We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and beautiful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar

Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar
Plaza del Pilar, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain
976-39-74-97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Attractions in Zaragoza
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
alicante
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Big and beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This basilica is almost nicer than the St Peter in Rome. Next time we will visit it in the morning. Now we were here on a saturday night and there were a lot of weddings,. so many people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    355
    70
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, Uk
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Told my children this was where Catherine of Aragon met Henry VIII, which I guess is not true but keep their interest!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“big.that's all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

you feel tiny inside this basilica, and that is good for a church (you feel tiny in comparison to the greatness of God), but if you look at the artistic value, it is quite poor, I am afraid. a lot of gold, decorations, statues, different styles that mismatch.the worshipped Pillar of Our Lady is almost hidden inside this building

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beatifull cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Enormous cathedral with amazing tabernacle. Also the internal dome is magnificant. One can not stop admiring the paintings, statues, altar, organ etc... truly amazing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

You simply can't visit Zaragoza without seeing this.Even as a very unreligious couple we managed to spend an hour inside, without realising! It's enormous, filled with things to look at and certainly gives you something to talk about!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica de Nuestra Senora del Pilar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.