We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget place to stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ovetense

Hotel Ovetense
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Ovetense to your Saves list
Hotel Ovetense
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Juan 6, 33003 Oviedo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Oviedo
Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Budget place to stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

It was cheap, we were only staying one night and due to it´s very central location decided to stay here. The first room we were in stank of the sewage pipes and requested another room which was given but much smaller. Never mind, at 45 euros for the night for two we went out for cider. The bar downstairs was closed nor did we have breakfast. It´s a budget hotel but in a great location, however I´ll pay a few euros more next time and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The ones that end in 5 seem the smallest at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The location of the hotel is its strong point. The rooms were small and warm in the hot weather, mine did not have an air conditioner. A fairly basic hotel but the price was reasonable and the room was clean. The staff were very pleasant and most helpful when I asked for some help in organising my trip details. All in all a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room at the rear of the building, the restaurant at the front tends to be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Pros:
The location is excellent, right off the Cathedral. The cidery downstairs is very pleasant--we had a great dinner there. Despite how popular it seems to be, we didn't hear much noise (our room faced the back, which may be why). Very clean facilities.

Cons:
Really a small bedroom and bath. There was enough for us and our overstuffed backpacks, but anyone with real luggage would have difficulty. In addition, the room was really, really stuffy and over-warm (again, maybe because we faced the back courtyard? maybe rooms facing the front get better ventilation?).

Overall:
While this place had some definite merits, I think we'll look for somewhere else next time if we return to Oviedo. Asturias may not be an especially warm part of Spain, but after two seriously uncomfortable nights, I'll pay extra for air conditioning. And just a little more space would be nice, too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I can't believe this hotel hasn't gotten more reviews. It is in the smack center of Oviedo literally around the corner from the main plaza and cathedral. I was on the second floor and due to a very popular restaurant on the ground floor it was a bit loud. I don't personally mind this because I am a deep sleeper and, well, I'm from NYC and I'm use to noise but other people use to peace and quiet while they sleep may not necessarily find this easy to ignore. However, for the price I think I paid 40 euros, the location (walkable from both bus and train station and from main street Calle de Uria where most buses pass) you get a nice room with a small TV, a nice, clean bathroom, and friendly employees who try and go out of their wy to assist you even though they sometimes attend the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

A very basic, but solid hotel in an excellent location in the heart of the old city. A view of the cathedral from the back bedroom was fantastic and it's just minutes from the San Francisco Park and Campoamor Theatre.
Service from the reception and restaurant staff were excellent. The room was clean and comfortable; however the bathroom occasionally smelled of sewer. The food in the hotel restaurant on the second floor was very good and very inexpensive. The bar on the ground floor which shares the same kitchen, is always packed with plenty of locals and is open late (not so great if your bedroom is located above it).
There is a lift and free Wi-Fi, but connectivity on the upper floors is intermittent at best. The staff were extremely helpful in providing tourist information and recommendations.
Overall, our stay was very pleasant...so much in fact we stayed an extra unplanned night. Oviedo is an unbelievably charming city and the Ovetense played a large part in providing a safe and clean suite to put our feet up in after a long day of exploring.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

I stayed here for four weeks in Jan/Feb of 2009 and the Ovetense was the perfect hotel for my stay. Unbelievably friendly staff who go out of their way to help you with anything you need, GREAT location in the middle of the old city just off the Cathedral Plaza and the rooms are lovely too - cleaned very well, every day, have TV and are nice and warm (quite important in Northern Spain during winter). The hotel's bar is one of the most popular in Oviedo, but the crowd are lovely, a bunch of old locals who play cards or sing traditional songs... if they're coming to the bar it can't be a bad place.

Food is great too - a real mix of stuff which is all well prepared.

All in all, stay here if you're making a stop-off in Oviedo, it's excellent value for money and you'll get looked after!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ovetense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ovetense

Address: Calle San Juan 6, 33003 Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ovetense 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ovetense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ovetense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.