We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Charming Hotel, beware of rooms over the restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla to your Saves list
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Lope de Rueda, 14 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Location, Charming Hotel, beware of rooms over the restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Although we could have been better prepared on how to arrive to the hotel, we found it with little problem. The taxi dropped us and pointed up the hill on a narrow road that is car could not fit. We walked through some twisty turney streets and found Lope de Rueda street in a few minutes - walking down the street looks as if it would be a dead end, but the street (width of a sidewalk) turns and then you can see the sign. Not knowing what to expect this was slightly uncomfortable, but when we arrived to the hotel it was beautiful, charming and clean with a lovely courtyard and beautiful rooms. I would strongly recommend to avoid rooms 27-29 if you plan to sleep at all past 8am. They are situated over a restaurant and therefore receive alot of noise during its open hours. In reference to the size of the rooms, I would consider these typically european rooms, they will be smaller than many are used to. We felt the price, location, and rooms were excellent for what we paid. Tip: when you leave the hotel, turn to the right and then turn right again on calley Reinoso. In this direction there are several lovely plazas that we missed until the last moments.......

Room Tip: Rooms above and around the restaurant are noisy after 8am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    322
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
135
632
53
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

this boutique hotel was the nicest one of the whole trip Beautiful rooms and a truly atmospheric courtyard. we were sorry we didn't discover the rooftop terrace and jacuzzi until the last day.manuela was so friendly and helpful, and even helped with our luggage which just doesn't happen these days. Also a great location in the Barrio Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent 4 days in Sevilla with our daughter and son-in-law and we all loved the city, the hotel and its friendly, helpful staff. We hope.to return and will surely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during Semana Santa. An amazing time in an amazing city. We wanted and expected to like this hotel based on its reviews. Unfortunately, it did not meet our expectations.

Part of the problem is that the rate we paid during Holy Week was much higher than the normal rate and left us feeling strongly that we didn't get what we paid for. They were very kind to move us from the first room which smelled both musty and overly disinfected, had only a tiny window and was right behind the stairs. The second room was small for the price and dated. We did check rates at other hotels in Sevilla both before, during and after our stay and, in hindsight, there were other nicer hotels for around the same price or a bit more that week that would've been better (we also walked into a couple of others nearby).

As others have said, it does have an excellent central location, pretty courtyard and helpful and friendly front desk. Breakfast was included in our rate but it was not as good as the breakfasts we had at other hotels throughout Spain & Europe. Other reviewers have mentioned getting a room facing the courtyard for quiet - we had one and found that the noise from the courtyard carried right into our rooms on the floor above as if the person talking was right next to you.

Overall, I think this hotel would be a good budget option if you're able to get a good rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

El Rey Moro Hotel is well located in the Barrio Santa Cruz neighborhood of Sevilla. It is approximately 300 feet from Jardines Reales Alcazares, near the Cathedral and Alcazar, as well as many other attractions and restaurants. As pictured, this Hotel has a large interior courtyard perfect for sitting, reading or checking email. We were originally situated in room 28, a rooftop accomodation. The view of other rooftops from on high was beautiful and private. Unfortunately we encountered frequent loud nightime noise, which the hotel had no control over, and we were switched to a quieter interior room. There was a good assortment of options for breakfast.

The El Rey Moro staff were very helpful and accommodating. Manuella in particular was excellent.

The Hotel also had bicycles for guest use and we took advantage of these on two separate occasions. It is delightful to ride through the Jardines Prado de San Sebastian to the Plaza de Espana and then through the Parque de Maria Luisa. Biking under a canopy of trees on a hot day could not be more refreshing .

Suggestions: 1. Flamenco at Casa de la Memoria, right in the Hotel's neighborhood, with rotating performers of very high quality. 2. Metropol Parasol in La Encarnacion square (the Mushroom) both for the radical design above, the display of roman ruins below and a vibrant marketplace in between.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The hotel is tucked away in a corner of the old Jewish Quarters and conveniently located to the major sites, like the Alacazar and the Cathedral. The hotel itself is extremely comfortable with rooms that are spacious by European standards and a lovely courtyard. That being said, I suggest you book your room by phone or by booking.com or another online booking agent. My experience of trying to book with the hotel directly was extremely frustrating, whether I wrote emails in Spanish or English.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We just stayed at the El Rey Moro in Seville and loved loved it. Of 4 hotel stays by far our best. It's in the Jewish Quarter (Barrio Santa Cruz) and the location is the best, within minutes of all the main attractions and restaurants. it felt more like an intimate inn with very personalized service. It might not be the most glamorous but we loved the authenticity of the decor and ambiance, resembling a typical home from the 1600s. We stayed in room 29 which was on the top floor near the roof and it was the most private and secluded. Some reviews warned of the room facing the street rather than the courtyard ( which is beautiful), but it was not an issue. These are the medieval streets narrow enough to touch with outstretched arms, therefore no cars pass through. One of the biggest pluses for us was free breakfast buffet with the room so you don't have to hassle looking for breakfast before you start your day. Fnding places that serve breakfast are far and few between. Also free wifi throughout. The only issue was that there was a slight musty odor in our room which I think was from the shower curtain and probably could easily be fixed by replacing that. the other reason we chose #29 was the luxury of having 2 sinks. I would go back there in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Room 29 for double sinks and more seclusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla

Address: c/ Lope de Rueda, 14 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#23 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a delightful area of Seville, in the picturesque and authentic Barrio de Santa Cruz, the hotel is an attractive, converted manor house dating back to the 16th century. The Barrio de Santa Cruz is a charming area of the city with narrow, cobbled streets dotted with orange tree-lines plazas and centrally located within walking distance of many of the major attractions, such as the cathedral and the Alcazar. The hotel has a pleasing traditional patio-courtyard, onto which many of the rooms look out and where you can sit out and enjoy the peaceful ambience. There is also a popular restaurant that serves traditional Andalusian and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Moro Seville
El Rey Moro Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.