We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so view, but nice tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Ebro

El Ebro
Plaza del Pilar, Zaragoza, Spain
Ningun telefono disponsible
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 77 Attractions in Zaragoza
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
182 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“So-so view, but nice tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After seeing Volga, on which I grew up, and Neva, I live on, the first time I saw Ebro I smiled =)
Sure I understood the river will not be Amazon River, but in August it's really... let's say not in the best shape! Shallow and almost green...

It took 6 days for me to decide the idea of taking river-ride is not that crazy)) Well, you know! It actually was cool! We took the latest tour and saw Zaragoza in it's night-glow from the water of Ebro! The ride added several nice pictures of the city to my collection!

City-tour bus ticket includes one free ride on the boat (unfortunately one way) so we paid 4€ and received return ticket! 40 minutes boat tour for that small amount could not be dissapointed))

Now I would like to see Ebro with it's affluent waters!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    70
    29
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get fit & enjoy the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

You can run, walk, jog or cycle along the river edge, from the town centre to the Expo site, whilst enjoying great views. When you get to the Expo site, go across the road to the lovely park. Enjoy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Sheer Landscape Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The recently renovated river banks, a legacy of the 2008 International Exhibition, is Zaragoza's Linear Park. You can't miss the ongoing show. Each season, each corner, each sunray offers a renewed display of colours, smells, coolness and sounds.

You can rejoice at the warbling of the spring birds in the last remains of the riverside woods at Ranillas meander. You can rest on the lawn-covered prairies that slope down to the river between the Hiberus hotel, the Millenium bridge and the Pavillion bridge. You can stroll along the footpath that leads you down the river and stop to gaze at the stunning views of the collossal Pilar basilica, the strapping Stone bridge, or the Modernist Iron bridge that pop up between the golden boughs and the falling leaves of the poplars and tamarisks in late autumn.

The footpath is part of the long Distance Walk, GR99, so it can take 2 or 3 hours if you want to do it all the way (one way), but you can divide the walk into stages: Ranillas meander (or Water Park, with bars, sports and family entertainment, the riverside woods etc.). The former Exhibition grounds with its new architectural icons (Millenium and Pavillion Bridges, the Volunteers' Footbridge, and the other Exhibition pavillions), or the stroll to see the historic city (from Helios sports centre to the Puente de la Unión, also known as Las Fuentes bridge) which can take less than 1 hour, and which is shown in the attached pictures taken on a Friday evening and midday Sunday in autumn.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cycling or walking tour near Ebro river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I use to stay in Saragozza for some working purposes, so I took the chance during the evening to rent a Bizi (the public bike service) to have some ride along the Ebro river. It was a beautiful experience, walking and cycling path are fantastic, clean, plenty of sights, bars and resting areas. People are kind and Bizi runs perfectly with many well located picking point. So riding a bike or running near Ebro river is probably the best way to spent your time in Saragozza.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ebro also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to El Ebro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ebro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.