We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar

Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar
Plaza del Pilar, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
976-39-74-97
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar like an insider
$19*
and up
Ranked #1 of 105 things to do in Zaragoza
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The only word to describe this place. I'm not what you would describe as religious, but you can see how people would be in awe of the power of God if they stepped into this place. The scale is far bigger than Valencia and dome and ceiling decoration is wonderful. Two popes have visited and popes know a good basilica when they see it. A must do in this great city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,197
    442
    82
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Make the time to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had a solo weekend in Zaragoza, and included a visit to the Basilica Del Pilar. Definitely put it on your list of to-do's if you are in the area. I love visiting cathedrals in different countries. This is a Roman Catholic church which supposedly is the first church placed in Mary's name.

The entrance is free but you can make donations if you light a candle for someone or if you just feel like it. I will usually light a candle for my grandparents, since they were/are Catholic. Lots of locals and tourists stop in. Regardless of your religious standing, the Baroque architecture is worth the time for admiration and several photos to keep as memories. There are various chapels within the basilica to view.

I was fortunate to be visiting during October when they were having the Fiestas del Pilar in honor of the patron saint of the city, the Virgen del Pilar. The weather was perfect this time of year, as well. During the fiesta, there is a pyramid structure covered in floral arrangements. You can line up, take the stairs to the top of the pyramid, and have your photo taken with the Virgen del Pilar behind you. It only costed 5 Euros for the photo which can be retrieved once you get to the booth below.

Across a short walkway, you can sit in the square outdoors at one of many restaurants and admire the Basilica and statues while you people watch and relax with a beer, coffee, and/or tapas. It was just lovely. Take a walk as there is also a museum and shops (including souvenir shops) nearby in the square. Hopefully they are open during your visit! I brought my grandmother something at the souvenir shop which she absolutely loved because her Church is also a church del Pilar. I was happy to bring her some joy. :-)

On the other side of the Basilica is the river, but it's not very pretty and smelled odd in certain areas. There is a ferris wheel nearby on the Ebro river.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“trip with Lila and Corinne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stopped in here very briefly while we were walking around one day, but from what I remember it was beautiful

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Els Poblets, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Certainly worth visiting however after the stunning exterior the interior came as a disappointment.
One is almost overwhelmed by the dimensions but somehow deflated by the relatively bland side chapels.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

this basilica was beautiful. There is no entrance fee as it is a place of worship and you have locals and tourists and people from afar all visiting at the same time.
There are numerous chapels all dedicated to different saints around the edges and the main church in the centre.
you can sit and watch for hours if time permits.
please note you can not take photographs from the inside as it is a holy place and still in use.
The basilica is an amazing to look at at night also and if you cross the river you can see an amazing view of the basilica from the other side.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.