We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia El Pilar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia El Pilar to your Saves list
Catalonia El Pilar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Zaragoza
Hanoi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. It was clean, quiet, had good service and was very comfortable. location was great. Highly recommend. I don't have much more to say, but advisor its making me write 200 characters for my review.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    172
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
232
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
padova
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked a double and when arrived they gave us a twin. I asked they for a double but they told me they gave me a twin and it Was the same and they were full and hai no double. It wasn't true because i tried to boom by their site and it gave me double free!
Anyway, the hotel is not a for stars but it's not more then a 3 stars. Amenities: no body milk, no comb ( in spain they Give you in every 3 stars), no toothbrush.
Spotted Bedspread , Bad smell in the Room ( we had to open the window) bathroom not Very clean. Next I'll upload the photos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaelpilar, Director General at Catalonia El Pilar, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are very sorry about your impression of our hotel due to a misunderstanding.

In most of the hotel reservation websites the rooms offered as DOUBLE does not specifically mean to be a one-bed-room. “Double room” means a room for two people, and this can be with one or two beds. In this case, it is the customer himself that has to detail its preferences. If the customer does not specify it, the hotel offers what is available.

It was not specified in your reservation and we are sorry that we could not offer you a room with one bed as we did not have any left on that date. Please believe that our policy is to offer all our customers a pleasant stay. We hope to have a new opportunity to receive you in our hotel to change your impression of your stay with us. We are proud of having great reports of customers fully satisfied and very much regret your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I agree with other reviews. This hotel is fantastic, certainly considering the real bargain we paid for two nights. By far the best deal of our trip.
The building itself is stately from the outside and elegant at the inside. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and quiet.
And then there's the location: within minutes of all important venues in downtown Zaragoza.
Service was impeccable.
If you're arriving by car, take under consideration they don't provide parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martorell, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in August 2012 as a half way stop over between Bilbao and Barcelona and the hotel was fantastic it was good value I received a welcome bottle of water and a glass of cava in the evening. The hotel is a 10 min walk from all the local attractions and the Plaza del Piler is amazing with what must be the biggest Cathedral I have ever seen. I dont know if this Hotel will change in the winter because August is off season and the city was very quite and very hot. The only down side is the hotel has no parking and the local car park cost 18 Euros per day.

I think that Zaragoza as a whole is a nice city and it will be worth spending a little more time to visit the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Was extremely happy with the location and the room. Booked it in a hurry just before our trip and regretted that we didn't get to spend more time there as we were driving to Pamplona the following day. It is ideally situated just minutes from the main square, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and quiet and includes a reasonably priced mini bar. It is excellent value for money and we will definitely return to spend more time there in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guizerix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect position for getting to the old town tourist sites. The staff were very helpful. Our room was clean and well-equipped and, very importantly, quiet. An excellent place to stay and only a couple of minutes from there to the main square and the underground car parks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia El Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia El Pilar

Address: C/ Manifestacion 16, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Zaragoza Plaza Hotel)
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Zaragoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zaragoza
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zaragoza
#3 Business Hotel in Zaragoza
#6 Family Hotel in Zaragoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia El Pilar 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent hotel is situated in the historic centre of Zaragoza, a few metres from the Basilica of El Pilar. It is situated in a modernist building from the beginning of the 20th century. Besides offering guests a very pleasant stay, the hotel is considered as a tourist attraction in the city. It has 3 facades with decorative elements in wrought iron. The walls are made of brick, except for the lower part of the building, which is made of stone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia El Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia El Pilar Hotel Zaragoza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia El Pilar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.