We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Center of Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista to your Saves list
Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gil de Jaz 16, 33004 Oviedo, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Oviedo
San Isidro, Argentina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“In the Center of Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely old building in the middle of town, very well looked after
Near the Old city, walking distance to the Cathedral and the plaza with its market
Nice rooms, quiet and comfortable, we had dinner a couple of away, tapas and good wine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    81
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
45
114
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel extensively and Melia Reconquista rates in the top 3 hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at.

Three issues bothered me on check-in. I spoke to the duty manager (Antonio) who immediately addressed them. One of the issues was that we had booked a room with a Queen bed and at check-in were given a room with two single beds. Antonio apologised and upgraded us to a superior room overlooking the central court yard with our own private patio/terrace.

My birthday was two days later and the Director of the hotel sent me a complementary bottle of the sparkling cider that the region of Asturias is famous for with birthday greetings on behalf of himself and his staff.

It is a beautifully hotel which is only four floors high with a massive central courtyard. It is built on the site of an ancient monastery. The beautiful lobby adds to the charm and unhurried atmosphere of the property.

There are great cafes and restaurants all around the hotel which serve exceptional food. Given the very high hotel food prices I would recommend eating all meals outside the hotel. There are two lovely breakfast spots across the road just to the left as well as just to the right. On the left is also a fabulous patisserie.

The hotel is a three minute walk from the central business district as well as the beautiful park in the center of Oviedo and a 15 minute walk from the historic part of Oviedo.

As the hotel is just 30 meters from police headquarters the police communications signals affect the wifi connection in the room. This should be remedied and the awkward wifi interface can also be improved.

Except for the hotel staff no one in Oviedo seems to speak English - not even at the wonderful department store "la cote ingles" !!!

Oviedo is a lovely little city fully worth a two day visit. A 20 minute drive to have dinner in a Sidrerai (Cider House) on the waterfront in the port town of Gijon is highly recommended.

Viresh Fernando
Toronto, Canada
viresh@vireshlaw.com

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room - around the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

First: we visited about 10 cities of different sizes on the north of Spain and I must say Oviedo did not meet my expectations. It doesn't have the charm that other places (even smaller) have. The city center is not interesting at all; we arrived on a Friday and the city (and the area where all the bars and restaurants are) looked like the siesta time, except that is was 9pm. BORING, BORING, BORING....
Now for the hotel:
Pros:
- nice exterior and building
Cons:
- most expensive parking we had in a hotel. It was €23 for the day.
- the location is not as it looks on the Internet. It takes about 15-20 minutes walking to go to the bars and the old city "Casco antiguo". Please note we are fit and walked fast.
-the rooms, bathrooms and corridors need major remodelation!! Carpets in the rooms are old, dirty and stained.
- mattress was very soft and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Perfect location, not far away from the historic zone. Our room was excelent. The interior decoration is very nice. Unfortunately there was no entertainment, at night. The breakfast, although being good, is overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The rooms and location are excellent. However, all it needs for a perfect summer vacation is an outdoor pool. Unfortunately the "evening" restaurant is moved from its usual location to the basement for the months of July and August. Consequently an evening walk to a local restaurant is recommended. The breakfast is expensive but the best in Oviedo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

we had complaint about very bad service during extremely noisy wedding night till 5 o,clock in the morning we had no sleep ,director of hotel 1st gave me full discount and after he charged me 50% without sending me message or email no discussion possible with him,also very poor check in no service th vr

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirección G, Director General at Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
About your complaint, as I told you by phone and mail, we've made you a 50% of discount, but never said anything about a free room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Probably the nicest hotel in town. Historic property close to all you might want to see in Oviedo. The overpriced breakfast had us dine across the street in the morning. Comfortable room and helpful staff are aplud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirección G, Director General at Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
On behalf of the staff and myself, thank for your stay in our hotel and the comments about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista

Address: Gil de Jaz 16, 33004 Oviedo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Asturias > Oviedo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oviedo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oviedo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel de La Reconquista is, quite possibly, one of Spain's most characterful hotels. Tradition, luxury, nobility and 300 years of history have transformed it into an international symbol of Asturias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Reconquista Oviedo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Hotel de la Reconquista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.