We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vetusta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vetusta to your Saves list
Hotel Vetusta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Covadonga, 2, 33002 Oviedo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Oviedo
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel was the most expensive hotel we stayed in, yet it was still much less than other similar hotels in other parts of Spain and in the U.S. We got in very late and received great service from the girl working the front desk. She took the time to talk to us about the area and even made us a couple sandwiches. Our rooms were quite large and were comfortable and clean. We didn't include breakfast when we booked the room, but for a surprising 2.10 Euros, we each had juice, coffee, and large pieces of toast that was plenty to get the day started. The hotel is within walking distance to the train station and the historic city center. We didn't have a lot of time in Oviedo, and some day I'd love to return and I'd definitely stay at his hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
53
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We normally book a family room in a chain hotel but came across Hotel Vetusta and decided to give it a chance and were glad we did.

The best things about the hotel are; the location right beside the old town, the staff, informal not all officious but all very charming. The little bar area which doubles as a breakfast area with cake, coffee, hot chocolate and snacks fresh squeezed orange juice, which was included in our room price. Our room at the front of the hotel on the second floor was big enough for a very comfortable double bed (best mattress and pillows ever) with two fold downs for our girls. Spacious bathroom with an excellent shower.

It became clear that the chain hotels that all wanted 100Euros more (3 nights) for breakfast were really chancing their arm because you could get a decent breakfast for under 5 euro in any of the café's so if you do book the Tryp or AC hotel don't pay the extra for the breakfast.

We booked directly with the hotel which was by far the cheapest way of doing it although you do need someone who can do this in Spanish!

Down side you are in the town so it can suffer from traffic noise although this didn't interfere with our stay as we were all exhausted having walked around the lovely old town or explored the shops.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Front generally ending with a 2 302, 202 are the biggest but do overlook a busy roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose this hotel as a result of the good reviews from Tripadvisor. What a mistake.
The very small room had a cupboard which had coat hangers but no shelves (see photograph) or indeed a drawer anywhere in the room to put your clothes! Never seen that before. Same in the bathroom - no shelf for soap within the shower cabin (see photograph). The toilet lid also did not open fully so we woke up in the middle of the night from it closing abruptly. Outside you could hear the frequent bells from the church as well as other noises and no attempt has been made to make the rooms a bit more noise proof. The room we were in 403 had a strange roof beam that we both banged our heads badly against on separate occasions (see photograph)
The staff was also nosy. We had handed in our pasports and immediately when we came to pick them up, a romanian lady working there started to make comments about where we were from, albeit friendly but I prefer staff with access to your personal details to be more discret with information given to them in confidence. She also recommended a restaurant which I know not to be good. Had breakfast here once, but there are better cafeterias in this area.
We have been to Oviedo many times and I know the quality to expect. This is not it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

There is nothing particularly exciting or memorable about this simple, well located and functional hotel, but it makes a useful and not too expensive base for visiting Oviedo. It is a stone's throw away from the old quarter, and right on the pedestrianised precincts of the new centre. The reception was very friendly, the room was understandably noisy, being on a busy traffic intersection, but double-glazed, and the bed was new and extremely comfortable. The cafe on the ground floor was a pleasant place to take a coffee and pastry in the morning. Car parking (slightly discounted for guests) is available at an underground car park just across the street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great location. Friendly staff. Relaxed informal breakfast available in bar. Room 302 on third floor very comfortable and had great aspect with windows on two sides. Public parking close at hand. Remember to get ticket stamped by hotel for discount.

Room Tip: Room 302 - spacious and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vetusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vetusta

Address: Calle Covadonga, 2, 33002 Oviedo, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vetusta 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vetusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vetusta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.