We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sauce

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sauce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sauce
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Espoz y Mina, 33, 50001 Zaragoza, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 83 hotels in Zaragoza
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location and Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights and found it a splendid hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The decor is nice and cleanliness is top notch. We stayed with our two children and opted for the family room. It was wonderful having two rooms attached with a central entrance and bathroom. Of course the location is absolutely perfect for seeing all the sights in Zaragoza. You are only steps away from the historic buildings and museums. Its also close to public transportation. Last but not least it is a tremendous value!

They do have breakfast available but it isn't a full service restaurant. They do however offer wonderful wine, and snacks. There are plenty of dining options nearby so that isn't a concern.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if in Zaragoza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guests from San Diego,
Wow! Thank you so much for this 5 star review!
Now we know that we must continue in the same direction. We think that the key to success is hard work, from the first to the last member of the team.
We really appreciate your support and your encouraging words that are priceless for us.
Kindest regards from Zaragoza,
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    140
    36
    3
    5
See reviews for
90
180
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englishman abroad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel Sauce is a hidden gem, far better than its two star rating suggests. Friendly, helpful & efficient staff, clean, comfortable rooms and located in the centre of Old Zaragosa, it even has secure parking across the road. The cafe serves delicious cakes & coffee and breakfast was the most delicious we had while travelling across Spain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Richard:
Thank you for your lovely lines.
I must inform the travelers that may read this review, that we have remodelled our cafeteria. The 1 st of May was the Opening Day. The name of our new cafe is " Mi habitación Favorita" " My Favourite room"
In the morning we serve our delicious buffet breakfast as always BUT NOW , for the first time in history :-) we are open in the afternoon and we offer our guests full range of coffees and teas, HOMEMADE cakes ( hummingbird, carrot, chocolate, raspberry cakes etc), fresh sqeezed lemonade, gin tonics, wine, cava etc etc.
Hope our guests enjoy there time in " My Favourite Room" in a relaxed atmosphere.
Best regards to our Englsh friends from all the Sauce team,
Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

lovely, cozy, friendly, quiet, comfortable, excellent value for money, ideally located and with a private car park....A good way to discover thie old city, ps: excellent breakfast!
we had read the reviews were good, and we were not desappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guests:
Wow! Thank you for the 5 star review!
We are very happy to know we have succeeded you expectations after reading reviews about us.
The only thing we can say, is that we feel very lucky and honored to host the best guests in the world!! :-)
Thank you!
Kindest regards from all the Sauce Team.
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel Sauce is a charming hotel located in the old city of Zaragoza. Fresh paint, super clean rooms and bathrooms and a friendly staff all contribute to making this hotel a real find. Zaragoza is a beautiful city off the tourist radar. It has lovely museums, churches, roman ruins and exceptionally open and kind residents. Our daughter recently move there for work and we were thrilled to discover this little hotel and intriguing city. Breakfast is included and is adequate though not as bountiful as other hotel breakfasts in Spain. We will most certainly return !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guests from the US,
All our team is very pleased to know that you found our hotel and Zaragoza fascinating.
That makes us feel very proud of our family run business and of our city. It is true, as you say, not many tourists ( at least not as many as in Madrid or Barcelona) , so Zaragoza is authentic, genuine with open minded and friendly people. A very confortable city to work and to live happily.
Hope you daughter is enjoying her time here.
Kind regards,
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Leaving Madrid on our way to Barcelona we wanted to break-up the long ride with a stop-over in Zaragoza--great choice. On arrival to our hotel there was a mix-up on the reservation, but not to worry because the hotel also manages an apartment complex just two blocks away. They gave us a fully equipped apartment for the same price of the room. The apartment was beautiful, and close to the main square where there is a wonderful cathedral and river walk just on the other side of the cathedral. The staff at the hotel was great and gave us several choices to find Tapas later that evening. We found a good spot where we ate outside, under the clear sky with a waxing moon---perfect. The hotel offered breakfast the next morning, and once again the staff was great and the full breakfast gave us a healthy start to our next destination in Barcelona. We only stayed the night in Zaragoza, but it was a good night and I would return here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Owner at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest from the US,
We love the headline of your review! And it is wonderful that by reading your lines, sounds very tempting to come and visit Zaragoza. Thank you for inviting other travelers to discover our beautiful city, and in this case with a very romantic point of view. The moon, a river walk, the cathedral at night....beautiful, like a little Paris :-) !!....and TAPAS! Just next to the hotel there is a maze of narrow street called " El Tubo" full of tapas bars and small restaurants.
We take you word and hope you return back for a longer stay :-) .
Kind regards from all the team!
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

As is the case with a lot of the reviewers here, we chose to stay at Hotel Sauce because the reviews were excellent. We were delighted to find that all of the reviews were well founded!

After we had booked (using the hotel's own website where there are great offers available), I emailed Isabel to ask about accessibility, as I am disabled (walk with a cane), and to query if we could check in a little earlier. Isabel was friendly and gracious, she sorted out a decently accessible room for someone with a mobility impairment and since we were staying in the low season she was able to allow us to check in a bit earlier. Her emails were warm and friendly, everything a chain hotel is not.

We arrived, tired from our journey, and were greeted warmly. The room we stayed in was simple, clean and comfortable, nicely decorated and immediately relaxing. We had a lovely time with family in Zaragoza before returning to get some rest. The beds and pillows were eminently comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep.

In the morning we were greeted with a smile, fresh coffee and a buffet of wonderful breakfast foods! The tortilla Española was stupendous and made fresh, the pastries light and delicious, and there was yet more choice in the way of fruits, breads and cheese.

Hotel Sauce is in the middle of the 'old' city so pretty much all of the interesting historical sites are within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. It is superbly situated and on the same street as the art gallery. There are also a number of nice bars and cafés very close by and possibly the best ice cream shop I have ever seen just around the corner.

From start to finish the staff at Hotel Sauce were friendly and helpful and our stay in their hotel was delightful. I have stayed in many chain hotels, in the UK and Spain, and I have never experienced such a lovely and affable attitude.

We will be staying there as our hotel of choice whenever we visit Zaragoza. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Francesca and James from Birmingham:
Thank you so much for your lovely description about your experience in our hotel.
We are a "humble", small, family run hotel, and we are very lucky to host the best guest in the world :-) We love them and they are the reason why we feel happy every working day.
And definetely, if you come to our hotel you can´t miss the opportunity to taste our Tortilla Española at beakfast time. Made with love and care.
Best regards to all our English guest and friends, that are many.
All the Sauce Team and Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel was absolutely fantastic for 55 Euros a night it is unbeatable, The staff where more than helpful and the ladies are very Guapa :)

I wouldn't change anything at all and would class it much higher than a 2 *

If we ever visit Zaragoza again we will definitely stay in Sauce

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsauce, Propietario at Hotel Sauce, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Fiona and Jason,
And thank you Jason :-) All the girls in the hotel we feel very flattered when you say that we are " guapa". haha and I add that we are also " simpática" :-). Hope you have the chance to come back because I owe you a beer for that :-) .
Thank you for giving us such a good mark!
We say hello to all our friendly guests from the UK that are always more than welcome in our hotel. Best regards from all the Sauce team.
Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sauce

Address: Espoz y Mina, 33, 50001 Zaragoza, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sauce 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel in the center of SaragossaHotel Sauce is located in the historical, artistic and commercial center of Saragossa, close to Basilica del Pilar and Cathedral, La Seo de San Salvador and the best attractions of the city.Each room is uniqueHotel Sauce has 40 rooms. Each one has been personally decorated and taking care of the details.They are equiped with complete bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, TV, telephone, individual safe, air conditioning, heating and free WiFi.Services that you can enjoy during your stayHomemade breakfast buffet with natural products, private parking, free WiFi, Cot Service, Meeting Room, Laundry Service, Fax and Regular Mail, Transfer to Airport and Baggage Storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hotel Zaragoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sauce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.