We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Memoria

Casa de la Memoria
Calle Cuna, 6 | Centro historico, 41004 Seville, Spain
+34 954 56 06 70
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Elegant and classy. Alcohol-free. Room for a maximum of 80 spectators sitting in two rows of chairs circling a small stage in a cute small theater-courtyard. Limited room. Better make reservations in advance. All acoustic (no microphones). Performances everyday at 19,30 and 21,00h for one hour with singing, dancing and playing guitar. First class flamenco performers, different everyday. No children under 6.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Felt authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful evening of dance and singing in the traditional style. It felt quite authentic and not touristy. As I recall the tickets were not expensive - somthing like 15 euros each for a 1 hour show.
Make sure you arrive early! There are 3-4 rows of seating and there is no incline to the floor, so if you're in the back you have to look over everyone's heads. Also - it's quite warm. They hand out paper fans, but dress accordingly (and take your own fan).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    177
    45
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very excited to see a flamenco show in Seville especially after reading such nice reviews.

However - this show seemed more like 4 people who rehearsed a couple of times and said "I guess this is good enough, I mean who cares, they're just tourists, they don't know any better" and then they put on a show.

To be specific -
1. There was constant noodling around. You never knew when a song was starting or stopping.
2. The singer could not project and was very whiney. Not appealing at all.
3. The woman dancer was good but the syncapations were a little off and then when she flared her dress, you could only notice extreme wrinkled grandma pantyhose (my wife noticed too)
4. They were constanly chattering with each other like they were at a bar and not putting on a concert.
5. They was a lot of "ole! ole" which is to be expected but it was half hearted and insincere.
6. The guitar player (while very good technically) was not playing songs as they professed, he was improvising a great deal, so much in fact that the whole show seemed like a Flamenco session with Phish or the Grateful Dead.
7. The guy who was dancing had a great deal of skill and stamina but he, and the whole crew seemed like they would hold back and then at the end of the songs, would perform 15 seconds of what you wanted to see and then BAM! - The end of song.
8. Everything was a slow and drone like build up - so you are waiting and waiting - then it happens - 15 seconds - then its over and you are there again listening to a weak singer (who had technical value but could not project and had no spark) muck through some "real" flamenco.

I suppose if you have no expectations at all you will like the show. If you expect something professional, I guess - don't even bother.

On the bright side - this music is certainly difficult and the singer did deliver the notes as did the guitarist. The dancers were putting forth a good deal of effort. My real complaint is that they clearly had not worked together or put together this show with any thought what so ever. So we left with mixed feelings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent, cosy, authentic show that takes you away from the touristy shows and at a cheap price. book tickets in advance and get there early for a good seat. I can't compare it with other Flamenco shows in Seville but i loved it. The small venue was packed but in my opinion this added to the overall experience. you can't take photos until the last 5 mins.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I knew nothing about flamenco except that I enjoy singing, dance, and most of all, guitar. This show did not seem "touristic" but rather a real performance from local artists who practice the beauty of flamenco. Singing, dancing, and truly great guitar, mixed with passion, it is a place I would return to for sure. No dinner with this one, and I think that is a good thing. Enjoy the show!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Engaging show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We really have no prior knowledge of flamenco so really are not able to compare or contrast past experiences. However, it was quite evident that the dancer was extremely talented. We found the show very engaging and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de la Memoria also viewed

 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Casa de la Memoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Memoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.