We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ranked #3 of 542 things to do in Asturias
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Biking, Hiking, Canoeing
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Magnificent park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The drive is amazing. Tiny villages tucked into the mountainsides. Narrow and steep gorges. Take a good map, get an early start and allow plenty of time. We made the whole loop in one day which made for a very long day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunndalsora, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wilderness and culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were staying in Oviedo for 3 days, and find out one day trip to Picos de Europa national park. So we desided to take it. And it was wonderful. Apart from magnifisent nature, park is very good kept with tourist traks little bridges and tourist sentres, little restourant. We were unlucky with weather - foggy, so we dont see how peaks mirrowing in the glass od lakes, but all the same it was unforgettible experience - pay attantion to the special kind ov vegetation, one can find here, asturian cows with bushy ears and sheep, garded with pirenean sheferd dogs. It was a real vocation for the soil.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Los Lagos Enol y Ercina, y la ruta de Bulnes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in Cangas de Onis where we could catch the bus to Covadonga, and from there, there were buses that went straight up the mountain to the lakes. We were lucky as we were told from the tourist office in Cangas that these buses only operate during summer and that the service would begin in the middle of July, but when we got to Covadonga (on the 2nd of July) the service had already started from the 1st of July. The bus company is Alsa and they seemed to run every hour or so. I do not recommend walking from Covadonga up the mountain, it's about 12km along the road with little scenery.
The lakes and the mountain top were amazing. You can relax and not do much, or walk one of the routes. We did the one that circles the peak. It took about 2 hours but well worth it. The views were great, and the cows were very cute! (Farmers take their cows up the mountain during summer to graze). We took our own food and had a picnic, but there is a bar up there - not sure if they had food or not though.

When we stayed in Arenas de Cabrales, we had to catch a taxi to Poncebos as there were no buses. We called a few taxi companies (we got the numbers from a bar), and were lucky to find one available who took my partner and I for 8 euros. From Poncebos you can walk one of the many routes. We did the route of Bulnes which goes up the mountain and ends at the small town of Bulnes. There were a few bars/restaurants there but they are expensive. The walk up was steep and slippery at times but it's pretty doable for most people - you don't have to be a hiker in other words. It's also not very well marked - so when the track splits in two, take the most obvious one. When we came down the mountain we didn't have phone reception to call the taxi, so we walked to one of the hotels and used their public phone. The walk was really enjoyable because of the amazing scenery. We saw a few eagles and mountain goats. It's meant to take 1 hour 15 mins to reach Bulnes, but it took us about 2 hours with stops to take photos and enjoy the views. There is also the Funicular (tiny train) that can take you up the mountain to Bulnes and back down. It's run by Alsa, they have the times and prices on their website (search Funicular/Poncebos).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

You might want to hold your breath as the bus is going up, but it is all worth it!. I wouldn't advice you drive up the mountain (on certain holidays is not even allowed). The climb is very deep and very high, but once you are up there, you forget about it. And since the bus drivers are so experienced, it allows you to take in the view. Go for it. You will not forget it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous mountain scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had a two centre holiday in Covadonga to the west end of the mountains and secondly to Pisuerga de cervera to see the south side. from both you can choose various walks into the range of mountains. It can be as easy or tough as you wish, and as long or short as you choose. But always take the camera!! Recommended for all active ages!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picos de Europa National Park (Parque Nacional de los Picos de Europa) also viewed

 
Nueva de Llanes, Llanes
 

Been to Picos de Europa National Park (Parque Nacional de los Picos de Europa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picos de Europa National Park (Parque Nacional de los Picos de Europa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.