We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sauce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sauce to your Saves list
Hotel Sauce
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Espoz y Mina, 33, 50001 Zaragoza, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Zaragoza
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A bit hard to find, but once you do you'll see what a terrific location it is. Clearly your basic needs will be met and my 3 stars is not a negative---it is what it is. Clean, decent, excellent breakfast, nice people. Their website is a lot hipper than the actual place. The parking is a little scary as it is narrow and a little challenging to manuever! We loved Zaragoza and are glad we stopped there along the way to Barcelona!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guests from Chicago,
Thanks a lot for your point of view. We get very happy when you say that Zaragoza worth a visit. Thank you for recommending other travellers to come and discover our beautiful city and at the same time our convenient, comfortable and family run hotel. We will be pleased to welcome you in our house.
Best regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    157
    39
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
199
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
311 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a problem finding this hotel. Our room was clean, simply furnished, and clean. The staff was professional, but not ingratiating. Breakfast was good and served in a cozy room. The garage is about half a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear friends from Seattle,
We really sorry because you had some problems finding our location.
Our reception 24 hours and our staff is in your disposal to guide you with all information that you need: location in your arrival, places to visit, timetable of monuments, restaurants, etc.
We are a little family hotel and we work every day for comfort and relax of your customers. Our rooms and facilities are simple but details, warmth and human treatment is in every corner.
Thanks for share your commentaries with us and the rest of travelers!
Saray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We read about this place on TA and thought it looked OK...it was. Nothing special, nice people, thought they were more hip than they are.
Location is fantastic! Room is average..could use face lift...cost in line with what it is.
We LOVED Zaragoza...went there because it's between San Sebastian/Barcelona.
Everything about the old part of City is wonderful. TA won't let me just write about Zaragoza so I will try to do square Plaza del Pilar..Church...Basillica del Pilar and the area all around here. One of our favorites of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear friends from Chicago,
We are glad reading about your fabulous stay in our city.
In fact, Hotel Sauce is in a privileged location in the heart of the city, very near of the best cultural attractions of Zaragoza: the Cathedral of la Seo and the Basílica del Pilar. Best location to visit our city!
Thanks for your commentaries,
Saray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked here as the reviews were good and I liked the fact that the manager was taking notice of negative feedback and trying to address customer complaints. Always a good sign. From first email it was a positive experience. Staff are helpful, rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. The lady who serves the breakfast is a gem. A young grandmother who loves children. The location is ideal. For great tapas just walk out the front door, turn left, walk thirty metres and turn right. You are in a lane of tapas bars. Go inside and enjoy. By the way, I had a car so I took the parking and was very glad I did.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast and use the parking if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guests from Australia,
Thank you so much for you feedback! It is very important for us to take care of our guests from the very beginning till the end when they leave our hotel. I don't know in other hotels but at Sauce hotel there is a permanent atmosphere of HAPPINESS. Our guests and the team that we work here we all have fun together. No boring routine, we enjoy life!
Best regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is very centrally situated in central Zaragoza. It has an odd, rather tight, parking arrangement down the street a little but you do not need a car after arrival as the hotel is easy walking distance to tourist sites, restaurants and tapas bars. Our bedroom was clean and tidy if not particularly spacious or sound insulated, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. Good value for money too.

Room Tip: Possibly a top floor room would have less noise from fellow visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest from Glasgow,
It is very funny, because in English and in French, "Sauce" means the dressing for the food. But if you translate it into Spanish the name for the hotel is "Willow Tree hotel" .So many times our foreign guests ask us with a smile on their faces and sense of humor that it is an amusing name for a hotel. When we chose the name in 1988 and my parents inaugurated the business, we were not aware that this could happen. But now, our name makes us different and attracts foreign travelers.
Thank you so much for your time and for you priceless opinion.
Kindest regards from all the Keptchup team :-)
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We (family of four) stayed in this hotel for a one night stopover from Bilbao to Barcelona. Our campervan was too big for their car park and we had exchanged emails about this before arriving but they allowed us to park right outside the hotel entrance for the night. The staff were really helpful, the hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly. We had a good night's sleep in the family room which was like a mini apartment - two separate bedrooms and shared bathroom. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Fantastic central location for touring Zaragosa. We really enjoyed out stay :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guests from Oxford,
It was a pleasure to host you in our hotel. Let us suggest those travelers that may be reading these lines and travel with a van or a car with a roofbox to inform us in advance when making the reservation, so that we can assist you in a better way with you parking needs when you arrive. At the same time, our hotel is also very convenient for families with children. Thank for the photo :-) what an adventurous family!
Kindest regards from Zaragoza from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took a week out driving around northern Spain and came across Hotel Sauce in Zaragoza. As per other comments the hotel has a perfect location just minutes from the impressive Basilica and Roman bridge as well as the small town centre. Hotel provides underground car parking opposite although a bit of a tight squeeze if you have a big car. Rooms were large, clean and bright with nice furniture and likewise the breakfast area was of a good standard. The staff were helpful with directions, etc and the lady serving breakfast brought out more food when she saw our three boys. Overall one of the best hotels we stayed in during our journey through Spain

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Simon,
Thank you so much for the highest 5 star score and nice description about your stay with us! Yes! We are situated in a priviledged location. And we are very proud of our city because there is so much to see and discover...you will be delighted if you come and visit Zaragoza, a real treasure. We get so happy and flattered when you say that we are one of the best hotels you stayed in during your trip!This fills us with satisfaction and enthusiasm!
Kindest regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Address: Espoz y Mina, 33, 50001 Zaragoza, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#2 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sauce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.