We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to Walk Around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Triana

Triana
Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Seville Electric Bike Tour
Ranked #17 of 101 Attractions in Seville
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: For a more authentic and decidedly less well-scrubbed experience, it’s worth crossing the river to explore this scruffy but vibrant old quarter, historically the centre of azulejo, or glazed-tile production. There are plenty of tapas bars for sustenance to sustain your ceramic shopping, and it’s fun to seek out the surviving corrales. These tiny buildings with flower-smothered courtyards once housed extended the gypsy families from which emerged Spain’s greatest flamenco dynasties.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice to Walk Around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

There's cafes and shops which have a different atmosphere than the other side of the river. The market is a good place to buy fruit and vegetables, as well as meat and fish. If you're looking for ceramics shops, this is the place to go. It didn't seem quite as hectic as the main Sevilla centre.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    247
    109
    31
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Cultural Experience...Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent the morning shopping for ceramics and scored well with our purchases. We then walking through Triana, soaking in everything we could from the building and people there. Loved it! We finished with a really yummy lunch of baby bull burgers at Cerveceria Marisqueria Al Socaire. The Triana Market was a must for us and we were not disappointed. If you want to truly experience Seville, you must visit the Triana neighborhood.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Gem in Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Triana is situated along the Guadalquivir River and is definitely worth visiting, especially at night! This area has a strong identity which I witnessed during a religious procession where the locals could be heard enthusiastically chanting their neighborhood song. There are less tourists here than in the central area of Seville, which truly creates for an authentic experience. This neighborhood is best known for their high-quality ceramics and pottery. I would avoid visiting during siesta times as the majority of businesses tend to be closed. I recommend Calle San Jancito for shoe-shopping, as well as for visiting small cafes and typical Andalusian restaurants. If you are into the nightlife scene, Calle Betis, the street right along the waterfront, is the place to go. The mercado de Triana (situated next to the Triana bridge) is also worth exploring as you can find reasonably meals, as well as Spanish delicacies (such as ham) to bring with you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,419 reviews 2,419 reviews
2,170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
2,202 helpful votes 2,202 helpful votes
“An Interesting Neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Triana is a very interesting neighborhood and looks very traditionally Andalusian. My wife and I are very interested in seeing the traditional ceramics made in Seville and this is the barrio where we can see these ceramics. There are all sorts of decorated tiles, jars, and other items that tourists can buy. These make very good souvenirs.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“not much in daytime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

But the do have a nice market just over the bridge.
We didn't go in the vening , but next time we visit Seville it's on the agenda

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triana also viewed

 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.