We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting sight in Seville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University of Seville (Carmen's Tobacco Factory)

University of Seville (Carmen's Tobacco Factory)
C/ San Fernando, 4 | Real Fábrica de Tabacos, 41004 Seville, Spain
954551000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$50*
and up
Seville Walking Tour and River Cruise
Ranked #30 of 102 Attractions in Seville
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The marble University building dates back to the 15th Century and once housed Seville's tobacco factory, the inspiration for Bizet's opera Carmen.
Niagara Falls
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Interesting sight in Seville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

There are many opera sights marked by markers in Seville, but the actual Royal Tobacco factory is in a class of its own. The building still shows remnants of the moat and gates which made it its own city within the city as it was owned by the monarchs not the city of Seville. It is the current home of Andalusia Tech, part of the University of Seville.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    33
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
218 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Passing through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

While walking on our way to the Real Alcazar, we stopped here to have a look and to ask for directions to the Alcazar. The female student we asked, did not bother to reply, she merely walked away. Perhaps she did not speak English or was having a bad day. Anyway, this building is very old and well built. Compared against other universities we have visited, this place is average.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Former Tabacco factory.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Not the most touristic highlight, but unexpected interesting. Visited on Monday, at 11am with a guide, during and an half hour: free. not to pay.
The guide was a student, speaking Spanish and explained also in English.
The tour you have to do!
The university has a very interesting story.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,531 reviews 2,531 reviews
2,277 attraction reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
2,217 helpful votes 2,217 helpful votes
“A Huge Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Whenever I visit Seville, I like to see the University which is in the Tabacalera, and this is where cigars were made in the past and where the Opera Carmen first starts. The building is quite huge and it is nice to walk around to see what there is to see. One finds hundreds of university students walking around and talking to each other. I am happy that this historic building has been preserved by finding a modern use for it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful, short-cut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a beautiful building, which we walked through whist on a walking tour. I'm sure the students don't realise how lucky they are to be surrounded by such breathtaking architecture. It you walk in the front door and straight out of the back you can use it as a shortcut to the Plaza de Espana, which is a must- see!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Seville (Carmen's Tobacco Factory) also viewed

 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to University of Seville (Carmen's Tobacco Factory)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Seville (Carmen's Tobacco Factory), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.