We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alminar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alminar Hotel to your Saves list
Alminar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alvarez Quintero 52, 41004 Seville, Spain (Casco Antiguo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Exceptionally friendly staff. Excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities. The staff speaks English. Good value, and would highly recommend this hotel for those wanting a mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    168
    38
    13
    10
See reviews for
83
338
79
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent a great couple of days in the Alminar. The room was very clean and comfortable...very clean lines and modern. Although the room was not terribly large, nor was it cramped. The location, just near the cathedral is ideal. It is located on a little pedestrian street. Others have commented on noise from the street and anywhere in the center of Sevilla can be noisy at night. I didn't think it was too noisy though and slept well. The bathroom was very modern and looked to be recently remodelled. There were a few extra nice touches. Upon arrival the minibar features complimentary bottled water and a couple of cans of soft drinks. Also, there was a cd/cassette player with a few tapes of classical music.
The staff were amazing...very friendly, helpful and eager to offer advice/suggestions for visiting Seville. We did not eat breakfast there so I cannot comment on that. THe lobby/reception area is quite small so it is not really a place where you would sit and hang out...it was fine though...we were always on the go. Also, in the lobby they have a collection of books about Seville which we were able to borrow. We had quite a good rate at the hotel and I thought it was a very good value. We would definitely return.
I rely rather heavily on TripAdvisor reviews so I was disappointed to see the two extremely negative reviews that I read ( scrolling down below mine) about the Alminar. In my opinion, they were in no way constructive nor accurate. I am glad I did not take them to heart. They seem way off base and I would recommend disregarding these two reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A friend and i stayed the 26th Jan 2013 for one night and thought the hotel was really nice.
It was clean and fresh and the room was really nice, the hotel receptionist Mari Carmen was really helpful and marked on a map places to see and also places to eat, she couldn't have been more helpful.
The location of the hotel is brilliant thats why we booked it, you can walk to everything from there within a few minutes.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants a stones throw away, the italian was good right near the hotel.
The people that talk about the noise from people from the bars and stuff, we found there was some noise from the people outside walking passed, but it was saturday night and this hotel is really central so i dont think you can ask for total silence when your in the middle of a busy place.
Would stay again and recommend it to friends.
Gracias y todo Mari Carmen ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We came to Alminar hotel based on its Trip Advisor rating and recommendations. Also, the photos on its website looked very nice. To our surprise, this hotel was really not what we had hoped for. For 125 Euros per night (after a discount) we expected a nice, 4 star hotel, however what we got was a not much better than a youth hostel…very disappointing.
We noticed the hotel was not so great (to say the least) when we entered the lobby – it is very small and rundown. The bathroom in the lobby is also quite dirty (with the paint on the walls peeling…). We hoped that the room would at least be nice. Our hopes were crushed. The room is also very rundown. Small. The furniture is old, the beds uncomfortable, the TV hardly noticeable. And to top it all off the room is super noisy – its located in an alley off the main road (so the location is good), but at night you hear people coming back from the bars, walking around. In the morning you hear the car noises around.
In summary, Alminar hotel is not worth the money. During out stay in Seville we were looking to switch hotels and we checked out many hotels in the area – most of the 4 star hotels charge less and seem much nicer. The price at Alimar hotel is exorbitant for the amenities received and for the poor service. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floors are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoAlminar, Manager at Alminar Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Written by the same person that wrote the previous "Very Poor" Review under a different name. Absolutely ridiculous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alminar winter 2012. According to the high price of the room, we expected to stay at a nice comforting hotel. To our surprise the quality of the stay was closely similar to a run down hostel in Africa.
Upon entering you will up front the lobby, which is extremely small and poor, with a coffee machine from the 1980´s to say the least. The room, continued the same line of ¨quality¨. The room was depressing, furnished with military style beds, torn and worn down furniture, similar to ikea but a few centuries back. The room had no decoration, not even a foto and is painted in yellow and brown colors, as I said before perfect to lift up your spirits. The T.V was smaller in size than my ipad, which made the whole experience from bad to completely ridiculous. The bathroom does not have a door, but a transparent type separator, so if your looking for privacy, look somewhere else.
Put aside the inner beauty of the place, the room was very noisy. Although it´s located in a small street, people are passing by all night and you could here their laughs as well as their footsteps as if they were right a few feet away.
To finish, If I wanted to go back in time to the 80´s I´d find a better more authentic way, for sure cheaper than hotel alminar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoAlminar, Manager at Alminar Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am afraid this review does not deserve an answer but since the Trip Advisor management do not want to take the appropriate action ( in my opinion, this wrong objectivity will ruin their business in the not so long time ) I must say that this forum can not become a means of some sinister people to blackmail establishments which are honest and work to provide the best service possible. For any details I´ll be happy to answer at our hotel´s phone or e-mail address. Francisco Naranjo, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My son and I have just returned from touring Andalusia, and Seville was undoubtedly the highlight of the trip and the Hotel Alminar which we happened upon purely by chance proved to be an absolute gem. This hotel is ideally located in the old city of Seville and is literally just a stones throw from the cathedral and many reasonably priced restaurants and tapas bars.

Francesco the manager spoke fluent English and we found him to be professional, approachable, and helpful: as were the other members of staff, but neither are they in your face. A simple yet filling continental breakfast is available if requested.

The hotel is not easy to find. You have to be standing directly outside the hotel, to actually see it, as it is located in one of many narrow alleyways that comprise the old city of Seville. It is also because of its location that one should not expect any panoramic vistas either from the bedroom window, but is very clean and is the perfect hotel for the traveller who seeks a relatively inexpensive accommodation, but one that still offers cleanliness and good standards.

Anthony and Andrew Lewis in January 2013. (When the orange trees are loaded with fruit)

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the alleyway the 'Alvarez Quintero' which the hotel fronts onto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is perfect. Very friendly staff and the location is unbeatable. The room was simple but extremely clean and well arranged. We skipped the breakfasts because there were too many other places to try just steps away. We will definitely be staying here the next time we're in Seville!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alminar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alminar Hotel

Address: Alvarez Quintero 52, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Seville
#11 Business Hotel in Seville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alminar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Alminar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alminar Hotel Seville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alminar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.