We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abba Playa Gijon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abba Playa Gijon to your Saves list
Abba Playa Gijon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo del Doctor Fleming 37, 33203 Gijon, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Gijon
Guernsey Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very nice modern hotel located just yards from the beach and promenade
Food and beverages were expensive
staff friendly and helpfull and a great asset to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
I really appreciate your comments about your stay at the hotel, thanks to your messages every day trying to improve our services to provide excellent treatment to our clients. hope to see you again soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
75
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel is close to the beach and has all amenities ranging from parking to restaurants to free wi-fi

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
It´s a pleasure to read your message and we are very glad of you for let me know how was the stay with us in the Abba Playa GIjon Hotel. We hope see you again soon,
Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on business in this bright and modern 4 star hotel. The staff were friendly and wellcoming. The room was conventional for a modern city hotel, clean and comfortable.

Excellent hot and cold breakfast buffet.

The hotel was within easy walk of numerous restaurants and bars slong the promenade surounding the beach. Enjoy the wonderful seafood and the cider!

The hotel is clad in smoked glass and becomes almost invisible late at night save for the logo which appears to hang in the sky - interesting when you walk back in the early hours after a cider or 3!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We have just returned from a nine day stay at this amazing hotel. What made it amazing was undoubtedly the staff.
The entire staff of the hotel worked as a team and without exception were a credit to the Abba chain. Special thanks to Marina for organising our revised flight home after we were to be stranded due to the industrial action that crippled Spain and Europe on the 29th September. Thanks also to the housekeeping staff who ensured that our room was kept spotless.
Cleanliness is a trademark of life in Spain which we have never encountered anywhere else in our travels to such a high degree. The Spanish people are a delight and so friendly even when we speak so little Spanish.

The Abba Playa is situated opposite the gorgeous San Lorenzo beach with a busy road in between although this hardly mattered. We didn't have any transport as the plan was to have a car free holiday for a change. There were many walks from the hotel and one day we walked to the Botanic Gardens and even popped into the University to look at the wonderful architecture. If you stay at the AP you will enjoy the park which is across the road.

Our room was small but scrupulously clean and with plenty of hanging space. No coffee making facilities but this is usual on the continent. The bathroom was large and the shower excellent. An inroom safe was appreciated.

Negatives? I am hard pushed to find any although sorry that the hotel does not hire bikes. It was a trek to hire one so a closer source of bikes would have been appreciated. Motor cycles were available but not the simple bike!! Also the pool was closed despite being advertised as being open in September.

VERY disappointed at the Bellavista restaurant. We did try to translate the menu but needed help and the waiter made obvious his distain to our poor Spanish. We were irritated at his unhelpfulness and snobbishness so thought they obviously didn't need our custom so left the restaurant. Hopefully we make visitors to England more valued than we were made to feel at the Bellavista!!

Do eat at the Plaza Mayor restaurants as you will get excellent value for money at the restaurants and such historic surroundings.

We have now explored the coastline from San Sebastian to Gijon to the Picos Mountains plus an innumerate amount of towns inbetween and can say that Asturian and Cantabrian areas are well worth a consideration for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

The wedding reception we attended was at the excellent BELLAVISTA resturaunt about a five min walk away if you want food the Bellavisa is better than the ABBA .Otherwise the hotel was spotless the staff most friendly albeit a wee bit hesitant at English as most of Gijon seemed to be. The front bedroom was great super view over beach not we found very noisy. We looked at the other hotels in town and thought our choice was right thanks to Tripadvisor reviews but would probably consider the Parador next time .

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

I've stayed here twice for business, both for extended periods of time, and found it a fitting location from which to explore Gijon and the surrounding area. Nearby park is very nice.

Rooms are Euro-small but modern and well-designed. Though rooms on the beach side have a nice view, they are also a bit noisier due to traffic (i am extremely sensitive to noise - it's probalby not much noise in reality) When i was there they were still working on parts fo the hotel (restaurant, etc.) but i managed to find the roof for a great view of the city and the beach. A great location for phone calls back home!

Room service was very good and rapid. Breakfast very nice. My tab was paid for by others so i have no idea if it were free or not. Perhaps it was my lack of Spanish ( i try, really!) but i found the staff a bit officious and lacking warmth.

As is common with this part of Spain, English is not too common, but the front desk staff did everything they could to honor my various requests.

Finally, however, the hotel is far removed from the old city and the center of town, and upon my subsequent visit i stayed in the old city and had a much better time, and, though the hotel in town was not as luxorious it retained the character of the surrounding area rather than the Abba's generic (though lovely) modern style. If you're in Gijon as a tourist, i recommend staying in town for this reason.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Gijon was our second stop on our week long tour of Northern Spain. I booked the hotel directly from their website and chose thier Asturian Weekend package which included half board.

The hotel is situated at the easten edge of the main beach - a good mile from the centre of town and quite a trek if it is a cold and foggy evening in Asturias, as it often is in October. The carpark is underneath the hotel and attracted the standard EUR12/night that every hotel appears to charge in Northern Spain. The room was as one would expect from an "international" 4-star hotel. They charged for internet access, making it more expensive as a package than our 5* hotel in Aviles.

The meal in the restaurant was excellent, despite our trepidation about being almost the only people there. Breaskfast was also generous and varied.

The pool was closed as it was off season. In fact a lot of Gijon was closed as it was off season. We found good bars and good eating in the Old Town but we felt it to be the least successful stop on our tour as we ran out of things to do.

I suspect that the hotel is very different when Gijon is more alive. I would only recommend staying one night in the off season as we found more attractive town/villages down the coast that probably deserved a bit more attention.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abba Playa Gijon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Playa Gijon

Address: Paseo del Doctor Fleming 37, 33203 Gijon, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Playa Gijon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Abba Playa Gijón is situated next to Inglés Park, 165 ft from San Lorenzo Beach. It features an outdoor swimming pool with a sun terrace. The rooms at Abba Gijón enjoy views of San Lorenzo Beach, Isabel La Católica Park or the pool. Each is equipped with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with amenities. Guests have access to a fitness center, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Massage treatments are available and there is a free towel service from the front desk. Castiello Golf club is 3 miles from Abba Playa. The center of Gijón is 5 minutes away by car and Asturias Airport is less than 30 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abba Playa Gijon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Playa Gijon Gijón

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abba Playa Gijon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.