We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Imperial to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Imperial 29, 41003 Seville, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 173 Hotels in Seville
Northern Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is centrally located, the interior patios are quite lovely and the staff are attentive. BUT the Casa Imperial has no elevators so guests are often assigned by default to the lower floors in order to spare them a climb to their room. As a result we were assigned room #11 on the first floor. Because of its location the room was oppressively dark and depressing. The couch in the room was old and threadbare and the toilet needed to be tweaked manually each time it was used in order to function properly. Breakfast was average compared to other locations that we stayed at in Spain. My opinion might be much different if we had stayed in a room on one of the upper floors. However based on the room we stayed in we felt the property was overpriced.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the first floor (#11) can be very dark and depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    66
    20
    19
    11
See reviews for
16
90
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very unimposing from the street (alley), the front door opens up to a former house (very large) of a sub-royal big shot. It's a labrynth of stairs and passageways broken up by nice open air courtyards and public spaces. Rooms very large and clean with bar/refrigerator areas. Furnishings a bit dated but comfy. Breakfast (included) just OK. Staff very helpful.
Caveats:
Parking (extra) available a few blocks away in a secure lot.
No elevators.
Not all that easy to find the first time.
There is a room with bed in an alcove such that you can only get in and out on one side - bad for more than one sleeper - avoid this room.

Room Tip: Lots of good restaurants in walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

What a find! This place is reminiscent of Imperial days gone by...from the lush garden courtyards and fountains to the delicious breakfast offerings served alfresco...and the rooms each unique and adequately appointed. The location on a quiet narrow street only adds to its appeal. You can easily walk to the center of Seville and it's many sights within 15 minutes or less.
For our family of four we were given room 1 which consisted of a large queen bed and sitting area along with another adjoining room with two single beds and a bath to share. Breakfasts were unforgettable with warm fresh baked chocolate and regular croissants along with meats, cheeses, cereal and other bread items and pastries.
After a hot day in quaint Seville it was great to return to our hotel to relax in the shady courtyards. Many rooms have private entrances and canopy beds.
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel in Seville. It's beautiful, relaxing, historic and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This is a lovely hotel - tucked away in the maze of narrow streets between La Macarena area and the centre. Location-wise, once you get your bearings, it is great - and just minutes away from my favourite restaurant in Seville, Taberna Coloniales.

The hotel itself is beautiful - in an old colonial house with all of the original Andalusian features intact. Our room had an amazing wood panelled ceiling, which wouldn't have been out of place in a museum or an alcazar. The rooms are all situated around lovely communal spaces with water fountains and benches to relax. There's a quaint little bar, which the reception staff man whenever you want them to, and the roof terrace has amazing views of the cathedral.

The only thing stopping me from giving 5 stars is that our toilet didn't work properly - but we forgave them for that and put it down to the hotel being so old.

Would really recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing or romantic stay - we were really pleased with it.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I was thinking of an ancient monastery but when I realized that it now had a spa... I was thinking of Spartan chic, laid-off, more noble than exquisite, through the maze of "calles". And I stopped sharp. The door had nothing special, but as soon as you entered... An oasis outside of time. Respect, total respect. Cobble-stoned floor, agriculture tools turned into furniture, Renaissance sofa to sprawl on or even to dive into. Taste, faultless taste. Every single detail. With four patios, one leading to the other, at the heart of the building. No need to say more. Just... classical, maybe too classical bedrooms : why not... a splash of craziness ? To be recommended to your parents, your mother-in-law, your best friend, your former and future lovers, your boss, your grandson. Sevilla's best-kept secret, indeed.

Room Tip: Speaking of "a good room" is an offense in such a place.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This was one of the loveliest hotels we stayed at during our recent 3-week trip to Spain. You approach the hotel through a maze of small alleys (just a few blocks from the Cathedral and Alcazar Palace), which doesn't prepare you for the charming courtyards and balconies that await you, all comfortably decorated with wicker and antique furniture. We were delightfully surprised when led to the "room" we had reserved to find that it was actually a 3-level suite - 1st floor sitting room with sofa, banquette, refrigerator, 2nd floor bed and bath, and 3rd floor private roof terrace. Each of the rooms looks out onto one of the 3 lovely courtyards, ringed by yellow arched walkways, decorated with colorful tiles, and full of lush plantings. Everything about our stay here was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay at a place that felt quintessentially Spanish and we were not disappointed. The Casa is exactly an old style Spanish mansion with multiple courtyards, fountains, with gorgeous colorful walls, classical Spanish style doors/windows/walkways and quiet little corners for relaxing lounging in the common areas. The breakfast was the perfect continental-plus style breakfast with great, very helpful staff constantly replenishing the food and helping the guests. I've read the reviews where people complain about not having wifi in the rooms (but it's free in the common areas) and my response to that is if you came to Sevilla and are staying at this gorgeous Casa, why do you want to stay in your room?? If you must have your internet, then come out to one of the many lovely courtyards, enjoy the sounds of birds and water fountains and get your Twitter fix there! I would HIGHLY recommend this to every traveler who doesn't mind giving up some of the "modern" conveniences for the charm and experience of this place.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Imperial

Address: Imperial 29, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Imperial Seville
Casa Imperial Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.