We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in the heart of the touristy area of Sevilla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Atenas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Atenas to your Saves list
Hostal Atenas
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Caballerizas, 1, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Seville
North Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in the heart of the touristy area of Sevilla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Atenas was a great location to stay to catch the sites of Sevilla. Beware though, you WILL get lost on the streets in this area (Santa Maria section). Even with a map, it is nearly impossible to navigate without getting lost.

Atenas was clean and comfortable. As usual for most Spanish establishments, the place reeked of smoke -- mainly because the workers were always smoking. As long as my room door was shut, it was fine.

One complaint - we tried to check in on our first night, and though my Let's Go book said the average rate was 75-80 euro for a triple, the innkeeper tried to charge us $130 or so, saying it was because the upcoming Semana Santa festivities (though he said they never charge 75-80 for the room). We decided it was too much and went somewhere cheaper for the night. However, we returned the next morning and requested the same room for 2 nights -- this time speaking to a woman. We were charged 80 euro per night this time...the original price I had thought. Clearly the guy (owner I believe) was trying to screw us!! This was made obvious when he came in later and we overheard him speaking in Spanish to the woman, yelling at her for charging us that price, and then heard him quote someone else on the phone the absurd rate again.

Though our experience was pleasant, this really turned me off to this place in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
11
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

Charming hostal with excellent location. Neat rooms and good service. Really easy to walk to and from city centre. Only little minus was poor sound isolation.

  • Liked — Charming athmosphere
  • Disliked — Sound isolation
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Hotel nicely located, close to the beautiful Casa de Pilatos. Charming entrance, and welcoming people, with a quiet atmosphere, all helping to "forget" about the little problems such as: no TV (even though it was announced there would be one), very thin walls, with the subsequent lack of privacy, and some trouble, to say the least, with the toilets... ...
However, the house was really charming, with very nice common areas, the room was really clean, and we always got information when we needed.
So a good hotel for travellers without luxury expectations but looking for personality.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of services (Internet, TV...)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hostal Atenas in September 2006. The reviews online and their website looked good, so we thought this would be a good value while staying in Sevilla for the first time. The hostel has a nice patio, and simple, clean and cozy rooms. The beds were OK.

The Hostel is a 5-minute walk to central Sevilla, the Alcazar, the Casa de Pilates, and much more. The neighborhood is quiet and close to a number of tapas bars (with good prices!). Reception was always available and helpful. We only spoke a little Spanish, but enough to get by. Some staff were fluent in English, while others weren't as much, but it was fine.

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable place while in Seville, we recommend Hostal Atenas. It's not luxurious, but a comfortable place and good deal so you can go out and spend money on yummy tapas, paella, good wine, and take in the great sights that Sevilla offers.

  • Liked — Cozy place, nice staff
  • Disliked — beds were ok
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Our room was small but clean and bearable for the one night we were staying in Granada but it was the front desk staff who ruined the experience for me. They were very unfriendly and acted as though it was way to much for me to ask what they recommened for a restaurant or which bus to catch to get where we wanted to go. Other than that, the hostel was clean and what we needed for the night.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

We were advised by a Seville website to stay at this hotel because they would allow us to store our bikes there while still being close to the town for when we were on foot.

The rooms were nice and clean and the staff always available to help out. They had internet access for 1E an hour which was helpful a couple of times. The patio when you first enter the hostal is just like its website and very welcoming.

  • Liked — Cool Sevillian Decor
  • Disliked — No extract fan in the bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

Well managed hostal with all day around manned reception and with door bell controlled entry. Great location weith appr. 15 mins walk to city centre. Idyllic and tidy rooms.

  • Liked — The idyllic athmosphere, location and well manned reception.
  • Disliked — Poor sound isolation - ear plugs are needed if you want to sleep peacefully all night.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Atenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Atenas

Address: Caballerizas, 1, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Atenas 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Atenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Atenas Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Atenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.