We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roma Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Roma Hostal to your Saves list
Roma Hostal
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Gravina 34, 41001 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Seville
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good location, very clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a well located hotel - a reasonable walking distance from the cathedral and near the bus stop for the airport. It surprised me with its cleanliness and great housekeeping. We stayed here for four nights over Easter and were very satisfied with the accommodation. There is an elderly man working at the reception who speaks not a word of English but he was friendly and there was nothing we couldn't communicate with some gesticulation. Wifi worked very well.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room that has a window looking down into the central stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
3
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place is the noisiest hotel I've ever been in. I can't say slept in as I didn't get a wink of sleep. I was put in room number 4 right in the lobby by the door. It was horrible. Between the slamming doors and people going in and out all night there was no chance of sleeping at all.
When I went to complain in the morning, of course the front desk person didn't understand a word of English ( or pretended not to anyway). DON'T BOOK HERE IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hostel looked reasonable online. It was incredibly disappointing on arrival. The staff spoke no English, wifi was not available in all the bedrooms. I booked a double room with private ensuite, the room was a single and the bathroom was down the corridor and clearly not private. None of these things would have been objectionable had they been advertised properly. Value for money, but not somewhere worth staying more than two nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very nice small hotel very clean and good position for nearby bus station, however, was very noisy as other guests talking could be heard on 1st floor to late hours, plus some traffic noise was hard to sleep with.
Aircon very cold and Wi-Fi fast. Some older men staff not so friendly and little or no English spoken by them. Younger staff pleasant and spoke good English.
Good value if you can handle a bit of noise.

Room Tip: See if you can get one that is not streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I went to Seville on 6th of March 2013. We arrived at Bus Terminal by 5:00AM and we cannot go there because of heavy rain until 8:00 we carried our luggage to this hostal. I found that a handy man painted on the wall to prepare for Semana Santa period. I wrote to this hostal in advance to request for early checkin. When I arrived I got a key for the last room on the ground floor which was good but I have to closed all the windows since it was connected with store room for keeping painting stuff. I was OK with this what I wanted was a clean with good twin bed and we were out to explore city all day long. It was only one night stay, you shouldn't need more. It costed me only 34Euro a night and I checked out early to go to the next city. Only problem I had was that I cannot communicate with reception. He cannot speak a single work and he repeatedly mentioned that no English only Spanish. Eventhough, I used my Google translation but he didn't even look at it.

Room Tip: I don't have any idea about a good room because I stayed here for one time. For me I had a heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Very rude staff, cleaning lady complained that our room was messy, they control the air conditioner and AC will throw hot air. We had 5 rooms and they complained that we were coming in and out too much, that's another thing if you leave and take your key you'll get yelled at. Trust me don't make the same mistake my family and I made

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed at the Hostal Roma for one night in April 2012. I paid 40 euros for one night in a twin bedded room for one person.

This place is pretty dismal. The room I had was near the rear and had no window or natural light. The beds were cheap and uncomfortable. I don't think the owners had paid a cent to renovate the room, decorate it or make it more pleasant. Yes, they might be at the cheaper end of the spectrum, but cheap doesn't have to mean poor quality. It was reasonably clean but this hostal is like so many in Seville:nothing more than basic but charging quite a hefty price for it. There is no effort at all to provide any kind of customer service or make sure guests are comfortable The aim is simply to take the money.

In many parts of Europe 40 euros can get you something far better than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roma Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Hostal

Address: Gravina 34, 41001 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roma Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Roma Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.