When we stopped at a cafe to ask directions, one of the workers (or customers) literally got in his car and led us to the front door of the hotel! When we entered, the staff was very patient with our frazzled selves, and got us parked and in into our rooms. The rooms were small but nicely designed- it's a very modern hotel, and tasteful. The staff gave us a great recommendation for lunch, and gave us directions on getting downtown. The hotel is a an easy 15-20 minute walk from downtown, and the way is lined with restaurants, pastelerias and bars. When we embarked on a day trip into rural Asturias, the staff printed out a google map for us.

Breakfast was very good, with strong coffee. You can easily go out and get good breakfast as well, but the staff was so sweet, they made it easier to stay in. Oh, and the street is very quiet, so we slept like logs. No earplugs needed.

We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The rooms, staff
  • Disliked — could have been a better location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castro Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castro Real

Address: C/ Bermudez de Castro, 82, 33011 Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castro Real 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castro Real is situated just 15 minutes’ walk from the historic centre of Oviedo. It offers modern accommodation with free internet connection.All rooms at Hotel Castro Real feature a smart décor with parquet floors and contemporary furnishings. Each includes a flat-screen TV, mini bar and private bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries.Private parking is also available at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castro Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castro Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.