We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Lope de Rueda, 14 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just right in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

From the second we walked into this hotel, we were put at ease. Aziz welcomed us and assured us that he and the rest of the staff would help us with any arrangments we needed. And they did. All the staff were incredibly nice and helpful - really went the extra distance. They offered to make reservations and never swayed us in the wrong directions when it came to recommendations around the city of Seville.

The El Rey Moro is quaint and funky. We loved the centre courtyard which most of the rooms opened up into. It rained most of the time we were there and the courtyard was damp most of the time, but the walkway/corridor to the rooms which was open to the courtyard was covered. The nice touch there was additional seating if you wanted fresh air.

The location in the midst of the old Seville neighborhood of Santa Cruz was AMAZING -- steps away from the cathedral and Alcazar!. When stepping out of the hotel's front doors, it was like stepping back to medieval times. It was right in the middle of a lot of restaurant action too.

We did not try the restaurant, but once we bought a bottle of wine at the grocery store and the restaurant staff did not bat an eyelash when we asked them to uncork our bottle -- incredibly civilized. There is also a hot-tub on the rooftop that can be reserved. It offers a nice view of the giralda bell tower.

The housekeeping services were exceptional! The room was sparkling clean and they added nice touches like free bottled water.

Room Tip: Each room in the hotel is different - it's not standardized - so you will want to pay attention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you for your review!!! We are glad that you spent a good time with us, we hope to see you soon!
Best wishes,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    300
    51
    12
    2
See reviews for
128
583
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the second floor on the corner. The room had great space, comfort and amenities. It was bright an airy. One morning the trash was collected (despite it being a pedestrian accessible location) so it was a little loud if your windows were open. Service was great, they suggested a nice flamenco show, as well as directions as we needed them. The restaurant offered great service, but the selection for breakfast was lacking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review!! We are glad that you had a great stay with us
We hope to see you soon
Best wishes,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel on a brief visit to Seville and quite enjoyed the visit albeit that we chose a disappointingly wet time to visit one of Spain's loveliest cities. Also, We failed properly to digest the "how to find us" instructions and as a result spent the best part of an hour trying to identify the location of the hotel, which is not at all accessible by car or taxi. So my advice is to pay particular attention to the instructions that are available on how to locate the hotel.

That matter aside, our stay was fine, though we found breakfast a little disappointing, with just one member of staff seemingly responsible for its production and service. I'd have to conclude that, given the massive choice of hotels in the vicinity, travellers might alternative establishments offering better value. I chose the El Rey because its favourable reviews on Trip Advisor but I'm a little hard pushed to understand how it got such strong endorsements.

Room Tip: The rooms are located off a central courtyard and all, I imagine are well maintained and appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your lines. We hope to see you soon aorund Sevilla
Best regards,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our 2013 Spain trip, and we could not have been happier! The hotel has a wonderful central "plaza" area. Even though it rained during much of our stay, it was still beautiful to look at every morning. The was helpful and friendly and went above and beyond to help us out. The location is awesome and walking distance to some very beautiful churches and restaurants. And the biggest plus, the beds are VERY comfortable compared to most of the other hotels we stayed at in Spain. It was nice to have after a long day of travel. The rooms were very well decorated and each room has a small television (though we couldn't figure out how to get anything but some Spanish pop music special).

If you're traveling by car you won't be able to drive right up to this hotel since it is tucked away a bit. Arriving by taxi you might feel like they're dropping you off in some random (but safe) place, but they should be able to point you in the right direction. There is an underground parking lot not too far away from the hotel that we used on our last night in Seville, but if memory serves it was around 21 euros per night.

For those of you traveling on a budget, the complimentary breakfast here is one of the best we had in Spain. They had a self-serve coffee / espresso machine, donuts, cheeses, eggs, sausage, all kinds of rolls, and the list goes on. In the evening they also have a full menu at very reasonable prices, and the food was really good!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are pretty quiet, but I can imagine that during peak season it might get kind lf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you for your review! Yes, the nearest parking car is "Cano y Cueto" +- 5 minutes walking from the hotel.
We hope to see you soon again
Best regards,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Absolutely adore this hotel. The location couldn't be better - mere minutes walking from shops, bars, cafes, the cathedral and alcazar and the Murillo Gardens. The rooms were clean and cute - bathroom space very generous. What I really love about this hotel is all the extras - free wifi throughout (which works), water on every floor and in your room, nice toiletries (more than most hotels), free bikes, the rooftop, the jacuzzi, included breakfast.

The staff is also incredible. I had planned my trip rather last minute and hadn't had the time to research how to get everywhere I wanted to go. The front desk staff helped me with train schedules and how to get to the station and back and also made terrific recommendations on what to see and do in Seville as well as Cordoba and Granada. They also had wonderful recos for where to eat. I can't say enough good things about the staff.

I didn't find it all that hard to find. The taxi drops you off in a little square and you go right and keep walking around till you reach the hotel on the left. I love that it is quiet and close to shops. We stayed in casa 27 and it was tucked away from the courtyard and elevator and was very nice.

I found the breakfast perfectly fine. Lots of different breads, meats, cheeses. They had yogurt, cereal, hard boiled and fried eggs as well as a few other hot plates. They also had many packaged choices like pastries and donuts. The highlight was certainly the fresh squeezed orange juice.

Seville is lovely as is the El Rey Moro - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you very much for your review!! We are glad you had a fantastic stay with us!
We hope to see you soon
Best regards,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed last week for two nights & think it's a very cute boutique hotel with lots of character and charm. We stayed in Casa 29 on the rooftop, it's a very pretty room with spacious bathroom, small hallway with gorgeous furniture and a reasonable sized double room. If you're over 6ft you may find the ceilings a bit low but it wasn't an issue for me. The bed was soft & appeared to have a dip in the middle (could be two beds pushed together) but we were so exhausted after walking the beautiful areas nearby that it didn't bother us. That said there is a fair amount of noise during the night with local bar deliveries, bin collections etc so light sleepers be warned - you will be awoken but that's not the hotel's fault. The bathroom toiletries were plentiful & replenished each day; the free cold water bottles on every floor were a nice touch.and it's a short, meandering walk to the cathedral/alcazabar. The hotel is in a very narrow street but that just adds to the charm & sense of romance in the historic Barrio Santa Cruz. The free bikes are a bonus, the central terrace very charming and overall the hotel is really good value for location etc. Our only problem was with the wifi which continuously dropped after a couple of minutes BUT considering the beauty outside the room I wouldn't let that put me off!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review!!Our breakfast always improve to give you the best, we are glad you had a great stay with us.
Best regards,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is tucked away down a very narrow street. The receptionist was very helpful and efficient. One then walks through to the lovely courtyard and up the stairs to the rooms which open out onto the balcony. The room was attractive with Moorish furniture and tiles and the bathroom was more than adequate with lots of items such as sewing and dental kits, they seem to have thought of every thing. Every thing is fresh and clean. In the library there is a computer and bottles of free water in a small fridge.

Star of the breakfast is the orange juice which is squeezed before your eyes. The selection for continental breakfast was good with cooked meats and cheese, fruit salad and a variety of baked goods, the almond cake is particularly delicious. Coffee is from a machine but is strong and you can top it up with hot milk.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and although it lacked atmosphere the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Casa 14 seems to be the only room which doesn't have a table and chairs outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Rey-Moro, Guest Relations Manager at El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear friend,
Thank you for your review!! We hope to see you soon again
Best wishes,
Manuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique

Address: c/ Lope de Rueda, 14 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#20 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a delightful area of Seville, in the picturesque and authentic Barrio de Santa Cruz, the hotel is an attractive, converted manor house dating back to the 16th century. The Barrio de Santa Cruz is a charming area of the city with narrow, cobbled streets dotted with orange tree-lines plazas and centrally located within walking distance of many of the major attractions, such as the cathedral and the Alcazar. The hotel has a pleasing traditional patio-courtyard, onto which many of the rooms look out and where you can sit out and enjoy the peaceful ambience. There is also a popular restaurant that serves traditional Andalusian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Moro Seville
El Rey Moro Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.