We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place, with free real flamenco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carboneria

La Carboneria
C/ Levies 18, 41004 Seville, Spain
+34 954 214 460
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 365 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Drinking
Attraction details
italy
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Charming place, with free real flamenco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We reached the place following the advice of a waiter and after turning several small, winding streets we found this charming place where you can enjoy the roots of flamenco: dancing, singing and guitar playing. It can be really crowded as the show is free (you are just asked to order something to drink). The atmosphere is fascinating and we visited the place several times, always finding something new.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    175
    58
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Difficult to find but well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hidden down some back streets, La Carboneria offers a down to earth Flamenco show twice nightly 10.30pm and 11.30 pm), oh and its free! You need to arrive just before 10pm to get a good seat. Drinks at the bar are reasonably priced and they serve limited but tasty food. We visited twice in 4 days. Great atmosphere and a great saving over the Flamenco for tourists shows throughout the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worthseeking out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

La Carboneria is a real treasure that deserves to be kept a secret. It is a free, yes free, place to catch a Flamenco show and have a late night bite. The atmosphere is very casual and the only cost is the drinks (2euro wine) and whatever you want to snack on. There is no minimum. It's a lively large crowd with all ages and nationalities, but is decidedly not touristy. Stay after the show and hang out at the front bar for a whole other experience. Musicians play and the local singers serenade everyone as all the dancers from around town begin to drop in after their shows and keep the beat with stomps and claps. Shows start at around 10:30pm. The place is mostly empty before 10pm. It's a great way to meet the locals and see people performing purely for the love of it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful flamenco - go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We got here at around 10pm at the recommendation of the owner of our apartment. We got seats and drinks (slightly more expensive than other bars, but still very reasonable) and waited for the flamenco to start. The atmosphere was electric and the place was packed to the rafters. The guitarist and dancer were wonderful. It felt raw and authentic - a must do when in Seville!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good flamenco, bad tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Tis is a teeny tiny place and we walked by it twice before seeing the sign. We went with a few friends at one of their suggestions. Having been to an excellent show in Sevilla before (Quinetro Alvarez), I was looking forward to more of a flamenco bar experience. Drinks were reasonable- not as inexpensive as some other places, but still less than any drink we can get in NYC! We should have had some tapas on the way over, because we were quite hungry. We arrived around 10 for the 10:30 show and got a seat on the floor level. Ordered some drinks and tapas. Br is in the front, food order station is in the back near the bathrooms. The drinks were fine. The food though was not worth the money. The flamenco show was excellent- a completely different experience than where we had seen flamenco before. So my recommendation? Go, drink, maybe order one food item and go somewhere else for dinner!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carboneria also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to La Carboneria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carboneria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.