We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FIND IN ZARAGOZA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Republicana

La Republicana
Mendez Nunez, 38, 50003 Zaragoza, Spain (Casco Antiguo)
+34 976 39 65 09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 872 Restaurants in Zaragoza
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Casco Antiguo
Description: Spanish bistro located in the old city center. Here you can enjoy tapas and homemade dishes, cooked with natural ingredients from our own orchard. Daily menu is available on working days.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND IN ZARAGOZA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having not read any reviews about this place or had any recommendations from our hotel, we were delighted to stumble upon it whilst exploring the city. We ate there three times and enjoyed all of our visits. I don't know whether the decor is supposed to represent 1940s/50s Spain but it is certainly evocative of that era and creates a great atmosphere. The restaurant was very busy each time we visited but our friendly waitress remembered us from our 1st visit and made sure we were given a table. Whilst waiting you can have a drink at the bar with complimentary paella tapas.

At lunchtime a very competitvely priced set menu offers a good range of dishes. We ate mixed tapas, fish, paella and migas and enjoyed them all. Service was consistently very good

If visiting Zaragoza make sure you go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    141
    61
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We wondered out of the hotel at around 10pm with our two starving children and stumbled into this place.

Loved it! Service was good and so were the tapas. Reasonably priced and great atmosphere. The decor is very eclectic and unique.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Disappointed- expected more based on reviews.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went there with a group of five. First visit to this type of restaurant. I was expecting my food to be hot, not barely warm. Maybe tapas are supposed to be served room temperature? Didn't enjoy flavor of most of them either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Real Local Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Authentic tapas in a great bar. Filled with locals so you know it is good. Go before 8pm to secure a table early. We had the 12 tapas selection for 15 euros and a 10 euro bottle of wine.

The tapas was fantastic and the wine wonderful.

Dinner with wine for 25 euros, outstanding value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the most original restaurants in the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The restaurant is located in one of the cosy streets of the old city centre, close to the basilica. The restaurant is rather small (12 tables), decoration is particulary nice, and at noon and in the evenings the restaurant is always crowded with people enjoying the more than 20 different types of tapas the restaurant has to offer. It's recommended to go early, since it's not possible to make reservations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Republicana also viewed

Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
Zaragoza, Province of Zaragoza
 

Been to La Republicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Republicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.