We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit - trendy hip place. Foot mostly fried foods” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Astur

Tierra Astur
C/ Gascona 1, 33001 Oviedo (Asturias) Oviedo, Spain
985202502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 467 Restaurants in Oviedo
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hoy popularmente reconocida como "Bulevar de la Sidra" por la cantidad y calidad de los establecimientos sidreros que alli se aglutinan, es el escenario adecuado para una sidreria como Tierra Astur Gascona, donde todas las noches parecen noches de "fin de semana".El dinamismo de nuestro establecimiento y la simpatia que emana de todos y cada uno de nuestros "culetes" de sidra, escanciados con gran esmero y profesionalidad por nuestro personal, son buena muestra de ello.Disponemos de una excelente terraza climatizada, asi como de tienda de productos asturianos.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - trendy hip place. Foot mostly fried foods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good point: Trendy looking place. The menu looks inviiting. Staff friendly. on main streeet with other eateries.

We wanted to try a selection of foods. However, when we sat in the restaurant, we could not order the smaller portions of food. You can only eat standing up at the bar if you want small portions. We wanted a variety of small dishes to pick and choose. It was not very comfortable, to eat standing up. No place to hang a coat. I could not keep my bag on the floor, as it was wet with the local cider (which the waiters pour from a great height into your glass).

I personally did not like the Spanish Cider, which has a very different taste. I prefer English cider.

The food was mostly fried... not very healthy. The presentation is superb.

If you are a vegetarian, they have a grilled vegable dish at 20 euros, but you need a minimum of 2 people to order. It is funny, vegetables cost more then the meat!. I was craving for vegetables, as I had not eaten much vegetables since arriving in Spain. Most of the menu in Spain is just meat, with little vegetables. In Britain, the government recommend you eat 5 portion of fruit or vegtable a day.

I would visit this place...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraAstur_1, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Astur, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear costumer,

We love to hear that we met your expectations. Thank you very much for your comments.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    315
    151
    38
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Modern yet rustic restaurant bar and shop offering fine Asturian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This excellent local lies at the top of Calle Gascona, a heart of Oviedo nightlife. At first sight it appears to be a small windowed restaurant overlooking the street, but dive through the door and a vast, barrel-like lower level opens up, its bar busy with locals, a shop offering all kinds of Asturian food and drink, and a welcoming array of wooden tables and chairs on a sawdust strewn floor, ready to soak up the inevitable spillage of falling cider. The kids lapped up our special request of a simple tuna and tomato salad, as well as softly fried calamares and delicious maize tortillas.
A nice family touch was the offer of an attractive colouring set of rural scenes and pencils, which small children will love. For an informal lunch or dinner of local dishes at a good value price, well worth a visit, and recommended to us by more than one local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Eat a lot of typical asturian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The amount of food was huge. It wasn´t really expensive, and we ate many different meals. After eating here we couldn´t eat more for the rest of the day. We went 5 people and we didnt pay more than 60 euros for varios bottles of sidra, and two plates each!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to try the local foods and wines of the area. Loads of cheese and meats. The best bit though is the spectacle of cider pouring from over the head to glass without looking at the glass. Strange? Yes but entertaining to watch who spills the most. Tapas is good and the atmosphere at the bar was enjoyable. You can have a sit down meal here but for me that's not what this places about. There are loads of restaurants so use this as a tapas starter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful culinary experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ate a delicious Asturian lunch at Tierra Astur. We stared with an assortment of local cheeses. These were delectable! They ran the gamut from mild to pungent, creamy to crumbly. We shared a beef dish which was served on a sizzling plate. The beef was AMAZING! We seldom order beef when traveling in Europe, but our waiter recommended it and we were not disappointed! It was seasoned only with coarse salt, but it didn't need any other spices. When we asked where the beef came from, he told us they buy calves from Canada and raise them in Asturias. We had cider with lunch. Watching the waiters serve cider is fun. They show you how to drink it as well. Just watch the locals. Although this lunch was expensive, it was worth it. There is a shop at the front of the restaurant where they sell their locally produced goods and some touristy items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra Astur also viewed

 

Been to Tierra Astur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Astur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.